We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
Ranked #156 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here for 02-nights (15 & 16-Feb'13). My room was like a rat hole. Though I had requested for a single occupancy room, but when I am paying Euro 51 per night, I atleast expect to be able to stretch my hands without touching the walls. The website says very close to the Cathedral, but in fact its a 15-minute walk ,and should you have luggage its more painful.
Website is completely misleading. When I went for breakfast on the morning of 16-Feb'13, there were no boiled eggs available in the container. When I pointed this out, I was answered in a high handed manner "finished", as if he had to lay eggs to get me one. I met only one person (a waiter) who could speak fair English. Rest were all sign language stuff and broken English. If this hotel is not for English speaking people, then they should make that clear.
I felt cheated.
Will never come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost. You have a wide choice for hotels in Cologne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KunalBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The mistake we made is that we didnt know it was Carneval. I mailed with the hotel several times to cancel the booking or to change dates, but nothing was possible. So we did go. When we arrived it turned out that the money was already withdraw from my creditcard. The room was ok but nothing fancy at all, totally not worth the 135 euro we payed for one night without breakast.
At nine in the evening we came back to the hotel and we were SHOCKED! The hotel has a restaurant downstairs that turned into a club! People were drinking, smoking and dancing everywhere and the music was extremely loud. We almost couldnt get into our room, it was like reaching a bar in a disco club at midnight.
Untill 4 am there was music with a very loud beat, like you were sleeping in a house with a big party downstairs.
The next day we saw the staff of the hotel and they didnt even apologise. Then in the evening the whole thing started again, we had to push ourselves trough the crowds to get into our hotelroom!!
We are a young couple so we can take some noise but this was totally not normal. We understood that it was Carneval but why would you give such a disco party in your hotel??
And the thing was that I coulndt get any money back because I'd already paid...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Good points:
The continental breakfast buffet was nice enough, with bread, cold meats, cold cheeses, fruit, cereal and the usual beverages.
Our room was clean and the bed comfortable, and had a massive television! The bathroom was also clean and a good size.
We were able to leave our luggage locked up in the luggage room, both before we could check in and after we'd checked out.
The best part about the hotel was the wonderful restaurant on the bottom floor! It is really beautifully decorated, with framed pictures covering the walls and a cosy atmosphere lit by fairy lights and candles - very Christmassy. The food is traditionally German (as far as we could tell!), decently priced and delicious.

Bad points:
My biggest disappointment was that our 'double room' had two single beds pushed together. I asked if they had any double beds available, and was told they did not.
Also, the room had an ash tray inside and smelt very slightly smoky, but because the room was well cleaned, the smell was only sometimes noticeable.
The hotel interior was very plain and quite 'budget' in appearance, and the corridor outside our room smelt slightly because there were WC doors directly on the corridor. Reception was nothing but a small office room at the top of the restaurant stairs.
The staff were rather brusque, but we put it down to 'Germanness'. Nevertheless, they were generally helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 17. It was basic but large, with a huge TV but two single beds instead of one double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel is on the west bank of the Rhine and is a 5 minute walk from the main station and the Cathedral.On my arrival the Reception staff spoke good English and gave me the option of paying in cash or by card.
The room was comfortable and contained the necessaries,though my(sole use)toilet was in the hall,which I knew when I booked.
There is a bar(open till 3am every night) and a restaurant with a large outdoorarea,heated if needed.I had one meal in the resto which was good but pricey compared to others locally.Great decor though
Staff were friendly.Buffet breakfast was much as you would expect but included in the price,and you get a great view of the river.
A couple of minor quibbles.One rickety chair and some noisy,squeaky doors,but all in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cologne,as I was,for the first time and wishing to take in the city centre in a couple of days.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

3 minutes walk from main train station,
On arrival at 11.30pm we were welcomed and given keys to room.
Bar, restaurant open till 3am...
rooms were adequate as only single travellers but had double beds in all 3.
bathroom clean
breakfast in morning was good.

Room Tip: it is quiet all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crawley_EnglandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Great value, location, service with nice view to Rhein in central Cologne. Very good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank documenta_hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#126 of 263 in Cologne
136 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Hayk
Hotel Hayk
#121 of 263 in Cologne
102 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#79 of 263 in Cologne
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel An der Philharmonie
Hotel An der Philharmonie
#117 of 263 in Cologne
98 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Buchholz Downtown Hotel
Buchholz Downtown Hotel
#71 of 263 in Cologne
88 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#216 of 263 in Cologne
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Lowenbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Lowenbrau

Address: Frankenwerft 21, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £69 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Lowenbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altstadthotel Lowenbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau Cologne
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing