We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple small city- Hotel”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #146 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hotel is located next to the cologne media park . 5 to 10 minutes walk to the city center.
It s a small hotel with small rooms . The Furniture is simple but new .
The Room is very clean . Sleepcomfort is ok but not more .
So for 1 night it s ok for a longer stay i would choose an other hotel .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khzuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here while on a road trip and was on the way to Hamburg, so decided to pull over Cologne and have a little tour and rest before hitting the road again. Price was right and considering it was more hit and run, decided to check in for a night.

First of, the whole decor of the hotel was very dated. Parking space was limited and it's quite a distance walk from the city centre. Still ok though, not too noisy at night.

The room, just as I had expected, was very old and dated. Something like Germany in the 80's or 70's. Nonetheless, it was clean and very spacious.

Bed was hard - but due to all that walking and alcohol consumed I managed to sleep anyway.

Breakfast in the morning was ok - Service was good.

It's a decent enough hotel and value for money, however not quite my top choice as it's quite bland for my taste.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sufifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have to say the decor is very old skool and has its own character!
It has a 60s radio playing before the breakfast area. I cannot really compare about the service as it is run by the older generation. The reception is manned 24 hours.
We got room 1 which is on the ground floor. It is abit noisy as you can hear ppl talking outside, cars driving past. There is no fan or air condition in the hotel, so it is not well prepare for summer and you have to leave the windows open, which in turns make the room noisy. It is also quite stuffy and humid.
Besides that, the room is neat, clean and tidy. Like in all reviews, its old style and some cracks here and there but is acceptable.
The night reception lady is friendly and she remembered our room after 1 night.
The location is near neu markt and all the shopping and buzz are ; about 5 - 10 mins walk. Really convenient. To and from the train station is anout a 20 mins walk.
One thing to note, as in all german hotels... Thy have extremely thin pillows. : )

Room Tip: Dont take room 1 even if it is convenient! Use this hotel only in colder climate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel itself is fine - slightly dated (70s styling in the bathroom etc), but it was comfortable enough. The good points were:
- friendly helpful staff
- good tv with several english channels
- cheaper than many other hotels (not sure if Cologne is just really pricey or if it was just the weekend we were there)
- clean, new towels each day etc

The bad points:
- it is a bit of a walk from the old town (about 20-25 mins) and from the ring area (10-15). It is sort of not close to anything itself. Walking is no problem - but it was raining all weekend so in this case it wasn't fantastic. There is no direct tube from close by to town either - you have to change.
- The pillows were really uncomfortable. The bed itself was fine though
- The shower had poor pressure - felt difficult to wash the shampoo out of your hair etc. But in saying that, it stayed warm.
- The cleaners started really early - every morning at 9am they'd knock on our door - I like to lie in on holiday so this was pretty annoying, they should at least wait till 10am.

Overall, it was a decent hotel, however I think compared to other hotels in Europe and the UK it was too pricey for what it was - but again, that may just be Cologne. If I were to go to Cologne again I would try and stay near the old town area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_abroad186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Windsor suited all of our needs-they had a decent European breakfast buffet (we paid extra for it, but it was still cheaper than eating in a restaurant), the room was clean and comfortable and spacious, and the staff was polite and ready to assist (if you needed any assisting). It's in a quiet neighborhood a bit away from things (but within easy walking distance)-but that was perfect for us since we went during Karneval and didn't want to be kept up all night anyway.

The only issue we had was with noise within the hotel. The walls weren't very thick...every time people came up the stairs (behind our heads) during the night, we woke up. Same with doors shutting. Also, the curtains were dubious in their duty as privacy screens...so they definitely didn't keep any light out-luckily we brought eye masks. We probably should have used ear plugs, too. But again, we were there during Karneval, so people were generally up later and a bit rowdier ;)

As someone else said, the room was dated, but yes very clean. We had no street noise because our windows faced a courtyard. They even had an elevator-it was old and slow, but it sure helped with the luggage! And in case you can't spend a day without one, there was a tv in the room ;) Oh, and parking was available in a private garage just down the street-they gave us an access card and told us it was 12 Euros a day. It was nice to know our car was safe and sound and we didn't have to worry about finding parking elsewhere in the city. The total price of the hotel, including the add-ons of parking and breakfast, was cheaper than many others. I think it was a good choice :)

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone, the floor plan looked like the single rooms were absolutely TINY. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJTravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Very friendly reception at the hotel. The room is dated, but very clean. The bathroom has been updated recently and was very nice. Since it is pretty much downtown, quiet is important. The window seals out any noise from the street very nicely.
More than enough stuff to choose from at the breakfast buffet.

All in all: I would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaturdaySoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel Windsor and at the start and end of our holiday in Europe. The hotel is easy to get to from the train station. Basically turn right out of the station and walk straight for about 10 mins,pass St Gereon's Church on the left and turn right to get to hotel. About a 15min walk in total.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were given the same room for both visits which was spacious, clean and comfortable.Breakfast was totally adequate with a good selection of food and excellent coffee.
We liked the area because it was not in the main tourist area but still an easy walk to get to centre.
Was very good value for anyone wanting to be quite close to the rail station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
City Hotel Storch
#155 of 261 in Cologne
115 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
#68 of 261 in Cologne
332 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#72 of 261 in Cologne
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
#34 of 261 in Cologne
1,010 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
The Ascot Hotel Cologne
The Ascot Hotel Cologne
#51 of 261 in Cologne
200 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Centro Hotel Ariane
Centro Hotel Ariane
#204 of 261 in Cologne
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Von-Werth-Str. 36 - 38, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £40 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing