We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in excellent location - Great for Christmas Markets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Koln Altstadt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Koln Altstadt
Ranked #13 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in excellent location - Great for Christmas Markets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent 4 nights in this hotel whilst visiting the Christmas Markets.

Excellent location - Christmas market directly opposite, road train here which visits all markets and within a 5-10 minute walk along the river to the city centre.

Hotel itself was nice, quiet, clean with friendly, helpful staff. Cannot comment on the food as the restaurant as closed during our visit - meals were being served in the bar but the hotel is so close to town we walked to restaurants instead.

The only small "fault" we had was that the bar was too small to accommodate guests.

Would definitely use this hotel again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    595
    189
    33
    13
See reviews for
137
424
66
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Soesterberg, Países Bajos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Good location, near citycentre, every sightseeing was on walkingdistance. The reception was equiped with good trained staff.
The room was large, compared with other hotels, excellent breakfast!
Our next Germany-trip will to Köln with a stay in NH Köln.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank tonrietveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the sole reason it was so close to the centre and the christmas markets. We requested room on high floor and next to the friends we were travelling with, we got exactly what we had requested. The reception staff are pleasant and the hotel is very nice. The rooms are warm and clean, with nice bathrooms. The pillows were a little too soft for me but the beds are comfortable and I slept very well. The negative comments I would make are that there are no coffee or tea making facilities in the room (that would have been nice) and that the cost of the breakfast (20 euros) is quite expensive but saying that there is a lot of choice and it pays to take advantage of this. We all said that we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is clean, warm, friendly and is in a good position within walking distance of four of the Christmas Markets and two metro stations so you can reach the other markets. Very close to the Lindt Chocolate Museum.

Room Tip: Although more expensive the superior rooms are worth it. No WiFi in the rooms and very difficult to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Firstly I'd like to say, I stop in a lot of 3-4 star hotels for Business, usually for around 3-5 days. I am not picky and this is comfortable. However it lacks a few basics which other hotels around it do very well.

1. It is 2013, this is marketed as a business hotel yet has no WiFi in any of the rooms. They supply you with a network cable on request so that one computer can connect to the internet. This is useless if you are in a twin room with another colleague. Not to mention smartphones/tablets.

This would be at best mediocre if it wasn't for the fact that the wired connection is also poor, it allows you to do limited browsing. There is wireless in the lobby, but again that barely works.

2. The beds, I was in a twin room, and as most hotels in Germany the twins were together as a double these were easy enough to split. However they were roughly as wide as a coffin. I'm 5ft 10 and athletic so not the largest guy and I felt they were tiny. My colleague is 6ft 5 (200cm) and he had a nightmare time.

There is plenty of space in the rooms and other than the beds they are furnished to a nice standard.

The biggest kicker here is that there are 2 other 4 star hotels in walking distance, the Art'otel and the Novotel. I've stopped at both of these and they are both vastly superior to what the NH Koeln has to offer.

If either of those have availability, I will choose them both over this every time. Especially the Art'otel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aBhorsennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had a superior room (6th floor), very quiet, which, compared to the normal rooms, has a lot of extra space for walking around,a water boiler with coffee and tea and bathrobes with slippers. Nice bed (a bit hard but not too much) with duvet, very clean bathroom, bathtub (even a spotless showercurtain) and lots of extra goodies: shampoo, soap, body lotion, comb, hairbrush, showercap, sponge and some more. Breakfast buffet very good; fresh fruits and juices, lots of joghurts, cereals ets. Oh, and smoked salmon of course! Even two types of glutenfree breads individually packed! Only thing missing is a baking station for freshly baked eggs. Walking distance from central station and the chocolate museum is only 2 minutes on the opposite. Certainly worth the four stars!

Room Tip: Superior room 604 is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmiraNr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
art'otel cologne
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Koln Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Koln Altstadt

Property: NH Koln Altstadt
Address: Holzmarkt 47, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly NH Köln City)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cologne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#18 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#38 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Koln Altstadt 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rheinauhafen-the cultural hub of Cologne- 4-star NH Köln Altstadt bridges old world charm and modern architectural delights in this burgeoning business district. Nearby Severinstrasse, Cologne Airport, and major highways makes traveling to and from NH Köln Altstadt and area attractions a snap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, NHHotels, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Koln Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Nh Hotels Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing