We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for exploring the city of Cologne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Zilina, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location for exploring the city of Cologne”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Although more of a business hotel, this Mariott was very nice. i've stayed for one night only, but its location gave me access to the city center all with walk-distance. As a business hotel - i was surprised to have only LAN in rooms (many of people now use only wifi on their tablets or ultrabooks) so bare that in mind. LAN was ok but definitely could have been a bit faster. Missed swimming pool but hey, this is business hotel - so the sauna was OK.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    619
    149
    47
    25
See reviews for
218
607
102
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

As others have said, this hotel is a winner and could take on others on a global scale. It looks really nothing much from the outside and i was hesitant when we arrived, but somebody at the helm of this place really thinks 'outside the box' and succeeds in providing what a customer wants, instead of what is most convenient or cost-effective to the corporation.

The room was spectacular for Europe (or anywhere really but we had become used to getting less in Europe). Large, beautiful fresh appearance, nice colours, fabulous bedding and night's sleep and really good standard bathroom.

What I liked was the way they thought about the traveller: instead of a mini-bar packed with 1000% marked up stale merchandise, the fridge was left empty for the customer's storage. Downstairs in the foyer is a small room where you can get what you want for the mini-bar and sign for it so it's included on your bill. This little room also had extras that would not normally be ain a mini bar such as personal needs, a few (not overpriced) souvenirs etc.. Another sign of care for the customer and obvious experience in travelling was the inclusion of good quality take-away cups in case you need to make your in-room coffee or tea and run with it. I have never seen this anywhere else, and it's SUCH a great idea.

Finally how can I ever thank the porter enough. We had far, far too much luggage (had been travelling for three months in different climates). The hotel is certainly walking distance to the train station, but I had hurt my leg and couldn't take the luggage. A taxi would have laughed at us so the porter walked with a hotel trolley to the train station with us! Never in my wildest dreams would I expect this level of helpfulness in other places.

This is a hotel that has something unique about its culture. Whatever that little spark of difference is, wherever it is coming from, they should bottle it. Well done Marriott Cologne.

Room Tip: They all looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziepore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchville, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The room was gorgeous. It was large by U.S. standards, let alone European standards. Customer service was outstanding. The front desk clerk remembered me by name after just one interaction. The gift shop clerk was especially helpful and even went to a store several blocks away to get us something that the hotel's shop did not have. Wow!

Then there's the restaurant. We ate a very delicious dinner (in the lounge, actually, as the restaurant was closed) that was tasty, interesting, and well-prepared. The breakfast buffet was incredible. Truly delicious and fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pastries, breads, preserves, fish, potatoes, yogurts, and more!

The hotel is an easy walk from the train station, the cathedral, and many other sites, and the neighborhood appeared quite safe. We booked a room on the Marriott website that included parking and the incredible breakfast for two for a little more than 140 euro. That was a great deal. The next time we're in Germany, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ&MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Cologne, or Koln (as said in German) was the third stay on our European trek. It was great to find the Marriott Cologne Hotel, a hotel which offered all of the amenities which we are accustomed to in the States. If you are travelling from the States, this hotel will remind you of most nice American hotels. The staff spoke English. There was a nice bar and restaurant on the premise. The hotel rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were large as well.
Marriott was a 2 minute walk to the major train station in Cologne. The major attraction in town is the Cathedral, which is located directly next to the train station. Most of the shopping and dining attractions are nearby as well. Cologne is a 35 minutes train ride to Dusseldorf (close enough to train to for lunch or dinner if you wanted to see another German city). Cologne is also only an hour from the quaint villages which hug the Rhein river. You can train it or take a boat.
I definitely recommend the Marriott Hotel in Cologne for anyone staying one night or one week.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gabriel, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our stay at this hotel was only for one night but for those that want GREAT access to the cathedral - it is the best. Room service was good......prompt and the food was hot! We did not eat in any of the restaurants so cannot comment on that area of the hotel's services.

Price was also mid range - and the hospitality was great from the front desk - despite our NOT being able to speak German! Would stay here again if in this city!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debracasillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business reasons forse a couple of days. It istituto ubicated in thatcher center and it istituto close to everything. I liked the rooms and the generale feeling i perceived during my stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Rooms have individual air con units (not all Marriotts in Europe do - eg Munich) which worked well. Parking expensive at 25 euros per night. Breakfast expensive as well. Staff good except the 3 young women on Reception burst out laughing for some private reason and didn't explain or apologise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,355 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,199 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,063 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cologne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cologne Marriott Hotel

Property: Cologne Marriott Hotel
Address: Johannisstr. 76-80, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#4 Family Hotel in Cologne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#9 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cologne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cologne Marriott Hotel is located in the Cologne city center, just minutes walking distance from the train station and the Old Town. The hotel offers a versatile meeting and conference venue with sixteen event rooms, including two ballrooms. Perfect for your next weekend getaway to Cologne, Germany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cologne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cologne
Cologne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing