We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Hotel Weber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Weber
Ranked #87 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Only 4 tram stops from Anuga, quiet tree-lined street, easy walk downtown, comfortable, clean and charming with friendly, helpful staff. Truly a home away from home. They speak excellent English, too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is just a 20 minute walk from the city centre, the staff was friendly and the continental breakfast amazing. The room I stayed in (34) is quite small, but nothing less than I needed, and the bathroom was new and very clean. I payed 89€ for a night, which is not few, but appropriate for Cologne I guess. I'd definitely stay there again and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avsecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was a much needed home away from home for us - saved our trip! When we arrived at the koln train station we had our daypack with passports, iPad, journals and more in it. NOT a good start to our stay in Cologne, and we were just about ready to give up and head back to Australia. We turned up tired and upset to the hotel at one in the morning, but were welcomed warmly and immediately felt better in our cosy, homey room with our own spotless shower and vanity, and an immaculate shared bathroom on each floor. The amazing friendly staff did their best to answer all our questions from transport to money to where to buy replacement electronic gear, and every recommendation was spot on, especially the best bierhauses in the old town! They really helped to turn our visit to Cologne around, from a miserable beginning to wishing we had a few more days to stay!! Thanks to the whole family and staff, you made a huge difference to our big Europe adventure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

First, I want to be positive: this hotel is just as beautiful in the lobby and breakfast area as the photos show it to be. It is on the same block as two fabulous grocery stores, which was such a treat. The free breakfast is very adequate. We had real eggs, kiwis, and delicious coffee. The hotel's decor is elegant.

We originally paid for four nights at this hotel, but we left after one (really, we decided to leave about one hour after we arrived). We stayed at the very beginning of July and it was about 95 degrees outside. There was no air conditioning and we were on the third floor. The windows only opened a crack. We couldn't even move in our room without sweating. You share a toilet (WC) with the entire floor. (If you are an American, you need to be aware of this, since this is not our custom and can be very unsettling.) We were on our honeymoon, so the whole situation was very inconvenient. We tried to get out of our last three nights, but the staff didn't speak English very well and we just had to pay and get out of there.

There is a shower and sink in the rooms; however, the rooms are VERY tight.

This is just not something Americans are accustomed to and I wish the hotel's website would have mentioned no air conditioning and no toilets in the rooms. It would have saved us a couple hundred of dollars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Travelling single, and on a budget, I chose this hotel with some trepidation. I couldn't have chosen better! The hotel in general and the rooms are super-clean, the furniture and fittings are modern and there is ample storage. Breakfast guarantees a good start to a day of sightseeing and the staff are helpful and welcoming.
If I was to pick fault the only comments I can possibly make are:
1. A box of tissues could be provided in the bedroom
2. More plug points in the bedroom
Hardly earth shattering problems in what is a hotel the owners can be proud of.
Other reviewers have mentioned the small size of the single rooms which is true, however they contain all I require and therefore served my purpose really well.
Should I ever visit Cologne in the future I will definitely book the Hotel Weber again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was a little nervous in choosing a city center privately owned hotel for my business trip. I can however confirm that in every aspect i was very pleased. This is a family run hotel with values and customer service you would like to expect. Very good breakfast selection, clean tidy room with what seemed to be a brand new en suite. Ideally situated for public transport and bars and restaurants. The owners were particularly helpful & spoke very good English. I booked remotely and seeked reassurance via email and telephone to ensure i did have a room when i arrived - on each occasion they responded in a timely manner. For a city centre hotel, the price was very good too! I will be booking for the time Next year! - Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very clean and a nice little room with a very good small price :). They are super friendly and try to help you if you have questions. Internet works in the room as well and is included. It is right in the middle of the City.

Room Tip: try to get a room to the backside ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#62 of 262 in Cologne
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Brandenburger Hof
Brandenburger Hof
#73 of 262 in Cologne
207 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Conti Hotel
Conti Hotel
#127 of 262 in Cologne
133 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#58 of 262 in Cologne
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber

Address: Jahnstr. 22 | am Zülpicher Platz, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £48 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weber 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small and friendly hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood in the very heart of Cologne. Walking distance to all the famous sights of our beautiful city centre. The ,,Neumarkt" e.g. in 5 min. The well known hot spot ,,Zülpicher Platz" is only 200 meters down the road. Excellent transport links to the central station/Hauptbahnhof (4 stops), university (2 stops), the Cologne Fair/Koelnmesse (5 stops), the Lanxessarena (5 stops) and our central location close to the shopping streets "Hohe Straße" and "Schildergasse" (pedestrian zones) as well as to our famous Old Town (Altstadt) make our hotel the choice for both business and leisure travelers visiting our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Weber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weber Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing