We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$91
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
US$79
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$123
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Koeln(Cologne)
US$111
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$127
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$94
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$153
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
2
19
15
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
19
15
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in one of the Triple rooms which are situated on the top floor, which has a lovely shared balcony over-looking the street and trees below. If you're going out for the day, I would advise locking the door to balcony as your neighbour can essily walk in. The room has adequate space for three, always well made after arriving back from a day out. Due to a large server/AirCon unit the room was quite warm, even with the window opened up slightly, and the fan in the room on all night.
Many reviews complain about noise from the karaoke bar on the lower floor, thankfully we did not have that problem. Although, as we we went for Gamescom (a huge gaming convention with the latest in games, consoles, gaming, peripherals and gifts) there was a concert being held on the street. Here, the music played to around 12:30-01:00 in the morning.
Situated very close to many bars, pubs, clubs and restaurants, we weren't short of places to eat or drink. About 400m west of the hotel there is an Aldi and other smaller newsagents if you're looking for a quick shop.
Nearby is the underground line, which is very handy for those who wish to travel around Cologne without all the hassle of walking. The downside is you may miss the odd interesting sight.
The staff there are very friendly and polite, willing to help with any question or query you have. Especially one gentlemen who we had a great conversation with.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor as you do not hear the karaoke bar on the lower floors. If you share your balcony, remember to close and lock your balcony door. Otherwise you could have unexpected guests.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DOBhrionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

It's not easy at this hotel. As others have mentioned, ground floor restaurant, second floor karaoke. Some of the bars on the road are open until 5:30. Needless to say, it's noisy. If you are there on a warmer day, you may need to sleep with the patio door open since there's no air conditioning... which means all of those lovely sounds will come right into your room. When I finally fell asleep the sun was out.

The bed itself was two twins pushed together and the comfort level was marginal.

Decor is a mash up of yard sale (furniture) meets unfinished (a few holes in wall) meets somewhat modern (bath, flat screen tv)

The italian restaurant/bar is convenient. Food is pretty good. I didn't participate in the karaoke, other than as an unintentional listener.

It's near the subway, lots of restaurants and bars which makes it convenient.

Price was reasonable, but I would have gladly paid more for a more peaceful hotel experience (none were available).

The people there were friendly.

I doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel during a weekend, the rooms are small but comfy and they have a nice big bathroom. We also had a balcony and there was a set of earplugs on our nightstand. There is a supermarket nearby and there are also a couple of restaurants(some very cheap!). They also have a Starbucks, KFC etc. nearby.
Really liked this hotel and had two good nights, but there is a lot of noise. Wifi is great and staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stay here one night for the cologne lights. The Hotel is near at the Kölner Ring, verry central.The rooms are clean, but a little bit loud. Breakfast is ok, in ambiance form this Hotel are many Bars and Pub`s.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans111Bochum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My better half and I stayed here for the annual Cologne firework display. We stayed for two nights. I am glad that I read the reviews on here before we came or I think I'd have been a little dissapointed.

I was surprised when we arrived at the furnishings inside the hotel, considering it is a 4*. The enterance is very tired looking and in desperate need of redecorating, as are the rooms themselves. The bathroom was very nice and spacious, nice shower etc but to be honest it showed up even more how much the room itself needs redecorating. The floor appeared dirty because the wooden flooring was that worn, even though it was not actually dirty at all. The view was not great, but it didn't bother us a great deal as we were on such a short stay. I would say make sure your balcony door is locked before you leave the room as although the steps are obviously there in case of fire, that and the shared balcony make it very easy for somebody else to enter the room if the door is not properly locked. The reception area was very nicely decorated and we were gratefull for the lift. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on that. The karaoke bar isn't really our scene, drinks were over priced compared to other close bars but we had a good time in there regardless (surprisingly).

The good points that made this stay were,

The staff, especially the manager. He went out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed. He was very friendly and helpfull, and we felt that had we any real problems (we didn't) they would be dealt with swiftly and with no trouble.

They make sure that there is no trouble in the 'club/bar', and trouble makers are out before anything happens. This was dealt with very seriously and swiftly by the staff. There is allways one wherever you go, but I've never seen the one bad apple dealt with so well or quickly.

Although the room was tired it was a very comfy stay, both of us slept well without any problems. We didn't find the bar downstairs disturbed us at all, but there are ear plugs in the room in case they are needed.

Very good location, you have access to the underground a few doors away, the Dom and the square is only about 20 minutes walk from the hotel. There is a multi story car park around the corner and it's reasonably priced. There are lots of nice bars and restaurants all around you, many different types in every direction.

The price. Although it isn't 4* this is reflected in the price. Very good value for money.

All in all we had a very nice stay and should we come back to cologne we would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mungypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews