We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel & Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel & Great Location”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent 2 days here on a rail trip through Europe. The hotel is perfectly located for the rail traveler with less than a 3 minute walk out of the Hauptbahnhof. The hotel is exactly what one expects of a Marriott hotel. We had a junior suite that was spacious and well-designed. The hotel just completed a renovation of all of its rooms and public spaces as of August 10th. Our room was very modern and stylish with an extremely comfortable bed. Soundproofing was excellent. Our room rate included access to the Executive Lounge (also renovated) where food and an open bar are offered from 5:30 to 9:30. Fine lounge snacks (both warm and cold) and a good selection of spirits, wines and beer. Our rate also included breakfast which could be in the lounge (continental) or in the hotel restaurant (full buffet). The buffet was great as to both quality and selection of foods. And again as to location, the Cathedral, Ludwig Art Museum, Roman-German museum, Rhein river promenade, Altstadt, and much of the shopping district are all easily walkable from the Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    626
    149
    48
    25
See reviews for
221
612
103
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel using Marriott Rewards Points and were impressed with the quality and level of customerservice. we enjoyed a great room, bountiful breakfast, and evening beverages and snacks. The breakfast and evening refreshments were complimentary to Platinum level members. We went to five cities in Europe but this hotel provided the best hospitality by far and I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First of all, the location was close to train station, easy walk with luggage. Also, close to cathedral. Staff was great, breakfast was very good. They had gluten free items. Typical great Marriott property, but this was better than expected!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Unfortunately, we could only stay one night (June 29, 2013) after we arrived by train from Munich, therefore, our hotel experience/review is basically limited/concentrated on the staff we interacted with briefly, its location and our room.
The hotel’s location is fantastic. Within approximately 5 minutes from the train station, good shops/restaurants and Cologne’s famous Cathedral – one of Germany’s most famous landmarks and a UNESCO world heritage site – and truly impressive! Note: To walk from the train station to the hotel – and to avoid wasting time in the train stations’ Information center - take the exit opposite to the one that leads to the Cathedral.
The hotel is very clean, has a nice lobby and staff is very helpful and friendly. Taxis are parked right outside the entrance of the hotel.
Our quiet non-smoking room on the sixth floor (#617) had a nice view of the Cathedral and was impressive. Our King size bed was incredibly comfortable! … a beautiful nice size marble bath.. . nice TV… etc.
Since we had to take an early morning train to Brugge, we requested early morning breakfast in our room and it right on time AND great… nice variety of breads, fruit jellies, croissants, cappuccinos, orange juice, etc.
Overall, it was a lovely stopover and without a doubt, we not only recommend Cologne Marriott Hotel but to extend the visit to Cologne and stay for more than one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Yet again I entered into another lovely hotel full of hospitable staff. Very accommodating and very helpful. The room is very pleasant and sound proof so you do not hear noise from outside. Not far from the train station which was a plus for me as I am a slow starter. This is a lovely place to stay and I for one would definitely go for another star.

Room Tip: The atmosphere is just wonderful. Luxury at its best! Rooms are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbbie198466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After an evening transatlantic flight through Dusseldorf, we arrived (family of four) at the Cologne bahnhof and walked the 2 blocks to the Cologne Marriott. It was early (9:30 AM) and we were hoping to drop off our luggage at the hotel so we could begin exploring Cologne.

Upon entering the hotel, we were warmly greeted at the front desk by Julia Wilms who was able to not only immediately provide to us connecting rooms, but connecting rooms on the newly renovated 3rd floor - we were the first to stay on the new floor!! This was perfect. This afforded us the opportunity to rest for a few hours prior to exploring the city and helped us eliminate much of our jet lag. I can not thank Julia enough.

Otherwise, it's been all said before - great location close to the bahnhof and cathedral, good bakery within sight of the hotel, and 2 blocks to the Rhein riverbank with some great restaurant options. Our rooms were excellent as they were new and extremely clean. We were the first to sleep on the new beds. In all, an excellent place to begin our Deutschland Urlaub.

A travel tip: Transatlantic airfares to Dusseldorf seem to be much cheaper than to other cities in Germany and the rail station at the Dusseldorf Airport makes frequent departures to Cologne. It's extremely easy (48 minutes) and very inexpensive (12.5 E) to get to Cologne from Dusseldorf. The Cologne train station is a central train stop and one can travel inexpensively and quickly by train within Europe, or explore a wonderful German city.

I choose the Cologne Marriott as I wanted a more "business minded" hotel to ease us into our stay. The Marriott exceeded my expectations with a highly desirable location, comfortable and spacious rooms, clean bathrooms and very good pricing. Without question, this is the place to stay in Cologne and the Cologne Marriott couldn't be better!

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is newly renovated and all new- everything is fresh and clean. We had courtyard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hohja_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

LOCATION-
Across the street and about a block from the Central Rail Station. This is extremely helpful if you're traveling by rail (I was). You'll know you're headed in the correct direction if you exit on the side of the station with a McDonalds. Otherwise, if you're facing the Cologne Cathedral, go back in and walk the opposite way. While there are several youngsters that hang around the station, I'd still say this property is located in a quite area. And you won't have to fight crowds while walking with your luggage. There isn't much as far as shopping and restaurants right outside the hotel doors. But walking across the station and within the area of the Cathedral, you'll find endless options.

STAFF-
Always helpful and courteous. Totally appreciate being able to check-in just after 10am.

ROOMS-
Very much in keeping with the Marriott standards... comfy bed, spacious room, and squeaky clean restroom.

I would definitely stay here again.

Note:
Many reviewers frown on having to pay for internet. But I have to say, most full service Marriotts (even Hiltons & Westins) charge for internet. Don't get them confused with the business properties like Courtyards. I expect to pay and I certainly can't give them a less than great rating as a result.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,394 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,209 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 260 in Cologne
1,769 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cologne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cologne Marriott Hotel

Property: Cologne Marriott Hotel
Address: Johannisstr. 76-80, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#4 Family Hotel in Cologne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#9 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cologne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cologne Marriott Hotel is located in the Cologne city center, just minutes walking distance from the train station and the Old Town. The hotel offers a versatile meeting and conference venue with sixteen event rooms, including two ballrooms. Perfect for your next weekend getaway to Cologne, Germany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cologne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cologne
Cologne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing