We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to airport and rail”
Review of Hotel Geisler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Geisler
Ranked #220 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great location to airport and rail”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Only 10 minutes from the airport, and an 8 minute walk to the commuter rail line into Cologne. We booked here, as I was attending a concert at the nearby Eltzof hall. It was clean, reasonably priced, and the included breakfast, hot, with a good selection of breads, yogurt, scones, cheese,and so forth. It had a bakery attached so you could take away something for lunch.
The rooms were of a decent size and the bathroom, recently renovated, with room for two to get ready. Our room faced a main street, but it was not noisy. The staff spoke limited English, but recruited one of the gals in the office to assist us. The were very courteous. The price most reasonable. And, would go there again, always a ringing endorsement

Room Tip: Location in the suburbs is cost effective, and only a 20 min train ride into Cologne main train stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Britishcanadianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    13
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
1
5
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

OK, so if you want five star accommodation then try somewhere else. However if you want a clean, easily accessible place then this is fine. Nice, helpful staff, good breakfast. Only downsides were the curtains which may as well not have been there as they didn't stop any light coming through, and the Internet which kept dropping out. If this is big for you knock my review down to three stars.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Boxa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This one's a bit of a mixed bag. It had a number of problems, but the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located in a beautiful area of suburban Cologne, near the underground station and a shortish taxi ride from Köln Bonn Airport. The route from the hotel to the station isn't well lit though, so I felt uncomfortable walking back to the hotel in the dark.

The day receptionist was very friendly and helpful. She let me check in early in the morning, and gave me advice about the area.

The room was charming and the hotel had its own garden area where guests could sit at outdoor tables. The curtains were a bit odd, though - they were that style with the holes in, and I couldn't find anything that was supposed to go over the top of them. So I'm not sure how you're supposed to sleep once it gets light, especially in the summer when it gets light early.

There was wifi available but it didn't work on my computer. The day receptionist did her best to help me, though, and told me how to get to a cheap internet cafe nearby.

Their computer also wouldn't take my credit card (which was working everywhere else). The night/early morning receptionist was good about it, though. He took my address so that he could send an invoice to me to pay later, but this never arrived, so I'm assuming they decided to waive my room charges. I'm ranking "value" based on the price I was quoted at the time of booking, which was a bit steep for what you're getting.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwimusume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I'm at Hotel Geisler right now, paying for wireless internet (1 Euro an hour) and wearing half of the contents of my suitcase to stay warm in the 12 degree room.
The place isn't close to much, the furniture is worn out and uncomfortable, there is no heat source in my room, you can't even close the curtains to block out the cold air seeping through the poorly sealed windows, there is no hairdryer, no iron, no mini-fridge, and no satellite.
If you don't speak German, make sure you have a phrase book on hand. You can't expect everyone to speak English, unless you're a jerk, but still. It is difficult to deal with all of the problems presented by this hotel if you don't speak the language.
If I hadn't paid 90 Euros for a double, this wouldn't be a big problem, but you can do much better than this, I'm sure. Don't stay here unless you like being cold and annoyed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmacalpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
1.3 mi away
Art of Comfort Hotel Haus Ingeborg
0.7 mi away
Airport Garden Hotel Karsten
Airport Garden Hotel Karsten
#129 of 261 in Cologne
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Spiegel
Hotel Spiegel
#80 of 261 in Cologne
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jaumanns Hotel
Jaumanns Hotel
#83 of 261 in Cologne
56 reviews
2.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport
1.8 mi away
Akazienhof Hotel & Brauhaus
Akazienhof Hotel & Brauhaus
#141 of 261 in Cologne
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geisler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geisler

Property: Hotel Geisler
Address: Frankfurter Strasse 172-174 | Porz-Wahn, 51147 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geisler 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Geisler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing