We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was good”
Review of Hotel Colonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colonia
Ranked #35 of 59 Cologne B&B and Inns
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

If you're looking for a decent breakfast, stop here in the morning and see if you can buy one. If you're looking for a place to stay, keep looking,

Room carpets were filthy. The electrical outlets were apparently installed for NBA centers. The light in the bathroom was acting like a strobe light until it finally quit working. Our one-night stay could not end soon enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    0
    5
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

worst hotel i have ever stayed in, room was filthy it looked like someone had taken a crap on the sofa and allowed it to dry in the sun on the hottest day of the year, the bed was so uncomfortable i assume the mattress was made out of rocks. the decor of the room was straight out of the 1970's, The plug sockets in the room were all either broken or looked like they had been hit with a hammer and then just left smashed on the wall. The facilities in the room were less than amazing also, the toilet was blocked the shower could never decide what temp it wanted to be and it smelt horrible in there.
if someone offered me a room in this hotel again i would rather choose to be mauled to death by a gang of angry otters

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you want to catch all known strains of hepatitus, aids and probably be raped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We booked this hotel through Booking.com, deliberately aiming for something on the cheaper end of the spectrum for our short break in Cologne. The hotel is located 10 minutes away from the Central Rail Station / the centre of Cologne, and less than 5 minutes from a variety of bars / restaurants, and 5 minutes from a U-Bahn stop. We found the location ideal, but that was about all.
The entire corridor and downstairs area stunk of cigarette smoke, which would drift right up to our (non-smoking) room. The beds were really uncomfortable, and the radiator could not be switched off. The staff were really noisy, and the and sound would echo through the entire building. I would not recommend it if you intend on getting a good night's sleep.
The room with the toilet in, had a radiator bleed valve from the adjacent room above the sink instead of a tap. So unless you wanted to wash your hands with rusty radiator water, you had to walk through the the second room with the shower in, and use the tap/sink in there. Not quite the German engineering you'd expect to see.
We took advantage of the free continental breakfast, but only once. I suggest you purchase one elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Had the misfortune of staying here for one night whilst in Colognr, and can honestly say Hand on heart this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. An old adage is that you should never judge a book by a cover, but when we turned up outside the hotel and was greeted with a dated, broken hotel sign, graffiti on the walls and something that looked like it belonged in the 70's, there was serious trepidation about entering.

When we entered reception, again the decor was faded, dirty and in general disrepair, and we were greeted unenthusiastically by a receptionist who barely understood or could speak a word of English. After the most convoluted check in ever, we were taken out of reception, and down some side street , towards our hotel.. He opened up the outer door and told us our room was up five flights of stairs. Walking up the stairs, made us feel terribly uneasy, it was dark, dirty and so poorly maintained that we as we got to the top floor and entered the room we were already in a state of shock.

Which brings me on nicely to the room. What a complete dump! It was dirty, smelly and poorly maintained -electrical equipment was fastened with tape, the radiator sounded like the Niagara Falls such was the noise it was giving off, there was a corner of the room where a broken table and chair were dumped, there was a fridge which almost knocked me out, such was the ferocity of the smell that greeted me, a bathroom which was dark, dirty( the toilet had a hideous red stain all over it)plus had missing or cracked floor tiles ,and a shower which couldn't decide whether it was hot , or cold or neither. The beds were so uncomfortable with some poor excuse for a pillow thrown in. And again, given the hygiene of the rest of the hotel , I wondered what horrors I could catch from them.

And I still have more to complain about, we were not informed by the receptionist that if we dared try to escape from the confines of hell , that we would have to inform them so they could let us back in..( why they don't put an outer door key with the room key is beyond me) and this led to us being stood outside for 35 minutes late at night as the receptionist mistakenly thought we wanted a spare room key due to his abysmal English language skills..

And the best thing about this whole charade....The room cost €179 for one night!!! I would expect something half decent for that price , not some rank, rancid, insipid hole. Take my advice trip advisors and stay far, far away from this one...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank svensson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

Found this via Booking.com-not impressed. Web-site did not provide much information and was looking for a triple room. Should have been suspicious when web-site has no pics of rooms, just outside and reservation desk. Reserved what the hotel referred to as an 'apartment'. Called hotel directly for room layout, specifically if there was a kitchen. Was told yes. Upon arrival, kitchen consisted of a sink with no running water and three empty cabinets. Lighting was poor throughout the three rooms (bed, bath, and 'kitchen') One light in bath not operable, disconnected. Rate included breakfast-not impressed. Checked out to find another room and was held to 80% of balance for a 10 night stay where I only stayed three nights.

Place has potential but needs some attention.

  • Liked — ?
  • Disliked — room, ability to communicate, fee due to misrepresentation
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillynathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
THE QVEST hideaway
THE QVEST hideaway
#5 of 59 in Cologne
76 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#16 of 261 in Cologne
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonia

Property: Hotel Colonia
Address: Christophstr. 16, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Colonia 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing