We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaiser am Wienerplatz
Ranked #203 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This family-owned and operated hotel was a great find! My fellow teammates at the Gay Games all stayed in fancy downtown hotels and were jealous once I told them what I had, at 1/3 to 1/4 of the cost of their rooms. Don't expect the amenities or the roomsize of those larger hotels. But, in their stead, you find clean rooms, free WiFi, a great full-breakfast (eggs, sausage {of several varieties}, bacon, yogurt, fruit, cereal, pastries, veggies, granola, etc., in a lovely diningroom. You will be attended to by pleasant and knowledgable employees, and if you're lucky you'll be able to strike up a wonderful conversation with the owners, which I did several times. While catching up on my emails in the conference room, I would look up and there one of them would be, ice cold beer in hand for me and a big smile. The public transportation system from Wienerplatz is a breeze: 3 stops (5 min.) and you're downtown. Within walking distance are tons of small local shops and restaurants. No mall atmosphere here. The rooms need some updating, and the WiFi isn't reliable on the seoncd floor, but those are minor inconveniences, and are being remedied as I type. Staying here made my time in Cologne a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainbowGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2009

Rude hotel manager and wife.

Squeaky, extremely uncomfortable bed and pillows, we hardly slept.
Further to this, the shower was not working properly.

Parking is said to be free, however we were told it was full and were sent to another parking we had to pay for (in my opinion it should have been paid for by the hotel).

And, as a coincidence (or not!) the credit card machine happened to be out of order as we were checking out and had to pay cash.

However, the hotel is clean but would definitely NOT come again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyRose09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Kaiser Am Wiener Platz during February Carnival time 01.02.2008 until 05.02.2008.

Upon arrival I was checked in by the owner in a friendly manner, his wife was also there, both spoke very good English. I was shown the room, and also where breakfast was served (from 0600).

The room was comfortable, warm and well maintained. The chambermaids were very helpful and discrete and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is well placed just 100 metres from Wiener Platz U-Bahn on the number 18 U-Bahn line, which takes you right into the centre of Cologne. There are shops nearby, Woolworths, Burger King, kiosks and a bank is right next door with a ATM, very handy.

The hotel is locked at night, the night porter is always at hand. On one occasion, the older short night porter on duty however, did not understand English and refused to let me in, however after some convincing, I was allowed in, I proved to him I was a guest. He needs perhaps a little tuition in English and also on customer service. This did annoy me a little as I had been staying in the hotel for 3 days and I was a little tired and the last thing I wanted was a discussion outside the hotel door at 0600 in the morning.

Breakfast was amazing, I made breakfast just once, there was everything you needed, continental breakfast even Sushi, I assume aimed at Japanese guests.

The decor inside the hotel was very "typical" and reminded my of an Austrian Tyrol style cabin, wooden interior very cosy and smart.

I arranged with the owners wife to stay a few hours after midday on check out day as my flight left at 19.25 that night, that was no problem for them.

All in all, a nice friendly family run hotel. Nice base for a relaxing stay in Cologne.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DiegoLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2007

Looks can be deceiving, and when I approached this hotel from the U-Bahn station (which is very handy) the exterior of the hotel looked in need of repair -the sign said OTEL for e.g.

But inside this hotel was a delight, with a large light,airy room and one of the best breakfast buffets I've had at any level of hotel.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming and spoke excellent English. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobDagoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

Easily reached hotel, U-Bahn Wiener Platz 100 metres away. Very good staff, the Swiss owners are always on the ball and there were no language problems. One would be pushed to find a better breakfast at this star level as well, if you cannot find something to eat from the vast selection on offer then then there is no hope for you! Rooms cosy, beds comfy and the plumbing was faultless. My only blackspot was at 2am on a Saturday morn when a bunch of Friday night revellers whooped it up in the street outside my room shouting and hoorahing, when they formed up as a male voice choir I'd had it! The racket lasted for 15 minutes before a bus took them all away but it killed my sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raffpolizei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2006

What a wonderful hotel. Such friendly personell that are willing to help with whatever needed. Bath-, living- and bedroom were okay. The breakfast was more than we could hope for: fresh figs, dates, salmon, fetacheese, different kinds of breads, cerial, vegetables and meat. 1 minute walk from subway. About 10 minutes by subway to Dom and city center. Excellent price-value.

7  Thank Arizonastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Mülheim
Hotel Park Consul Koln
Hotel Park Consul Koln
#60 of 263 in Cologne
411 reviews
Hotel Friends Koeln
#120 of 263 in Cologne
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel am Rhein
#108 of 263 in Cologne
70 reviews
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#52 of 263 in Cologne
222 reviews
Art Hotel
#191 of 263 in Cologne
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiser am Wienerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser am Wienerplatz

Address: Genovevastr. 10-14, 51065 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaiser am Wienerplatz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Kaiser am Wienerplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Am Wienerplatz Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing