We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is certainly well placed for exploring Cologne, has comfortable beds and is clean and light. However, some of the lifts did not work and breakfast was a bun fight. We were in an adjoining room and could hear the man next door snoring all night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CologneMarriott, Manager at Cologne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Katherine L.,

Many thanks for reviewing our property and sharing your valuable opinion.

We are truly sorry for any inconveniences caused and will ensure breakfast will be much smoother even during peak times, as well we will allocate a very quiet room for future stays and avoid connecting rooms.

We are very pleased to let you know, that we have almost redone all our lifts - which are now running much faster than ever before.
As of Friday 8th August 2014 all lifts will operate.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and will make sure you will have a lovely stay.

For any questions or requests feel free to contact the Executive Office at any time.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    626
    149
    48
    25
See reviews for
221
612
103
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better location on this stay in Cologne. It's near the main shopping streets where you can find a nice mix of low end, mid range and high end fashion. There are tons of bars, restaurants and cafés within walking distance and a major train terminal with food choices if you want to grab a quick snack. Considering normal room size in Europe we were pleasantly surprised by the very large size of room. Comfy beds and very clean. Eat breakfast in the hotel if you want something to last you most of the day- the choice of cheeses, breads, hot dishes, fruits and pastries was outstanding. I don't like to wake early but this made it worthwhile to attend before breakfast was over. I used the workout facility and it was large, immaculate and empty. Lots of choice of free weights, a handful of machines and some treadmills and ellipticals. There's also 2 sauna choices for relaxation. Consider dining at one of the areas top rates restaurants- Beirut. A short walk and yummy food. All in all, a lovely hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Came late without a reservation, but was no problem. Friendly service, nice great room. Slept great as always at Marriott. Price was also good, location of the hotel is great altough a bit difficult to find by car. I also wished they reduce the parking rate for guests, so you don't have the feeling the car spends more than the kid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freq_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a very central location, less than 5 minutes from the central train station. The hotel rooms are modern and spacious. The hotel in all is very clean. Negative points are that you have to pay for wifi in the rooms, which I find unacceptable. The parking is also excessively expensive for 25 euros per day. You can park at the public garage next door and pay 15 euros per day. The breakfast buffet has everything you can imagine but you also pay a lot for it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MD211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossgates, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Perfectly located for a trip to Cologne less than 5 minutes walk from the central station.Excelent breakfast.My only complaint was no free WiFi in rooms . I don't want to have to go to public access areas just to check emails and facebook

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I've stayed at various Marriott hotels across the globe and the standard is consistently good. This one was no different. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The hotel is walking distance from the main train station. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. My only complaint would be that I would really have wished that the wi-fi was free for hotel guests rather than only being free in the lobby and an additional charge in the rooms.
I don't think it deserves to be classified as average but TripAdvisor doesn't have a 'good' option. I would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2mol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CologneMarriott, Manager at Cologne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear k2mol,

Thank you very much for choosing the Cologne Marriott Hotel as your home away from home and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us starting from the room itself to the staff and breakfast offer. I will certainly share your compliment with the team as this will certainly motivate them to continue to please and make all of our guests happy.

Regarding to your comment on the complimentary Wi-Fi, I can confirm that free WiFi is provided in our lobby, Executive lounge and the Executive package; still we will dicuss your point to improve our Wi-Fi services and offers in the future to meet our guests needs.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience during your stay and we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Should you have any questions or request please feel free to contact the Executive Office any time.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It was fortuitous that most of the hotels in Dusseldorf were booked, as this hotel was perfect. As usual, we got to know the mixologist at the hotel! This Marriott is a perfect location. Close to many stores, restaurants, pubs and main train station. Hotel was well kept and the rooms were clean and spacious. Very friendly staff from check in to check out. Staff had great recommendations on what to do and where to go while in Cologne.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,391 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,208 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,769 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cologne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cologne Marriott Hotel

Property: Cologne Marriott Hotel
Address: Johannisstr. 76-80, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#4 Family Hotel in Cologne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#9 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cologne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cologne Marriott Hotel is located in the Cologne city center, just minutes walking distance from the train station and the Old Town. The hotel offers a versatile meeting and conference venue with sixteen event rooms, including two ballrooms. Perfect for your next weekend getaway to Cologne, Germany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cologne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cologne
Cologne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing