We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth all three stars in the Crown”
Review of Hotel Sion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sion
Ranked #104 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Worth all three stars in the Crown”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Everything in the single room was working fine and was maintained well, although the furniture would be modern in the '80s. The bath room had an comfortable shower and the breakfast was very nice. Friendly staff. Biggest plus is the location. Excellent hotel for a short stay in Cologne.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbg6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
13
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I have stayed here twice, but I will try to avoid doing so again because it is hard to get an undisturbed night's sleep in the single rooms at the front of the hotel.
It has lots of good points. The single rooms are typical for Germany - very small and very clean. Tiny but functional bathroom. Very pleasant staff and breakfast is fine.
Noise is terrible - there is a cafe under the hotel that is noisy until midnight, you can hear almost every door slamming in the hotel and every noise from surrounding rooms - including visits to the bathroom. There are two churches nearby that ring bells at all times of the day and night.
We paid more than £100 per night to stay here during the September Kind und Jungend show - too much.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right in the heart of the main old town of Cologne. It is really close to 100's of restaurants and bars and right around the corner is the DOM church and train station.
We arrived by train, so i do not know about parking at the hotel.
The staff was very nice and very helpful. Our rooms were in-suite so they had their own bathrooms. The room was very clean and had great WI-FI. We faced the main road and on Thursday night we slept great, however on Friday night once the bar patrons starting leaving, it got a little loud, but nothing too disturbing. It is a okay pay-off for the location. the price was great, especially compared to some of the hotels surrounding it. I would stay here again in a heart beat. The breakfast in the morning was typical, soft boiled eggs, meats, breads and cheeses.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronMIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Krone on my first trip to Cologne. The location is great, walking distance to everything. The room was small but very clean and the staff extremely attentive. We would definitely stay there again on a future trip to Cologne.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

After reading the other reviews on here, we weren't expecting our room or bathroom to be on the large side; however, we were pleasantly surprised - while they may have been a little small, it wasn't as cramped as we'd feared. We tended to use the hotel as a base from which to do sightseeing and shopping, as it's only minutes walk from the Cathederal, the main shopping streets, or the Christmas Markets. For this purpose you couldn't wish for better, being able to go back to the room as often as needed to drop off the latest haul as one's arms begin to tire; once back in for the final time at night, it wasn't long before we got a good night's sleep (each and every night we were there), so we didn't require the extra floor space that may have been useful if we'd have wanted to practise a dance routine, or whatever else other people want to get up to who complain about the lack of room!

The staff, without exception, were extremely friendly and answered any questions in a knowledgeable manner; the breakfasts were filling and VERY tasty! The hotel was clean (but without the 'clinical feel' that many larger chains have. The only quibble that we had was that there was no 'welcome-tray' or kettle; although a bottle of water was supplied which could be purchased if required.

All-in-all, an excellent place to stay, in what must be one of the most beautiful cities in Europe. We're already saving up for our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LothianLad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My wife and me stayed here for a long weekend away to visit the Christmas markets. The hotel is small and very friendly and right in the centre of Cologne. We could see one of the markets from our bedroom window which looked beautiful at night when it was all light up.
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone longing for a perfect base for a weekend in cologne.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We had a magical few days, our first visit to the Christmas Markets.
Our hotel was in a perfect position, friendly staff, clean rooms (though small) and we were in the back of the hotel and it was quiet. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillippeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#34 of 261 in Cologne
87 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#48 of 261 in Cologne
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Lint Hotel Koln
Lint Hotel Koln
#65 of 261 in Cologne
95 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel An der Philharmonie
Hotel An der Philharmonie
#119 of 261 in Cologne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sion

Property: Hotel Sion
Address: Kleine Budengasse 15, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Krone)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sion 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing