We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSE TO RAILWAY STATION”
Review of Hotel Drei Koenige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Drei Koenige
Ranked #188 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just a 5 minute walk from the railway station and cathedral, excellent location for an overnight.
Found the staff to be most welcoming and helpful, Able to store our luggage for a few hours whilst we explored the city. The room was very clean, the bathroom was updated, breakfast adequate.
For the price paid, good value.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the railway station, noise did not bother us unduly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanaimoNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Rooms are a bit outdated but clean. Staff is friendly but a bit freaky. If you have the bad luck to get a room on the back you can enjoy a panoramic view of the perrons of the train station. Breakfast is ok. I've seen worse in this category. Would not return.

Room Tip: Take a room to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlan0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I had to cancel my reservation at this hotel, for which the condition was a fee of 80% of the first night, and to which I explicitly agreed. My card was then arbitrarily billed for 100% of the first TWO nights.
Despite my numerous attempts at claiming back the overcharged amount from the hotel, I never saw the money.

A pity, as I had reviewed this hotel positively in the past, but will not be returning again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank r2rho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The Hotel Drei Könige am Dom is close to the main train station, and Cologne Cathedral. It also offers excellent access to the city of Cologne itself. The staff is simply marvelous, and I really enjoyed our conversations! The rooms are small by US standards, and though the carpet as other reviewers have commented on are a little old. The rooms are clean! Free Wifi! The included breakfast for a hotel of three stars is above the norm including fried eggs and soft boiled eggs as well as the usual breads, cheeses, sausage, cereal, etc... As in my other reviews I like have the breakfast with unlimited coffee! During my stay they added more tables and seating for breakfast. I would certainly stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator! I always bring earplugs so noise is typically not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel is only a few minutes away from the train station, cathedral and city centre. The rooms are fairly clean (except the carpet, which is stained). There are only 7 tables in the breakfast room, so you might have to wait until you can enjoy your breakfast. The food is ok. They serve bread rolls, toast, cereal, cheese and ham, eggs, etc. Overall I would only recommend it for a short stay (1 or 2 nights).

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank 0TheSkyIsTheLimit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

To small room for 4 persons. Close banhof and centrum

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabanoss14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed in a family room, four single, cheap slatted beds in a small room. It was a squeeze but what we'd expected for the price.

The hotel was clean and tidy but tatty and shoddy. Good examples being the room's carpet which was badly stained through year's of use (but was vacuumed and clean), and the room keys that had room numbers scrawled on them with Tippex. None of that really mattered but the details are always a good indication of other things.

This is a typical example of a family run hotel, run for the family rather than the guests.

An indicator of the lack of respect for guests was that when we left the room, in the morning, we had to push aside the piles of changed, dirty sheets from other rooms that were piled along the corridor and up against the exit door.

Our first indication of problems was the first morning, when mein host jokingly accused us of being paranoid Americans when we asked for batteries for the safe. Apparently batteries were too expensive and we should have worked out how to remove the cover and use the key.

After two days of being woken at 7.30am by drilling that vibrated through our room, we asked if there was anything that could be done or they had another room. The receptionist seemed well used to complaints and explained that there was train and traffic noise in the other rooms. She called across to (who we assumed to be) the owner who shrugged his shoulders and waved us away.

Later that the day, the family matriarch was on duty, calling us back when we tried to leave with their key but she was nowhere to be seen, late in the afternoon, when we returned to find the hotel locked and a well used sign hanging on the door - 'back soon'.

For the price, it's a good, convenient place to spend a couple of nights. But it's in real need of a major update and overhaul, of attitudes as much as attention to decor and detail.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Domspatz Hotel
Domspatz Hotel
#183 of 262 in Cologne
83 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#215 of 262 in Cologne
279 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#138 of 262 in Cologne
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#40 of 262 in Cologne
682 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#53 of 262 in Cologne
702 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#5 of 262 in Cologne
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drei Koenige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Koenige

Address: Marzellenstr. 58 - 60, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Drei Koenige 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Drei Koenige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drei Koenige Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing