We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location, Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Domstern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Domstern
Ranked #33 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Title says it all. Positives: You get a nice hotel, near by to the 'Dom' (cathedral) and main attractions, they staff were friendly and courteous. They have a nice breakfast in the morning. WiFi is free. Can't think of any real negatives about the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

We recently stayed here and we were delighted with the location of the station from the hotel - very convenient.

We stayed in room 204 which was OK - a small bathroom and the room quality was acceptable but nothing special.

That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our hosts were warm and gracious and very willing to help. The breakfast had a vast array of home made and locally sourced products. Breakfast is also served later on the weekend which is an excellent idea given that most people want to have a longer lie in.

In the room we found chocolates and fresh fruit and the hotel has an honesty bar downstairs. Tea and coffee is free and readily available - just choice on the coffee!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed there in December 2010 as I was attending an EASA conference.My wife was with me doing the Chritmas Markets. The hotel is located on the other (as opposed to the DOM) of the HBF (Train Station). So it's a simple walk to anywhere in Cologne.

The rooms are small but perfect. There's an elevator, double doors (so it's quiet).

Breakfat is so quiet and the food is perfect. They have different produces from different parts of Europe every morning, super idea.

Honestly, I am not sure I want this review posted! I have meetings with EASA a few times a year, but I am now afraid that this hotel will be booked all the time.
Suoer place and the guys are super nice!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heloguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Sorry but I have no choice but to cement the Domstern's status as Tripadvisor's no. 1 hotel in Koeln, despite the owners' humility about their status. Well if they don't want to suffer such embarrasment they shouldn't go so far above and beyond what one would expect from a small european hotel - they should replace the comfy (and rare in European hotels) proper king-size beds with two lumpy singles, they should stop offering home-made butter, jam and bread at breakfast, they should stop having a different european theme every day at breakfast to give variety, they should stop producing a handy bilingual 'what's happening today in Cologne' leaflet, they should stop offering free tea and coffee throughout the day, they should rip out the international power sockets in the rooms - I could go on (oh yes - biscuits on reception, well-stocked 'honour bar' available 24hrs.) My point is it's a great hotel - not because of the spacious rooms - the rooms are all small , but with a big bed and a very clever layout of simple furniture the space is used well. In my opinion, you need a good bed, a good shower, stuff that works, a nice breakfast and people who are genuine and friendly and helpful. And this place has all of that. If I ever ran a hotel, this is how i'd do it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manfred100, Inhaber at Hotel Domstern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear Jonottm,
thank you very much for your review which we found not only very funny but also very precise and clear.
We considered following your "recommendations", but after all we decided we would rather live with being number 1 at tripadvisor after all ;-)
Of course we are really glad and also quite proud that our guests rate our service so high, and if guests read the reviews they know what to expect when booking with us!
We are just a little concerned that guests see our rating and think because we are placed before a 5 star Hyatt or Marriott hotel our place must be better than those.
And this definitely can cause disappointment, as our Junior Suite probably has the size of the Hyatts bathroom...
Luckily the rate of our Junior Suite also compares rather to the price of their lunch menu than their smallest double rooms.
So what we can offer is good value for money, as you described it!
We are also happy that you enjoyed some of the new features we introduced lately, like the international power sockets and the new big beds.
Not all our rooms have those features yet, but we will continue to introduce them during the next months!
Thank you for your accolades, please stay with us!
your hosts
Michael & Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Stayed here for the Xmas market in December and this hotel couldn't have been better. Very convenient location for the railway station (lots of bakeries/fast food/shops in its food court) and cathedral but quiet too. Also scrupulously clean and warm and cosy even though the whole of Europe had ground to a halt under a blanket of snow! Breakfasts were outstanding and, unusually, we were able to make a cup of tea in the room. Hosts were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing. WIFI was very useful too.
This is a 3* hotel, but so, so much better than that suggests.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannibalbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed at the Domstern for a long weekend before Christmas. We arrived in Cologne by train and the hotel is a hop and a skip away from the train station and perfectly located for the cathedral, Christmas markets and old town. Also liked the fact it is on a nice quiet side street. The Domstern is great value for money, excellent breakfasts, super friendly and helpful service, spotless and well maintained rooms, Wi Fi, tea and coffee facilities on request, honesty bar ( the beer was very welcome after our journey). I thoroughly recommend the Domstern.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CotswoldsHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in January based on the reviews we read here and were very pleased. The hotel is very charming and conveniently located within walking distance of the train station, the Dom, museums, restaurants and shopping. The staff were so friendly and the breakfast was delicious and locally sourced. The room was very clean, well maintained, and quiet. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#29 of 263 in Cologne
359 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 263 in Cologne
720 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#51 of 263 in Cologne
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#60 of 263 in Cologne
710 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#134 of 263 in Cologne
291 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#19 of 263 in Cologne
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domstern

Address: Domstr. 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cologne
#13 Business Hotel in Cologne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £68 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domstern 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the famous Cologne Cathedral, main station, historic city center, shopping area and not far from the trade fair, you will find Hotel Domstern in a quiet side street. We offer newly renovated rooms, free wifi, parking, only nonsmoking rooms, elevator and our extended breakfast buffet until 11 am and even 12 noon during weekends. We are proud and humbled getting the "Travellers choice award 2010" from our guests for our personal service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Domstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domstern Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing