We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cupcake ever!”
Review of Mr. Cake Cologne

Mr. Cake Cologne
Ranked #1 of 44 Dessert in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Cuisines: Delicatessen, German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Altstadt-Süd
Description: Our "Probierstubchen" Coffee Shop opens for you usually Friday until Sunday from 3 pm to 6 pm. During the week we post opening hours daily on Facebook and Twitter and Instagram . Reservations are possible only via our Facebook profile. Our handmade Cupcakes that we produce with best ingredients only on a daily basis are a delightful asset to your life. For baking we use fresh and natural ingredients only while paying much attention to a high quality treatment. We trust the “Bio-Qualitatssiegel” (seal of organic quality) when buying primary products such as eggs and flour. We are proud to assure our abdication of artificial flavors, antidegradants and flavor enhancers. We are fascinated by manual baking. The Cupcakes that we produce for you are based on old family cake-recipes. We have refined the original recipes so that the taste of a big cake can unfold perfectly even in small Cupcakes. We offer classy and precious dainties for special occasions such as birthdays, family celebrations, weddings and business events.
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Fresh cupcakes made with quality ingredients--so good! I've never had a gluten-free cake that tasted like a "normal" cupcake, let alone even better!

5  Thank AnonInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MisterCake, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Cake Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for the nice review of our Cup Cakes. With our Cup Cake Variations we show that also gluten free Cup Cakes can taste.

We are looking forward to your next visit at our café.

Your Mr. Cake CupCake Manufactory Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 90 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I planned a visit due to these reviews here. Unexpected to find such a small casual place but once you see the sign and meet the owner, you feel at home. I had Apple Cinnamon Walnut and Chocolate/Strawberry. Both just outstanding with the Apple as my favorite. Great experience to have the owner describe what is available and fix them for you. Check their Facebook page for when they are open and try to stop in! Definitely worth the effort.

5  Thank SpartanGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MisterCake, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Cake Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review and feedback, which we greatly appreciate. We are very happy, that especially the TripAdvisor user “ like you”, for other readers report as much detail and above all positive. We are pleased that you are excited by our CupCakes, we fresh produce with love for each order.

We thank you very much for your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Your Mr. Cake CupCake Manufactory Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I and my friend went there for cupcakes because this place is loved by so many tripadvisors, but we went there too early. So we visited to the chocolate museum first which is located fairly close to the cafe and by the time we came back the cafe had already sold out a number of cupcakes! We had the last two blueberry cupcakes and they are absolutely lovely. The owner is nice and I would recommend it to people who love cupcakes. 正評!

3  Thank Ricky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MisterCake, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Cake Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much, that you found time and have rated our Mr. Cake Cup-Cakes. With a smile on his face, we have read your words and are pleased that we have taken their taste with our Small cake. Also our small Coffee Shop “ Mr.Cake Probierstübchen” some is now open days during the week or on the weekend. Since you can be alone for a good cup of coffee our range test.

We are looking forward to your next visit at our café.

Your Mr. Cake CupCake Manufactory Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We read the reviews on here and walked from the centre to this place, which was a nice easy stroll. Don't be put off by the entrance, it's a bit different! We went inside downstairs and there's a really nice little area with the cakes on show and a coffee machine. It didn't take long before Mr CupCake himself greeted us. I asked, in German, if he spoke English which he replied "yes of course". He thought we were maybe from Belgium or Holland, but I put him right on that one! His English was perfect and he is an absolutely marvellous "host". He is obviously very passionate about what he does and he will explain everything in detail if you wish. My wife and I both chose a cupcake each and a coffee. He also taught me how to make coffee properly, i.e. not stirring the milk in a Latte - I didn't know that, but apparently the Italians go mad if you stir it!!
It goes without saying really, but the cakes were absolutely delicious. We had to have another, but we shared one this time.
I'm sure the owner himself will agree, this is not a "restaurant", so please take that into account when visiting. There are plenty of nice restaurants in Koln, but for the experience, the friendliness and the best cupcakes ever, by far, go here!
Phil & Vicky, England

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank XCTrainsDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MisterCake, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Cake Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Wonderful words you found to evaluate our Cafe and CupCake manufactory. We are very happy, that especially the TripAdvisor user “ like you”, for other readers report as much detail and above all positive. The opinion of our customers in the first place is for us as a family business, because only so we can still improve the quality of our cupcake.

We thank you very much for your visit and look forward to seeing you again.


Your Mr. Cake CupCake Manufactory Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very cozy place,amazing cupcakes and wonderful host .I would recommend this place to everyone who travels cologne.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank RIDZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MisterCake, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Cake Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for visiting our little Coffee Shop - Mr. Cake "Probierstübchen". We want to you thank you, that you have taken the time to leave a review here at "TRIPADVISOR". We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay in Cologne

Until then, we remain with kind regards

Your Mr. Cake CupCake Manufactory Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Cake Cologne also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Mr. Cake Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing