We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Cologne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Madison am Dom
Ranked #154 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Madison on a quick booking. The room was clean and neat, but the beds extra hard, as well as the pillows. No central Air-conditioning and the days/nights were hot. It is convenient to the main train station, and easy access to the main sights of cologne. The Dom is a short 5 minutes walk away as well as the old city. Breakfast was OK, sufficient for the cost and style of the hotel. The front desk service was just OK, not much communication back and forth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed here for two nights. A big factor in choosing this hotel was it's location close to Cologne Central Station (Köln Hauptbahnhof), this was a plus for me. I cannot think of anything bad to say about the place but there was also nothing much to redeem it. My room was spacious but sparsely furnished, the breakfast was adequate but hardly inspiring. As an overnight stop it would be ok, I would look elsewhere if staying longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CE778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the christmas market time period the weekend before christmas and had an excellent experience. The hotel is located very close to the Cathedral and within walking distance from most of the markets. The room was of decent size given that it was for a family of four. The person at the reception was very helpful and accommodating. Parking on site in the basement was good as well at nominal cost. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shishir_ag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week with my family. On arrival we were told, by a very friendly and helpful receptionist, that car parking spaces were not available until the next day, although on-street parking was available at 1 euro per half hour. We managed to get a space in the spacious underground car park the next morning as promised. The hotel lobby was sparce and unloved, but the friendly staff made up for this. They even managed to make us smile when they said we were on the third floor and there were no lifts. The room was large and airy, with four beds and strangely flat, square pillows which were unusuable. The price was very reasonable though, at 90 euros per night for a family room. The whole hotel is in need of a make-over, but saying that, was very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, just a few hundred yards from Cologne Cathedral and the railway station. The breakfast was adequate, but the woman working in the buffet area was almost hostile she was so ignorant. In short, if you are travelling on a budget, this hotel is definitely worth a visit (although don't look at the buffet woman sideways if you value your teeth).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babsrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Well what an awful unhappy place to stay. The staff were miserable, the room dingy, the breakfast though plentiful felt cheap and again the staff were just miserable leading to an awful atmosphere in the whole place.
The whole place feels dark and in need of updating. The wifi was slow, and have I a good word to stay about this place? Well yes, it was close by the main railway station.
And THERE IS NO LIFT.

Room Tip: Can't help you there, my advice is find some where else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linisleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Good 2 star hotel close to train station, a fair price with a good breakfast. I ordered a single non smokers room and got a nice room on the top floor, 3rd floor. A simple but tasty breakfast buffet with everything one needed. Friendly staff and great location. Would recommend as 2 star Hotel. Very close to the kölner dom and main shopping area, lots of bars and restaurants in walking distance, I visit the Jamesons Irish pub in the Friesenstr 30 which only took about 10 minutes to walk to, great bar for food and Karaoke.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Decided to book a hotel to break up our journey from Austria to UK. Booked online chose this hotel due to underground parking, price and Internet connection.
Parking was fine secure, room was very basic, bit of a let down, but not too bad. No drink making facilities in rooms, and nowhere in the hotel to get one once kitchen is closed. Internet did not work and no one could work out why so not good on that score. In my opinion over priced, cost us more than a comparative stay in UK, but provided far less, that said in relation to other prices in the area it is cheap.
Staff were friendly, while I had some issues I'd still reccomend as it's not too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,575 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#19 of 263 in Cologne
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Lindenthal
Premiere Classe Hotel Koeln-West
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madison am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madison am Dom

Address: Ursulaplatz 10-12, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Madison am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing