We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supposedly 4 stars, but poor compared to similar local hotels.”
Review of NH Koln Altstadt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Koln Altstadt
Ranked #16 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Supposedly 4 stars, but poor compared to similar local hotels.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Firstly I'd like to say, I stop in a lot of 3-4 star hotels for Business, usually for around 3-5 days. I am not picky and this is comfortable. However it lacks a few basics which other hotels around it do very well.

1. It is 2013, this is marketed as a business hotel yet has no WiFi in any of the rooms. They supply you with a network cable on request so that one computer can connect to the internet. This is useless if you are in a twin room with another colleague. Not to mention smartphones/tablets.

This would be at best mediocre if it wasn't for the fact that the wired connection is also poor, it allows you to do limited browsing. There is wireless in the lobby, but again that barely works.

2. The beds, I was in a twin room, and as most hotels in Germany the twins were together as a double these were easy enough to split. However they were roughly as wide as a coffin. I'm 5ft 10 and athletic so not the largest guy and I felt they were tiny. My colleague is 6ft 5 (200cm) and he had a nightmare time.

There is plenty of space in the rooms and other than the beds they are furnished to a nice standard.

The biggest kicker here is that there are 2 other 4 star hotels in walking distance, the Art'otel and the Novotel. I've stopped at both of these and they are both vastly superior to what the NH Koeln has to offer.

If either of those have availability, I will choose them both over this every time. Especially the Art'otel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aBhorsennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    659
    208
    36
    16
See reviews for
158
455
72
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had a superior room (6th floor), very quiet, which, compared to the normal rooms, has a lot of extra space for walking around,a water boiler with coffee and tea and bathrobes with slippers. Nice bed (a bit hard but not too much) with duvet, very clean bathroom, bathtub (even a spotless showercurtain) and lots of extra goodies: shampoo, soap, body lotion, comb, hairbrush, showercap, sponge and some more. Breakfast buffet very good; fresh fruits and juices, lots of joghurts, cereals ets. Oh, and smoked salmon of course! Even two types of glutenfree breads individually packed! Only thing missing is a baking station for freshly baked eggs. Walking distance from central station and the chocolate museum is only 2 minutes on the opposite. Certainly worth the four stars!

Room Tip: Superior room 604 is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmiraNr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Arrived this morning, and was told that only superior rooms are available for a premium of 15 euros. Was verbally welcomed as it was first stay at NH hotels.
Its been 1.5 hours since then, and there's no water supply in the bathrooms. Terrible !

Bad choice !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JapanFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

For a business hotel, I think it is very important to have wireless internet, as a lot of people travel light with their ipad, and to have to sit in the hotel reception to use your ipad is not my cup of tea. There is a toilet smell when you walk in the room, but this maybe a problem in Cologne, as I found the same smell in public toilets their. Something simple, please give better toilet paper, for the price you charge a night. The water that is not in the fridge, is not on the house, as I assumed. Otherwise the staff were friendly, and the room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is good and located really close to the city centre, but for the price (comparing to other similar hotels of the same level), I can imagine better service. The rooms were clean and cleaned, however the used shower gel and shampoo were not refilled. The price for breakfast is incredible 20 EUR even the breakfast is really rich again, comparing to other hotels of similar level, the price don't correspond it. There is a complimentary drink for a stay ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LudekH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IJmuiden, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We didn't expected the hotel to be spectacular. We just hoped we had Internet, breakfast and a smoke room. When we walked in the hotel, it looked a little expensive. The service was good. There were enough people to help, they gave us subway times, we were able to borrow an Internet cable and an umbrella for the rain one day. The only place with free WiFi was in the lobby, in the rooms you should use the cable. We checked in on Friday and my travel buddy found out we were able to plunder the minibar for free (because we were checked in on Friday or Saturday). The bed was huge and the bathroom had a mirror which I loved. It made my face 4 times bigger. The tub and the shower were not that good. In my opinion the tub was to small and the water went hot and cold all the time without touching anything. And in my oppinion it was high tech to put your roomkey in a hole to put the electricity on. It saves envoirement.

The breakfast was great. Enough choices for everyone. Muesli, cruesli, milk, different kinds of fruit juice, pancakes, waffles, jam, eggs, different kinds of bread, can of coffee and tea, a lot kinds of meat and cheese for on the bread, more then 6 types of yogurt and even different kinds of cut fruit so you could make a fruit salad. Loved it and enjoyed it good.

The small bar is very cozy, but they don't have much to snack. Only some peanuts or chips. I actually expected more like a hot beverage or cheese plaid, but unfortunately they did not have that.

We left the hotel with a great feeling. If I would have the choice, I would stay in a NH hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,394 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
art'otel cologne
#26 of 261 in Cologne
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,089 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Koln Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Koln Altstadt

Property: NH Koln Altstadt
Address: Holzmarkt 47, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly NH Köln City)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cologne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#38 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Koln Altstadt 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rheinauhafen-the cultural hub of Cologne- 4-star NH Köln Altstadt bridges old world charm and modern architectural delights in this burgeoning business district. Nearby Severinstrasse, Cologne Airport, and major highways makes traveling to and from NH Köln Altstadt and area attractions a snap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Koln Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Nh Hotels Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing