We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Hotel Domstern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Domstern
Ranked #36 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Of all of the hotels I've stayed in in recent memory, this has to be the best valued hotel and it's location couldn't be better.

It's clear that the owners and staff are invested in the comfort and enjoyment of the guests. Almost every detail is just a little better than what you might expect. For example, the breakfast had all of the the standard items, but also with homemade preserves and other details that clearly demonstrated thought and care.

The staff was also very helpful with the few requests I made. They even noticed when I didn't turn up at breakfast one more morning -- not because they were being nosy, but just because they were paying attention to their guests and wanted to make sure that I had something to eat. Perhaps you'd get this level of service in a small B&B, but not in a hotel.

I wish there were more gems like this around the world.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howtotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed two nights at the Hotel Domstern in Cologne with my honey. We reserved a junior-suite and we were not disappointed. The best part of the room was the bathroom: marble floor, extra large tub, separate shower, bidet, nice vanity and two rubber duckies.

The hotel is a quick five minute walk from the Central train station and a few blocks from the famous Cathedral. The directions from the hotel were accurate and easy to follow. The rate included a German breakfast that was excellent. The homemade bread and local honey were extra special.

Our room number 400 overlooked the quite street and was oversized by European standards. The bed was very firm and the hotel's front desk staff were excellent.

The Domstern is a small boutique hotel and you should not expect the amenities of their five star competitors. Since we paid one-half the quoted rates of the major hotels we considered the Domstern an excellent bargain.

Room Tip: Book a jr. suite from the hotel's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2011

Dear ronvoyage,
thank you very much for your feedback and for making us number 1 again :-)
It is so amazing that a small and simple 3 star hotel maintains the top spot here at tripadvisor and we are really humbled by this overwhelming response of all our guests!
But to be honest we are also a little concerned and we thank you especially for pointing out that we can not and do not want to compare with our 5 star competitors!
From time to time we have guests who only book us because they find us at number 1 without even reading the reviews- of course they are disappointed because they expect something different. As you said our strength is to offer reasonable rates in our basic 3 star hotel, close to the city center but in a quiet neighbourhood.
We are glad that you had a nice stay in Cologne and we were able to contribute to this favourable experience.
Thank you so much for sharing your impressions and best regards from your hosts
Michael & Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

All the management and staff are indeed charming. Much deserved praise has been lavished on the Domstern. Just to add a few points which could be helpful to future guests.

Breakfast: The coffee is excellent as are the breads and rolls. There is little variety day to day as the "round the World" extras are just a small gesture. Very limited choice of breakfast cereals.

Room size: My wife and I had the 4th floor junior suite which was super with a large bathroom including separate shower and bath, big bed, small sofa, aircon. My mother in law had a single and it was miniature - not small ! Also some rooms do not have aircon.

Tip on rooms: if you want to use the minibar as a fridge, e.g. for your own yoghourt or fruit, ask for a second room key to leave in the room power slot or the minibar will get warm when you are out during the day.

Location and restaurants: An easy 6 minute walk the "wrong side" of the station. Residential area with a small supermarket and some restaurants. Although the hotel recommends restaurants in this area, we found we did better eating in town, especially if you want a Brauhaus.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This modern hotel was in a perfect location, walking distance to many sites, restaurants, beer gardens. Parking was in a secure location across the street from the hotel, and the staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stayed in the Junior Suite for 3 days. Very clean hotel, reasonably big room, surprisingly a big sized bathroom, good breakfast, helpful reception. Will agree with some of the other reviewers that this is really a very a small hotel and has the smallest sized breakfast room I have ever seen . So go prepared for it - other than that there is little to fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were welcome from the start. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, Any question put them was cheerfully answered and suggestions made. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was great! It was near enough to the city but far enough away for the prices in the eting houses to be reasonable. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in in a major European city. The room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished and decorated and the staff were extremely helpful, even offering to look up the platform for our train on the day of departure. The breakfast buffet was superb and the only fault I could find with it was that there were so many things on offer that i had difficulty making up my mind about what to have!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#28 of 261 in Cologne
351 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#51 of 261 in Cologne
697 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 261 in Cologne
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 261 in Cologne
692 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 261 in Cologne
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domstern

Address: Domstr. 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cologne
#13 Business Hotel in Cologne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £64 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domstern 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the famous Cologne Cathedral, main station, historic city center, shopping area and not far from the trade fair, you will find Hotel Domstern in a quiet side street. We offer newly renovated rooms, free wifi, parking, only nonsmoking rooms, elevator and our extended breakfast buffet until 11 am and even 12 noon during weekends. We are proud and humbled getting the "Travellers choice award 2010" from our guests for our personal service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Domstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domstern Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing