We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel”
Review of NH Koln Altstadt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Koln Altstadt
Ranked #15 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 April 2014

NH Cologne is a nice business hotel right by the river. The rooms are nice with standard buisness faciilities. The exercise room is small with only 4 machines but that is normal in European hotels. The best thing is that you can walk to the river and you are right near the chocolate museum.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
There are newer reviews for NH Koln Altstadt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

A true business hotel, very business actually, there was little or no feeling of relaxation in the hotel, very cold and functional design. I was expecting the NH standard I know from Utrecht or Berlin. I left the hotel in the morning at 05.30, the night shift was on and she was simply rude; I handed her my cable for internet (yes they still use cables) and she looked at me and said "lay it on the counter" as if it was some sort of big deal. Then she took her time although I was the only one there and she did not smile until I asked her why she was being so rude, then she snapped out of it but I dont appreciate having to ask someone to be nice.
Sleep, get up and leave, possibly a drink but thats about it, not comfortable enough to spend more time there in my opinion.
The pillows were so full of air that when my head was on them they went completely flat, I had a double bed so I took the two large and the two small pillows to have enough support.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The manager of the hotel should really start to take notice of all the previous negative reviews about the lack of wifi in the rooms. That is very rare for a 4* business hotel, and certainly a deal breaker for many business travelers.

What will cause me not to return is the Euro 37 / night that it will cost you extra to park your car and have breakfast. So although the headline rate appears attractive, surely most people would want to have breakfast included with their rooms. That will cost you Euro 20, although you can have a three-course dinner at the restaurant for Euro 17. And if you want to park your car at the hotel, it will set you back Euro 17. That all felt extortionate to me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PietPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night prior to a business meeting.
My room was at the front of the hotel on the fourth floor the room was comfortable well decorated clean and a nice tiled bathroom with ample towels and toiletries.
There was a smart writing desk and comfortable chair , the bed was also comfortable.
However what let the room down was no wi fi in the room only at reception but a real problem was the excessive road traffic noise from the main road and another major road just to the right of the hotel
Despite double glazing road noise was intrusive and led to an interrupted night's sleep
Also no tea & coffee making facilities in the room for a modern 4 star is not very good despite the modern décor and cleanliness of the room because of the road noise I would not choose to stay here again

Room Tip: If you have to stay here I would go for high floor to the back of the hotel not facing the main rd
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I was very surprised to find out that there was no wifi in my room. Therefore no internet connection for my phone or iPad. Lucky was I that I had brought a laptop as well. Even more surprised was I to discover that the speed of the internet connection I got through the 50 cm long cable handed to me in the reception was less than 1 MB/s. This was a huge disappointment as it wasn't even fast enough to listen to music online, let alone watch a news report or a movie. The TV in the room was an old tube with channels only in German apart from two news channels. All of this was very surprising for me at a 4 star hotel in the year 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de
Thank Arndis Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

NH Koeln City is a modern hotel close to the river Rhein. It´s within easy walking distance to the Old Town, shopping districts and the station.
We had a standard double room located on the fifth floor with view of the cathedral. The room was average-sized, very functional and with a nice decor. There is a desk and minibar, but no coffee/tea-maker. Unfortunately, there is also no free in-room wifi.
Bathroom was equipped with tub, clean and average-sized, nice toiletries and hairdryer.
Our rate included breakfast which is 20,-€ if you need to book it extra. The buffet was very nice. There was great choice of hot and cold foods, fresh fruits. The breakfast was quite busy, but still okay.
We didn´t use the hotel´s wellness facilities.
Staff was friendly and competent although the reception seemed to chronically understaffed. We had to queue up for check-in and check-out.
For a good rate, I´d definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badlydrawngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The NH Koln City is conveniently located towards the center of Cologne city, 5 minutes walk to the Chocolate Museum and 10 minutes taxi drive to the Messe. It is a neat and clean hotel, with all functional amenities, a good breakfast.
I did not find any train / tram stop within walking distance. As a business hotel, it would be good to have wireless internet in the rooms (instead of the wired connection that is provided).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarzFromMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,425 reviews
art'otel cologne
#26 of 261 in Cologne
1,048 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Koln Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Koln Altstadt

Address: Holzmarkt 47, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly NH Köln City)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cologne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#37 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £64 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Koln Altstadt 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rheinauhafen-the cultural hub of Cologne- 4-star NH Köln Altstadt bridges old world charm and modern architectural delights in this burgeoning business district. Nearby Severinstrasse, Cologne Airport, and major highways makes traveling to and from NH Köln Altstadt and area attractions a snap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Koln Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Nh Hotels Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing