We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trouble finding anything wrong! A great visit.”
Review of Hotel Domstern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Domstern
Ranked #30 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Trouble finding anything wrong! A great visit.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I know....ignore 5 star ratings, but I really couldn't find anything to fault this hotel. I'm pretty stingy with 5* ratings. Granted, this is not a 5* luxury hotel but it is a great value.

Hotel is a quick walk from the train station. Maybe 5 minutes tops.

Greeted immediately and offered to store bags. Room ready when we returned. Stayed on 3rd floor. There is a lift. Bags were waiting in our room. Chocolates on the bed and two pieces of cake on the desk.

Room was spacious by European standards. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Ample storage for 2 people.

Bathroom was also good. First shower on this trip where water didn't go all over the floor :) good water pressure and hot water.

Breakfast was a delight. Made-to-order scrambled eggs, fresh strawberries, fresh breads. Even a nice selection of homemade puddings. Very, very nice.

Reception very friendly and helpful.

Maybe the only tiny thing is that if you are on the street side then you'll hear noise. But that's not the hotel's fault....we left our window open, but it never woke me up.

I would stay again and recommend to family/friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    165
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
91
256
84
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We walked in to the hotel and were greeted at the desk by the friendly staff. We were given the key to our room, the password for the internet, and a guide to Cologne. When I walked passed the desk I was thrilled to see an elevator. After a week in Italy knowing I did not have to carry my luggage up 3 flight of stairs was a real treat. We dropped our luggage we walked to the Dom. It took us 5 minutes. There are many restaurants near the hotel. The next morning I was surprised by the variety of food. We were offered cooked eggs, to go along with the fruits, yogurts,breads, meats and cheeses. The food was extremely fresh and beautifully presented. A wonderful way to start your day. The shopping area and the Rhine were also 5 minutes away. If I am lucky to go back to Cologne, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent location; reserved parking in the city centre, albeit for a small fee; very good breakfast available.

However, rooms were very small and a bit cramped; bathroom exceptionally small!; not really worth the money paid, however this is made up by the excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andywilson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This not a modern faceless chain hotel. It's a quaint, peaceful and wonderfully traditional hotel.Honestly it's one of the best I've stayed in for ambience and the feeling you get. The attention to detail on arrival with chocolates on the pillow and cake left out was a nice touch and breakfast was incredible. Beautifully set out and a really good choice. It was nice to get scramble eggs as well. We stayed in 400, great sized room with a bath for two. Couldn't recommend this place enough if you are in cologne and want a well priced, excellently located traditional restaurant. You won't be disappointed. The staff are friendly, cheerful and really helpful. You get the impression attention to detail is very important. If we are in cologne again we will definitely come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel combines traditional European hospitality with modern amenities. The hotel itself is on a quiet side street and is quite small but the rooms are spacious and spotless - and there is a lift, which is not always the case. We had a very helpful hostess, and were served a wonderful traditional German breakfast. All in all, highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
192 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Really good hotel, not to be confused with the one next up the street which we entered by mistake! Excellent staff, spotless rooms and good breakfast. Great value all round. Take their recommendations for restaurants - you won't be disappointed.

The only downside is that they could not provide any ice. (In-room ice-making facilities were absent in all the hotels we stayed in during our three-week tour of Europe). You would think that we were asking for caviar! Anyway, not to worry - this is a great little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is easy to find when leaving the main station in Cologne. The hosts were very welcoming, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Do not expect the Ritz, but for what you pay, it's excellent value for money. The breakfast is superb, freshly cooked eggs to order with a huge choice of other delicious homemade treats: chocolate brownies for breakfast, not to be missed!! Very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessN233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#25 of 260 in Cologne
329 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#48 of 260 in Cologne
675 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 260 in Cologne
375 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#20 of 260 in Cologne
554 reviews
Hotel Santo
#17 of 260 in Cologne
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domstern

Property: Hotel Domstern
Address: Domstr. 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cologne
#13 Business Hotel in Cologne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domstern 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the famous Cologne Cathedral, main station, historic city center, shopping area and not far from the trade fair, you will find Hotel Domstern in a quiet side street. We offer newly renovated rooms, free wifi, parking, only nonsmoking rooms, elevator and our extended breakfast buffet until 11 am and even 12 noon during weekends. We are proud and humbled getting the "Travellers choice award 2010" from our guests for our personal service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Domstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domstern Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing