We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wins an award from me”
Review of Hotel Arde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Arde
Ranked #205 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This is the second worst hotel I have stayed in on business but it wins an award because it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in for more than one night.

It is in a central location, the lady on the reception was nice enough and the breakfast was okay (if you like that sort of thing). Okay that's plus points finished.

The sign on the outside of the hotel looks crummy and when you enter the reception you might be fooled into thinking perhaps it is not so bad. But look up the stairs (you will almost certainly be using these as there is no lift) and take a deep breath. And hold that breath as long as you can because there is a nasty smell that pervades the public areas - drains I think.

I was on the third floor (49 steps up, sounds like a John Buchan novel) which gave me ample time to get a good look at the stairs and landing areas - shabby is a word that comes to mind. When I eventually got my bent key to unlock the room I thought I had gone into a cupboard. There was the bed against the wall and by the side was about 0.5m space and no side table. I slept with my phone and netbook for company.

The bathroom is a triumph of filthy minimalism. It was a shower cubicle (dirty on the inside) and a tile missing below, I wonder what species lurked there and then an area slightly wider than a toilet all the way round that contained a toiler and a wash basin - so tiny and no room to put anything.

It must be the tiniest room i have ever stayed in. Okay so let's console my self with a bit of WiFi surfing. Ah the €7.50 wireless internet doesn't reach the dark denizens of the 3rd floor but it works well in the bar, but that is a bit difficult for Skyping with my family.

So you may be wondering just how much this cost. Well let me tell you that it was the week of Medica (in Dusseldorf) so prices give a whole new meaning to the word 'inflation' and I paid €116 per night (Including breakfast) - it would have been overpriced at €11.6.

The hotel needs a total revamp or demolition - awful place.

Actually there is one last plus point. If you walk out of the hotel, turn right then when you hit the main shopping street turn right again and about 30m along (after the pub) is a little bistro bar thing. I ate in here every night and the food was cheap and really okay. The waiter chap (the one with the big moustache) was very pleasant and welcoming. I would have recommended this place highly until the very last part of the last night when I watched, stunned and amused (I have to say) as I saw some mice running around. Without the mice I would have marked it 8/10 but the mice take the shine off it somehow!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank C4LWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

If you're looking for an outdated and unhygienic hotel, with seriously unfriendly personnel, than this place is definitely for you!
We discovered a serious blood stain on the bottom of our matrass.
The door frame of the bathroom was broken.
The lower wooden frames inside the bathroom were moldy, probably because of the unhandy shower-curtains, that eventually do nothing to keep the water from spraying all over the place.
And the air-ventilation in the bathroom is a joke I think.

Also, the moment we walked in, we tried to click on the light, but nothing happened.
After a small adventure with our phone-flashlights, we discovered the light bulb wasn't turned in all the way. But still it made me question when the last time that room was prepared/dusted/cleaned.

Yes, it does lie in the middle of the town, but that's about all of the good things I can say about the hotel.

The staff is super unfriendly as well. When I asked for coffee I got a very ironic "yes master, right away". When we then decided to move to a different table, we wanted to take our unused cutlery to our new table. But the woman said something about leaving it where it was, at which time another woman came to the table and just dropped the cutlery she was going to bring to our table and bolted off angrily.
This is NOT how I wish to start my sunday morning on vacation.
In the end, the sandwiches tasted 2 days old. At that point I was just happy the ham hadn't gone bad and the cheese wasn't moldy.

In short: never EVER going back.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here, I bet ANY other hotel in the area is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sch3lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel needs a overhaul of the rooms, hall ways. Needs serious upgrade. My room was extremely small. All they could put in was a bed. No night tables or lights. If you are a large person forget staying in this room. Literally no room.

Shower had a curtains. Which are not very hygenic. The hotel advertises having a WIFI. I could not get online downstairs or the first floor. Ofcourse no air conditioning. This hotel room should not be more than 30e per night. I paid 65e with the taxes.

The only good aspect of this hotel was proximity to main train station and the shops. Pretty central location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erdalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This place is a great little place hidden in the centre of the city and everything especially the shopping district is within easy walking distance.

Had all the basics just right for a very cheap price, especially as I booked only 6hrs before I arrive from London by car!

Room was clean quiet and comfortable - dated, but I wasn't expecting the Hilton and they didn't sell it as such so exceptions managed perfectly.

Breakfast was typical continental, not to my personal taste, but they had everything you would expect, service was polite and english spoken by all the staff without any question which was a help to me!

My only disappointment was the poor wi-fi service. It was supposed to be hotel-wide and I was charged 5 euros, but the signal wasn't strong enough for my room, so I ended up having to prop up the bar to get a working signal - when I got that it was fine, and when they enquired why I was down here with my laptop and explained, they refunded my 5 euros without me even having to ask so I didn't feel cheated at all. In this day and age wi-fi is an essential in any hotel for me, so this is something that can be easily and cheaply fixed and I would encourage the hotel owners if they read this review to invest in getting this fixed.

But other than that its a perfect place as a stopover (I am on my way to Prague) and for those looking for a cheap no-frills way to see Koln!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Slap-bang in the middle of town, close to largest shopping areas, great restaurants (and sightseeing), and yet quiet location in a side street. Rooms on the smallish side, but perfectly adequate and clean, breakfast good, but best of all is the personal touch by the friendly staff who seem to be more than happy to give tips as to nearby eateries etc. (Hi Kathi!) I would happily return (and hopefully will next year).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europea0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Hotel Arde is very central located: in shopping area, less than 10 min walk from the Dom and Hauptbahnhof.
The (single) room was rather small but good and clean. The breakfast was nice.
Conclusion: a nice hotel for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelloverBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Plus:
- The people were very helpful with the key when we were delayed. Although the hotel was closed already, they left the key somewhere for us. They even gave us a mobile number to call in case there were problems.
- Clean rooms
- Nice (simple) breakfast
- Great location. In the middle of the shopping srea.

Minus:
- Although we hang us a ' do not disturb' sign. They were cleaning the room anyway when we got back from breakfast.
- The reception was never present/open. Not once in 3 days.
- The was no shower gel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nr1musthave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hilton Cologne
#19 of 263 in Cologne
2,206 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lindenthal
Premiere Classe Hotel Koeln-West
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,270 reviews
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arde

Address: Auf der Ruhr 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £52 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arde 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing