We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable and stylish....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Koln-Mediapark
Ranked #41 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“So comfortable and stylish....”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I was really impressed by this hotel. I guess it would be classified as mid range due to lacking amenities such as a telephone, minibar, kettle or iron in the rooms, but it has the feel, comfort and quality of a much classier hotel. The common areas which include a bar, breakfast area/lounge and external courtyard are stylish and spacious. The rooms, although compact, are very stylish too, and cleverly designed to make the best use of the space. The beds are very comfortable, with high-quality bed linen; There is a desk, flat screen tv, a chair and full-size mirror, and excellent sound insulation in the room too. The bathroom is small but gorgeous with a large shower, marble tiles and plenty of fluffy white towels. There is free wifi in the room (intermittent at times) and plenty of plugs for charging phones, tablets, etc. the buffet breakfast is good value at 7.50 euros. Overall, really 'excellent' in relation to its price range although nearly demoted to 'very good' on the basis of Internet access frustrations on the 6th floor.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ValH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Motel One Koln-Mediapark, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your stay at motel one Köln-Mediapark. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. At the moment we are working on our Wi-Fi issue on the 6th floor. Hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    122
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
15
46
11
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel had only been open a few weeks when I stayed. The rooms are small but comfortable. The wifi signal was god enough to receive emails but I never could get enough to get maps to load, but the wifi was free so that was good. The service was very good and overall it was a nice place to stay for the 2 nights I was in Cologne. I definitely would recommend this hotel as the price is affordable and the rooms were nice. This was their newest hotel in Cologne but they have several hotels across Germany and few in Austria, so great to keep in mind when visiting major German cities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeghanNook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Motel One Koln-Mediapark, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very glad, that you enjoyed your stay at the Motel One Köln-Mediapark. Hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel has only been open for a few weeks, which means the rooms are in exceptional shape - no scuff marks on the walls, no scrapes on the furniture. It also means that, right now, guests are still, to some extent, live-in guinea pigs.

For example, the wifi signal in our room only existed in a small area near the door - step out of it and there was no connection. Staff were friendly and helpful, but not very effective at solving the problem. It took us three attempts talking to different people until the technician showed up, verified our claims and told reception in was okay for us to move to another room. "I'd always suspected we'd come across a room where this was the case", he mused. Fancy that.

There was also still some building work going on, and some of the decorations need adjusting - no breakfast went by without some guest hitting his head on the fancy silverish lamp-shades dangling far too low.

Other than that, this is, like all Motel Ones, good value for money, and I would return - just not right now. Give them a few more months to get things sorted first.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms that end on -50, according to their tech guy, they all have the same wobbly wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pottgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Motel One Koln-Mediapark, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. With the help of your comment, we are now fixing our W-Lan connection in this area of the hotel. In the other areas of the hotel the wifi works properly. I hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Motel One Koln-Waidmark
Motel One Koln-Waidmark
#6 of 261 in Cologne
447 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
#38 of 261 in Cologne
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
#70 of 261 in Cologne
306 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#7 of 261 in Cologne
527 reviews
Lindenthal
Select AAA Budget Hotel
Select AAA Budget Hotel
#213 of 261 in Cologne
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Koln-Mediapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Koln-Mediapark

Property: Motel One Koln-Mediapark
Address: Am Kuempchenshof 2, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Koln-Mediapark 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel One Koln-Mediapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing