We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family run hotel.”
Review of Hotel Coellner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coellner Hof
Ranked #9 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Visited this hotel twice now. It's a nice hotel, which is clean and quiet. Good bar and excellent breakfast. Very helpful staff and free wifi although I kept needing a new free pass each day, which was a little frustrating. Rooms are a little eclectic and some are a bit dated but several floors were being renovated on this last visit. Showers are OK but not power ones. Close to the trams too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rat_Tabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am a loyal IHG gold member and always feel a little guilty going to this hotel. I go to Cologne at least 2 times a year and was put onto this place by one of my customers. I normally avoid independent hotels like the plague as they can be "naff" or "chinsy". For a small hotel they have got the balance right and I have been going back since my first trip. The staff are very professional and personable. It is well located in a nice part of town with very good restaurants and bars in every direction. There is a small hotel assigned underground car park that can be booked if you are driving. If you are visiting for business you can take an enjoyable 30 min walk to the Exhibition halls or if the weather is bad use the train (5 mins from hotel). It is , clean, comfortable and in good decorative order (all be it in the traditional style which if you are minimalist or modernistic in your taste might not suit you). I do however find it homely whilst being big enough for you to quietly go about your business. Good fast Wifi, nice cozy little bar and the breakfast is a joy. The only negative is the beds are a tiny bit hard. I have had a corner room, (as per the photo) it was huge and well worth trying to get. This place is a Nice change from the usual corporate hotel offerings in the area and worth a punt if you fancy something more traditional.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have stayed here four times, and each stay has been very good. Price is reasonable, and rooms are typical compact EU style, but comfortable. Service and housekeeping is excellent. English speaking front desk people have helped me with my questions, and they are friendly. Good location close to metro stop, and easy 15 minute walk to train station. They also have TWO elevators, so easy to get heavy suitcase to your room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerWilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Visited the Cologne christmas markets 2- 5 December 2013,and stayed at the Coellner Hof.This is the 4th time we have stayed here and can't praise the Hotel enough.To walk to the Cathedral will take approx 15 minutes slow stroll or there is a an S-Bahn 150 meters down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Coellner Hof Hotel was very nice place to stay in cologne, the staff is very nice and helpful the hotel rooms is very clean, and the hotel itself is In the center of the city everything is near by just 5-10 minutes walk away from the hotel, the train station Hansaring is just 1 minute walk away from the hotel
The hotel does have a very good breakfast in the morning with open buffet including many choice to suit everybody.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohamedelhAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a central hotel with old world charm. Full of character and friendly staff who are quick to help you with any city advise one may have. There are many convenience shops, bakeries and restaurants close to the hotel.

The room was a good size with complimentary sap in the bathroom. It was clean and cleaned daily. On the first night we were welcomed with a small packet of sweets on each of the bed which was a nice touch.

We were in Cologne for the Christmast markets in Nov/Dec 13 which was 10 minutes walk away from the hotel. If you want to use a train the Hansaring Station is 200 mins (5 mins walk away).

From the Cologne Airport: There is a direct train which takes 18 minutes to Hansaring Station which is the station close to the hotel. The train costs €2.40.

Hansaring Station is one stop from the main Cologne Station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandomJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here with friends for 2 nights Oct 2013 as we were over to watch a World Cup match Germany vs Ireland. First time in Cologne so everything was new to us. Travelled to hotel by car where there was parking (pre booked) although this car park was not huge by any standards. Hotel entrance was on main street where all other car parking spaces seemed to be taken. Hotel reception was very welcoming as were the staff. There were no issues with room allocation or any language barriers. The double room we were given which we had booked in advance online was v clean and comfortable with a decent enough shower/wc. The beds were comfortable and there was a safe to deposit valuables which was free of charge. One thing we noticed was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in our room. Not sure about wifi as we didn't require it. We were unlucky with our room allocation as we had neighbours who were rather noisy after a session on the beer as they had been to the match also, which would indicate that the sound proofing isn't great. The reception staff were very accomodating in taking care of this issue! There are lifts accessing the 1st to the 4th floors which are quick. The buffet breakfast which was included with the room price was excellent with a variety of foods both hot and cold. The location of the hotel is excellent as its near the subway and within walking distance of the main attractions such as the cathedral etc. Would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: Book ahead online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#6 of 263 in Cologne
560 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Hilton Cologne
#20 of 263 in Cologne
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 263 in Cologne
1,840 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,502 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 263 in Cologne
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coellner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coellner Hof

Address: Hansaring 100, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#7 Business Hotel in Cologne
#7 Family Hotel in Cologne
#13 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £65 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coellner Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately building, tradition and modernity, in harmonious coexistence. Values, high comfort, the solid-earth quality, give the house a personal touch and a special charm. Upon entering the lobby you can feel this sense of wellbeing. Stylish and using carefully selected materials, the guest areas have been adapted over the last few years of rebuilding and reshaping contemporary and sophisticated comfort to the guest today would no longer ignore. Whether travelling on business, as seminar participants, exhibitors or visitors, as tourists or passing through - the "Coellner Hof" may apply to any claim to be just. Located in the centre, just a few minutes' walk from Cologne Cathedral, Media Park, the Opera House, Philharmonic Society, to the shopping streets or in the old town of Cologne. Lanxess Arena Cologne fair and can be reached in the shortest possible time from our hotel "Coellner court" to. Whether private or business trip, we're the ideal city hotel for your stay in Cologne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Coellner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coellner Hof Hotel
Coellner Hof Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing