We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff and spacious apartment”
Review of Hotel Hayk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hayk
Ranked #125 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“friendly staff and spacious apartment”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

we stayed at a 2-room apartment during our visit to Cologne and the room was very clean and spacious with daily housekeeping. However, our apartment was not located in the main building so we didn't have access to the WIFI. The location of this property was very central, just a few minutes walk to the cathedral and main shopping streets, and it is also right next to the river. There are many good restaurants nearby also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
41
18
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forshaga, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

If you're going with your whole family on vacation, don't choose this hotel in Köln. Our rooms were in a back alley and they were in terrible condition. We found cockroaches in the bathroom and the flat was quite shabby. If you're less than three people you get to stay in the hotel, if you're more than two you will be moved to these apartments.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mathdahl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My family and I stayed in one of the apartments in July. The location is very good, within walking distance from the main train station, the cathedral, plenty of restaurants, and very close to the Rhine. The apartment was clean and very spacious. The bathroom and towels were a little tired. It would have been nice if the apartment had had bowls as well as mugs and cups, cause we were a little bit stumped at breakfast time! The lady at reception spoke limited English and we spoke next to no German, but we managed to communicate without too much difficulty. Overall this was not the most impressive place I have ever stayed at, but it was pretty good value for money and we enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Excellent river location near Cologne hbf. Nice walk by the river to the hotel but challenging to wheel suitcases along the cobblestone paths. No lift so good workout carrying suitcases up the stairs to either level 1 (rooms 1 and 2), level 2 (rooms 3 and 4) or level 3 (rooms 5 and 6). 6 rooms in all. Even-numbered rooms have beautiful river view but may get noisy at night because of nearby restaurants. This is a no-frill, very clean and comfortable hotel, but no water or tea-making facilities, no air-con, and basic toiletries.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a nice river view at the lowest level, since no lftt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveningGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Without knowing it, I reserved a room at Hayk second time (after staying there in 2007). Our company had 4 people and we took one of the apartments (the one located on Lintgasse). First of all I want to mention an ideal location of hotel and apartments in the heart of Cologne historic town (points of interest, including Dom, restaurants, shops, central railway station, everything at hand) on the bank of Rhine. Our apartment was a fairly spacious flat, clean and neat, with two bedrooms and small kitchen (sink, fridge, microwave). Nothing special but served our purpose well. We didn't have the breakfast option but if you want you can have breakfast at hotel's building for extra payment. For those who can't live without internet - there is none in the apartments, only in the main building.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirilldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel is located in the old centre (Altstadt) of Cologne at the Rhein river. In front of the hotel you can sit and watch the river and some of the skyline of Cologne. It's also nice to stroll along the river, which is carfree. The service was good. The room we stayed in was nice with enough space. Breakfast cost a additional 8 euro pp. We decided to eat in the city. It's a very good place to see the city. The Dom (Cologne Cathedral) is within 5 minutes walk. There is a underground parkinggarage 200 mtrs away (you can't park your car at the hotel).
They have WiFi but it costs 5 euros. The downside was, that the connection in our (top)room was nihil.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment with teenaged boys for a visit to Gamescom. The appartment was set back a little from the main eateries, which meant that while we had the 'buzz' on the doorstep, we didn't have to listen to it all night.
The appartment was a no-frills, no-fuss but economical and well situated base to go and explore the local area from. The only downside was a temperamental shower - but it did provide some entertainment!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#117 of 261 in Cologne
129 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
#179 of 261 in Cologne
104 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#19 of 261 in Cologne
557 reviews
Hotel Drei Kronen
#65 of 261 in Cologne
146 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
XII Apostel Albergo Hotel
#83 of 261 in Cologne
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hayk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hayk

Property: Hotel Hayk
Address: Frankenwerft 9, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hayk 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hayk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing