We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good in my opinion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Koln Altstadt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NH Koln Altstadt
Ranked #13 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good in my opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I quite like NH hotels for a quick stay and I am also quite fan of their breakfast. It is really nice with fruits, cheese and lots of other choices. Location of this however is not that good I might say. There is an overpass just in beside the hotel, although the room was quiet. There is a train station about 700 mts from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    595
    189
    33
    13
See reviews for
137
424
66
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I found the NH Köln a simple and basic hotel for our stay in Köln which is what we wanted but there were some minor issues which could major if you were staying as a business traveller.
Many people have already mentioned the lack of WiFi in the rooms, which wasn't an essential for me. Also the air conditioning wasn't very effective, and given the location next to a major junction made it not ideal to open the window.
The room was fine, and the general building well maintained. I didn't pay a great deal and got what I paid for which was a simple place to sleep and spent my time in the city proper.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
641 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

NH Cologne is a nice business hotel right by the river. The rooms are nice with standard buisness faciilities. The exercise room is small with only 4 machines but that is normal in European hotels. The best thing is that you can walk to the river and you are right near the chocolate museum.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
299 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

A true business hotel, very business actually, there was little or no feeling of relaxation in the hotel, very cold and functional design. I was expecting the NH standard I know from Utrecht or Berlin. I left the hotel in the morning at 05.30, the night shift was on and she was simply rude; I handed her my cable for internet (yes they still use cables) and she looked at me and said "lay it on the counter" as if it was some sort of big deal. Then she took her time although I was the only one there and she did not smile until I asked her why she was being so rude, then she snapped out of it but I dont appreciate having to ask someone to be nice.
Sleep, get up and leave, possibly a drink but thats about it, not comfortable enough to spend more time there in my opinion.
The pillows were so full of air that when my head was on them they went completely flat, I had a double bed so I took the two large and the two small pillows to have enough support.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The manager of the hotel should really start to take notice of all the previous negative reviews about the lack of wifi in the rooms. That is very rare for a 4* business hotel, and certainly a deal breaker for many business travelers.

What will cause me not to return is the Euro 37 / night that it will cost you extra to park your car and have breakfast. So although the headline rate appears attractive, surely most people would want to have breakfast included with their rooms. That will cost you Euro 20, although you can have a three-course dinner at the restaurant for Euro 17. And if you want to park your car at the hotel, it will set you back Euro 17. That all felt extortionate to me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night prior to a business meeting.
My room was at the front of the hotel on the fourth floor the room was comfortable well decorated clean and a nice tiled bathroom with ample towels and toiletries.
There was a smart writing desk and comfortable chair , the bed was also comfortable.
However what let the room down was no wi fi in the room only at reception but a real problem was the excessive road traffic noise from the main road and another major road just to the right of the hotel
Despite double glazing road noise was intrusive and led to an interrupted night's sleep
Also no tea & coffee making facilities in the room for a modern 4 star is not very good despite the modern décor and cleanliness of the room because of the road noise I would not choose to stay here again

Room Tip: If you have to stay here I would go for high floor to the back of the hotel not facing the main rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I was very surprised to find out that there was no wifi in my room. Therefore no internet connection for my phone or iPad. Lucky was I that I had brought a laptop as well. Even more surprised was I to discover that the speed of the internet connection I got through the 50 cm long cable handed to me in the reception was less than 1 MB/s. This was a huge disappointment as it wasn't even fast enough to listen to music online, let alone watch a news report or a movie. The TV in the room was an old tube with channels only in German apart from two news channels. All of this was very surprising for me at a 4 star hotel in the year 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de

Helpful?
Thank Arndis Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
art'otel cologne
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Koln Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Koln Altstadt

Property: NH Koln Altstadt
Address: Holzmarkt 47, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly NH Köln City)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cologne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#18 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#38 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Koln Altstadt 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rheinauhafen-the cultural hub of Cologne- 4-star NH Köln Altstadt bridges old world charm and modern architectural delights in this burgeoning business district. Nearby Severinstrasse, Cologne Airport, and major highways makes traveling to and from NH Köln Altstadt and area attractions a snap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your NH Koln Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Nh Hotels Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing