We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Western NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Great Location”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were here for our first stay in Germany. The staff was of high caliber and so professional, friendly and helpful. From check in to check out we could not of asked for more. We had access to the Executive Lounge and Maria was wonderful as the host. The food and drinks were very good and great to have access to after a long day of sightseeing. The room was large, well lit and very clean. We did come back one day without our room being cleaned, but we were in room late that morning. One call and it was taken care of while we enjoyed the executive lounge.
The hotel location was perfect for us. A stone throw to the Rhine and a short walk to the Train Station and attractions.
This was a very enjoyable stay. We stay at many Marriotts and the staff and location here were at the top of our list. This is a business hotel with meetings ongoing throughout our stay but never affected us as tourists.
I highly recommend this hotel and hope to be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVCOKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    607
    148
    46
    25
See reviews for
217
596
101
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

An enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were newly refurbished and comfortable (bathroom was excellent), and a very comprehensive and tasty breakfast. No complaints - not an inspiring view from the rooms and could be noisy as next to a building site (but we there for the weekend and there wasn't much work going on so not a big problem).

Decent value and would recommend.

Room Tip: Be wary that some of the rooms overlook a building site and the kitchen so can be noisy and smelly i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is a good example of the german ethic. everything is on order and runs smoothly, from check in to breakfast, to providing helpful information. The rooms are very modern, beds are extremely comfortable and food is of a high standard. Very nice hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had an executive room and enjoyed all the small things in between, like e.g. the executive lounge. If Cologne is your hometown and you need to sleep in a hotel, this is your first choice: In the middle of the center but a little apart from all the noises. Perfect value for your money.

Room Tip: No car needed all important things reachable by feet. Ask the concierge (well well informed) about w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has done a great job in redesigning the Executive Lounge? The staff is very pleasant and helpful. After several experiences with this hotel I highly recommend it. The restaurant has a good choice of simple but good food. One is at walking distance from Colognes main attraction the Cathedrale

Room Tip: The refurbished suites are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang- Joach... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was quite hard to find the way to the Cologne Marriott - even more because of all sorts of construction works in the center of the city. But when we finally found the hotel there was an ample underground parking with lots of available spots. And when you are there, no car is needed anymore: most sights are within walking distance.

On the afternoon of our arrival there was a sports event that I wanted to see on tv. So we found out in an early stage that the tv unit didn't function as it should. We were smoothly relocated to a adjacent room (thanks to the assistance of the helpful mr Mehmet Bayram), but it proved not the be the end of the imperfections.

The Marriott Cologne is rated a 5* hotel - and in most aspects it truely is. The location is, as stated, central; the facilities are as to be expected in a Marriott; the bathroom is clean and very comfortable. And food and drink are recommendable: breakfast is just perfect and a meal in the patio is very good and well worth the money.

Just: during the following days we discovered that there were rebuilding (or refurnishing) works going on. That possibly caused the tv-problems and gave over the days construction noises that are not 5*. At the day of check out we imagined ourselves in a ghost house: we were the only guests on that floor, the corridors were blocked by the complete furniture that was stripped from all the other rooms.

Even when we stayed there on a special rate: the management of a 5*-star accommodation should not assign a room in the middle of a construction area. That is the reason we only can reward 4* for this visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epo376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As usual Marriott provided an excellent experience. The hotel is very conveniently located about 2 blocks easy walk from the Cologne main train station. The Dom Cathedral is located on the other side of the train station. It is a must visit experience. Food at the hotel was good. Pia in the bar and Maria in the executive lounge were especially helpful. Rooms are clean with an incredible view of Cologne. Unfortunately, KolnMesse the convention center is about 2 miles /3 Km away and is pretty good walk from the hotel over the train bridge with equipment. You can take the subway one stop to KM Deutz to cut about a mile off the walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,302 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,189 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#5 of 260 in Cologne
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 260 in Cologne
2,034 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#14 of 260 in Cologne
1,301 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cologne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cologne Marriott Hotel

Property: Cologne Marriott Hotel
Address: Johannisstr. 76-80, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#4 Family Hotel in Cologne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#9 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cologne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cologne Marriott Hotel is located in the Cologne city center, just minutes walking distance from the train station and the Old Town. The hotel offers a versatile meeting and conference venue with sixteen event rooms, including two ballrooms. Perfect for your next weekend getaway to Cologne, Germany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cologne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cologne
Cologne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing