We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and spacious rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenz Am Dom Serviced Apartments
Ranked #83 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location and spacious rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very central location and spacious rooms. The pool, gym and spa area are all great and breakfast boasts a good range of fresh food. An unusual set-up with some of the apartments housing elderly people but they loved our 4 year old son and the balance makes a nice atmosphere. Wifi only available free in the lobby: an expensive 18 euros bundle otherwise.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    46
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
38
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I booked a one-bedroom apartment in “Residenz am Dom” for 5 nights in July 2013. When browsing via the Booking.com website through the facilities that were offered, I saw everything I wanted (except for a dishwasher, however no stumbling block for a short stay and when I'm alone). All other requirements were met, particularly the location at 250 meters from the Central Station (Hauptbahnhof), with most public transport lines on similar walking distances. Though not so important for me, you also find a variety of bars and restaurants very nearby, as well as the main shopping streets within 400 meters.

The apartment had a living room with a dining area, a sitting area, a usefully sized work desk, and a kitchen corner. The bedroom was semi-open and could be separated with a sliding door. With an additional entrance hall and a bathroom, the apartment offered a spacious dwelling place (55 square meters according to the website). There is also a balcony with table and chairs. And there are ample shelves and drawers for your own stuff. All in all, sufficient room to move around, the primary reason that I prefer an apartment when staying more than 1 or 2 days, instead of a mostly cramped hotel room.

After checking in I found everything as advertised. And in a surprisingly quiet neighborhood, as a bonus, in spite of the location in the city center. Breakfast is an option for a reasonable eur 9.50 (I did not test it). The information binder that I found in the apartment, was comprehensive and offered useful information about the services inside and outside the building, as well as useful tips for visiting the city. Being a self-catering traveler by choice, my first priority was to locate a supermarket, and several options were described within 10 minutes on foot. A city map was also present in the apartment. Hence I was settled in very fast.

That information binder also told me something I did not know beforehand, namely being in a serviced apartment building primarily designed for elderly people. They have a commendable philosophy in offering available apartments to short-stay travelers like me, if only to obtain a more evenly mix of ages. I'm not sure, however, that I myself (age 64) has contributed much to this philosophy. But anyway, I was by far the fastest tenant moving around in the building, the only drawback being that elevators took their time, especially the slooow closing of the elevator doors stretched my patience.

Optional extensions:
- Not all rooms have a microwave. You can ask for one, as per the information binder
- Instead of the non-standard coffee device that works with Melitta MyCup pad's only, you can borrow a conventional coffee maker (I heard this when checking-out, but it was better mentioned in the information binder)
- Free use of swimming pool, sauna and gym (neither was tested by me)

I've found no real problems with this apartment. There are a few things that can be improved, however:
- Uneven Internet coverage throughout the building. It happened to be weak in my room, but became much stronger nearby the elevators (where the WiFi antennas were mounted). After my report, hotel staff told me they are looking for better coverage. My short-term escape was to work in the so-called Bibliothek (=Library) or in the lobby (more lively, if you prefer), where you can sit and work without someone bothering you
- Minimal (!!) amount of kitchenware (2 knives/forks/spoons, etcetera). Of course, it is advertised as a 2-person apartment, but it is really a bare minimum, preventing one to invite people for lunch or diner
Apart from the weak wireless (WiFi) Internet coverage, I had repeating problems that web pages were not fully loaded, yielding “connection was reset” error messages. After I complained about that, their Internet provider found some configuration error, and the problem disappeared.

All in all, though not really cheap, the apartments are clean, sound isolation is very effective, the services offered are excellent, and staff is very helpful when asked for assistance. A quick inspection of Booking.com shows that cheap is not an option within the city center. Hence I see no reason to look elsewhere next time I visit Cologne. Contrary to what the Booking.com website states, Internet is free of charge as long as you stay below a 3 GB data usage (no problem for me). Streaming audio and video worked flawlessly without hickups, something that does not apply to many other hotels and apartments.

Finally a disclaimer, intended as a heads up for future guests. Aforementioned “quiet” neighborhood is not completely the truth. The police headquarters is located in an adjacent street, and you may hear sirens a few times during the night. If you are sensitive for that, you should ask for a room on the other side. Keeping the windows closed was a bad idea at the time of my stay, since there was a heat wave going on.

Room Tip: WiFi coverage is not evenly spread over the building. Ask for a room near the elevators, when Intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JvH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have two small kids--4 and 1.5 years of age. So we were looking for an apartment for a 5 night stay where we could have the option of cooking and also be close to transportation and the centre of Cologne. This hotel was perfect for us because it was so spacious and our kids enjoyed the very kind attention that the staff and seniors gave them. Also, we really enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub (just check with the front desk if the pool is booked for a class before you head down)! One of our kids had a slight fever and they sent a nurse up to check on her--the staff was very caring. Also, put your "do not disturb" sign out or the housekeeping may surprise you early in the morning, quite keen to clean!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

It's probably worth stating at the start that the accommodation is well located. It's around 600 metres from the train station and is easy to find. It is also in a relatively quiet street. The actual apartments themselves are quite large, particularly the lounge room area......

But it is worth noting that this accommodation is a high quality retirement home that is making extra income by leasing out some of their accommodation as apartments. But it looks and smells like a retirement home. All the apartments have wheelchair/ pushbed width doors and rails in the bathroom. The internet is also as slow as a wet week.

Whilst the accommodation is comfortable enough, has good staff and does advertise itself correctly, it's not worth anywhere near its price per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urbancrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
357 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The idea of combining an elderly appartment home with rooms for hire is new to me. It was nice and the appartment was well equiped and relaxing as was the staff. Minimal in terms of room facilities but the appartment has everything, The appartment itself was a bit old-looking, especially the floor. Small desk for computer use and no electricity socket nearby. Light in the bathroom was not totally fit for shaving but the rest was okay. And the elevator is set at very low speed. Good for elderly people but anyway. Swiming pool and gym were in the building, but I have not used them.

The location is ideal as it is two blocks from the railway station and the Dom. So it is a good offer for a decent price and when you want an appartment to retreat during visiting the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I have stayed in this hotel multiple times and was satisfied on all of the occasion.

Location : The best one can ask for, 200meters from Cologne cathedral and Hauptbanhhof (central station), shopping center etc.

Rooms: Very spacious with attached balcony. Summers are the time to enjoy !!, Well maintained and excellent room service. Internet is limited but little slow.

Staff: Very courteous and friendly, always willing to help.

Other facilities: Fitness center, pool and sauna are in house and well maintained. Enjoyed using them.

Add on : If you are traveling during carnival time, this is the place to stay as the entire procession passes in front of the hotel, However remember to book in advance as everyone knows it !! If you are on business travel during the time...Do book in advance as this hotel is preferred by tourists.

Overall I love this hotel and would always be my first choice of stay in Cologne.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms give a good view of the Dom Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balakumar_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

A most enjoyable stay in this beautiful city that has everything from interesting history to superb shopping centres. Staying at Residenz am Dom which has Coffee Shop, Bistro and Restaurant and many other facilities was a very good experience. All the places we wanted to visit were more or less on our doorstep. Staff very helpful as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Sandmanns
Hotel Sandmanns
#62 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
#140 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#67 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#26 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenz Am Dom Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenz Am Dom Serviced Apartments

Property: Residenz Am Dom Serviced Apartments
Address: An den Dominikanern 6-8, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenz Am Dom Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Residenz Am Dom Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenz Am Dom Serviced Apartments Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing