We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we needed!!”
Review of Hotel Muller

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Muller
Ranked #166 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location! Comfortable bed! Clean room! Helpful staff! Spacious shower room ensuite! Plus tea and coffee facilities!! Fabulous!! What a great value place for our 3 night stay in cologne! So close to the central station and cathedral! We preferred to eat breakfast out in a cafe on the pavement as it was so hot it seemed a shame not to but you can get breakfast in the hotel for 8€ pp.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelbuggalug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Muller
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Due to Rick Steve's recommendation we booked here. It's clean, well appointed, and serves a good breakfast. Our room was a tight fit, even for Europe, but had a big bathroom. A 12" table one one side of the bed and 18" on the other tells you how wide the space was. Only one employee spoke English as did the owner, but we saw her only once for ten minutes. However, you need to be aware that at this hotel the only time employees are present is from breakfast until they have finished cleaning rooms, which can be as early as noon depending on the number of rooms to clean, as was the case during our stay. You are on your own if you need anything or have any questions. One of the three nights we were there, we were the only people in the building. Even as experienced travelers we found it creepy. Furthermore, there is no mention that it isn't staffed in the Rick Steve's book, nor when you reserve the room. It is only after you send your credit card number that you are sent a code so you can access your key from a lock box. Good luck late at night in the rain if you can't get the box open, don't speak German, and don't have a phone to call the number they've posted next to the lock box. I've stayed in hotels with no overnight staff but never one where the reception is locked except for a couple hours a day. Older TA reviews say the reception was open til 5 or 8 p.m., but our three-night experience was not the case.
Finally, it's true that the list price of this hotel was lower than others during trade show times, but if there are no trade shows in town, other nearby hotels that are staffed, nicer and have nicer amenities become more competitive in price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back, though tiny, have a fire escape you can use as a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

there is no hall, you take the key from a box (keep your res nr handy). there is no elevator.
But, the rooms are tiny but clean, breakfast is nice and cooked at the moment.
the location is very convenient.
My main issue would be that they did not accept credit cards, and it was not stated on the booking. they did accept my debit.

Room Tip: Single rooms are VERY small
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isablubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is run with a strange mixture of incompetence and hostility. We found a dirty sock and a broken soap dispenser when we arrived in our room, which was not serviced consistently. Breakfast was not served at the posted time, and was cancelled once without explanation. Bizarrely, the staff refused to allow my wife and I to sit facing each other at breakfast, even when the room was otherwise empty. When we checked out, we were suddenly told that the credit card machine was not working and we would have to pay cash. When we explained that we could not withdraw so large an amount from an ATM all at once without advance notice, the staff revealed that the credit card reader was working after all. However, the first attempt to run a credit card was not successful, prompting a call from Frau Muller, who explained "I have a camera watching you every moment" and threatened our personal safety. This hotel was terrible and no self-respecting visitor to Cologne should stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DMP301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The first hotel in Germany where as english speakers we felt not as welcome. Our room was small and arriving alittle early ended up in a single room with two people so that may have contributed. Not quite as clean as other places were experienced but that may have been due to the lack of updating in decor rather lack of cleaning. The cellar bar/eating area was alittle cramped but the food selection was good and plentiful. There was confusion with paying the bill as we were not informed it was cash only until after we chequed out. I would still recomend this hotel for seasoned travelers given it may just have been the day were in town, but if this is your first stop in Germany you might think about staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

we stayed here for 2 night last April 23 and we were happy. Breakfast is good clean bathroom(my main concern) very nice location close to the center.(walking distance) better deal if u pay in cash. Only drawback for me is the lighting in the bedroom is really dark but overall it is a very good place to stay. Internet on the room is not working well though

Room Tip: choose the room on the lower level cause no elevator
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeraldprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We arranged our stay at the Hotel Muller by exchange of email. The hotel's location just a short walk from the Hbf is very convenient. Our only confusion at check in was that we arrived while the desk was still covered and therefore our key was not in the box outside. Our welcome was quite warm. The room was compact but comfortable, clean, and big enough though the shower was tight. In the morning, our hosts were happy to hold our luggage while we went to the museum. These folks do the basics with excellence. Give them a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Recumbent_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Ludwig
Hotel Ludwig
#91 of 261 in Cologne
105 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Brandenburger Hof
Brandenburger Hof
#79 of 261 in Cologne
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#95 of 261 in Cologne
166 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#74 of 261 in Cologne
197 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#27 of 261 in Cologne
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muller

Address: Brandenburger Str. 20, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £44 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muller 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Muller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muller Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing