We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Hotel Domstern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Domstern
Ranked #32 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions now and we are always made to feel so welcome. It is like home from home. The hotel is so close to the main railway and a short walk into the Old Town. There are good restaurants nearby and a new underground station at the end of the road.The rooms are very clean and spacious. We like the new decor! Breakfasts were imaginative with lots of choices of home cooked food from breads to yoghurt, fresh fruits, cold meats eggs, and cheeses. The list is endless. The proprietors are
very helpful and speak good English. Our only complaint is that the hotel has become so popular that we have to book a long time in advance!

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyhighwycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    165
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
91
256
84
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our recent 3-night stay at this hotel was wonderful. The hotel staff is personable and helpful. They will go out of their way to do something like wash a few pieces of clothing without charging. They were always willing to answer questions. The location of the hotel was a bit hard to find at first, but it actually is an excellent one, close to the train station and cathedral and away from the crowds. The breakfast spread varied some each morning we were there and it was superb, an interesting assortment of high-quality, tasty foods.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and had a big bed and a smaller one--both big enough for a person 6 fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Pros:
1.Convenient location - 2 blocks from main train station.
2. Great staff
3. Good price with Internet included

Cons:
1. small room
2. standard American complaints (no a/c, Euro style bed, tiny shower stall) :-)
3. Location not as quiet as expected

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Spent four very pleasant nights here exploring Cologne. Previous reviews entirely accurate. Room was compact but bed was big and comfortable and everything spotlessly clean.
The devil is in the details -and the owners have got the details right. We left our cases there on our last morning and appreciated the complimentary coffee made for us when we returned to collect them. They deserve to succeed -and sister cafe Stern und Rathaus in city is delightful too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

There's nothing I would change about this hotel. It is small, but absolutely perfect. Ideally located within easy walking distance of everything you could want to do in the city, including the old town, shops, museums, restaurants, the metro station, a park, cinema - everything is literally minutes walk away. Staff were super friendly, welcoming and very helpful - if you need any directions or recommendations they are at your service! Everything was sparkling clean, and the room was beautiful and equipped with free wifi and international wall outlets. The breakfast buffet (included with your stay) is amazing - each day the breakfast food is themed after a different region and there's a pamphlet telling you more about the wonderful locally sourced ingredients. They even produce a sweet daily newsletter each morning that tells you about things that are going on in the city that day that you might want to check out. I couldn't recommend this hotel more, and I would definitely return again if I get the opportunity. A+++!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inabeautifulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just returned from Cologne and spent 5 nights at the Domstern Hotel.We had a lovely airy room and spotlessly clean bathroom.The bed was huge and very comfortable.The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was plentiful with a great choice.We would definately recommend this delightful hotel as it was very central ,5 minutes walk to the cathedral and 2 mins to the nearest UBahn (underground station) We loved the little chocolates on the pillows each night !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

excellent location - 5 minutes from city centre. It has obvioulsy been recently refurbished to a very high standard. Friendly reception staff and excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggmck186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#27 of 261 in Cologne
329 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#48 of 261 in Cologne
676 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 261 in Cologne
375 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#19 of 261 in Cologne
557 reviews
Hotel Santo
#13 of 261 in Cologne
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domstern

Property: Hotel Domstern
Address: Domstr. 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cologne
#13 Business Hotel in Cologne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domstern 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the famous Cologne Cathedral, main station, historic city center, shopping area and not far from the trade fair, you will find Hotel Domstern in a quiet side street. We offer newly renovated rooms, free wifi, parking, only nonsmoking rooms, elevator and our extended breakfast buffet until 11 am and even 12 noon during weekends. We are proud and humbled getting the "Travellers choice award 2010" from our guests for our personal service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Domstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domstern Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing