We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
Nearby Hotels
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hyatt Regency Cologne(Cologne)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
15
46
25
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
46
25
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverheavy luggageminutes walk awaythe ground floorrheinkeysaltstadt
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Great location, poor hotel and correct restaurant, i think there is some more good options, very dark and small place !

Restaurant is romantic but food very poor !

Rooms are to small and noiso but location next to the river is great

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramonlluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I wouldnt stay here again. Stayed in room 316. Terrible damp smell in private bathroom. Noisy jazz bar and streets at rear. Noisy Workmen renovating rooms at 8 am. Dirty carpet in hallway between bedroom and bathroom due to workmen. If there was a fire = deathtrap as one way in and one way out. No lifts so if have trouble with heavy cases youll struggle. Within about 20 minutes i was pleased i was only stopping here for one night. They lock up at 3am by the way although if you ring the doorbell theyll let you in. Good location though. Near old town and walkable to cathedral and shopping area. If do decide to stay here it is out of the back of the main station and cathedral (river side), head right for 5-10 mins

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here for 02-nights (15 & 16-Feb'13). My room was like a rat hole. Though I had requested for a single occupancy room, but when I am paying Euro 51 per night, I atleast expect to be able to stretch my hands without touching the walls. The website says very close to the Cathedral, but in fact its a 15-minute walk ,and should you have luggage its more painful.
Website is completely misleading. When I went for breakfast on the morning of 16-Feb'13, there were no boiled eggs available in the container. When I pointed this out, I was answered in a high handed manner "finished", as if he had to lay eggs to get me one. I met only one person (a waiter) who could speak fair English. Rest were all sign language stuff and broken English. If this hotel is not for English speaking people, then they should make that clear.
I felt cheated.
Will never come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost. You have a wide choice for hotels in Cologne
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KunalBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The mistake we made is that we didnt know it was Carneval. I mailed with the hotel several times to cancel the booking or to change dates, but nothing was possible. So we did go. When we arrived it turned out that the money was already withdraw from my creditcard. The room was ok but nothing fancy at all, totally not worth the 135 euro we payed for one night without breakast.
At nine in the evening we came back to the hotel and we were SHOCKED! The hotel has a restaurant downstairs that turned into a club! People were drinking, smoking and dancing everywhere and the music was extremely loud. We almost couldnt get into our room, it was like reaching a bar in a disco club at midnight.
Untill 4 am there was music with a very loud beat, like you were sleeping in a house with a big party downstairs.
The next day we saw the staff of the hotel and they didnt even apologise. Then in the evening the whole thing started again, we had to push ourselves trough the crowds to get into our hotelroom!!
We are a young couple so we can take some noise but this was totally not normal. We understood that it was Carneval but why would you give such a disco party in your hotel??
And the thing was that I coulndt get any money back because I'd already paid...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews