We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse hotel in Germany”
Review of Star am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star am Dom
Ranked #215 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worse hotel in Germany”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If you want to spoil impression about travel to Cologne - book your stay in Star Am Dom "superior" hotel.
Just facts:
1. Fromt desk staff all the day long typing excelling reviews in internet.
2. No AC in hotel at all.
3. We had a room in basement,
Hotel is crude, full of insects and bad odors.
4. Rooms are very small.
5. Breakfast is poor and not a fresh.
6. In Dom area there are many other hotels - always there is a choice!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    58
    49
    40
    35
See reviews for
44
36
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was amazed I got this hotel for the price it was listed. It's right next to the central train station so I didn't have to walk far, it's also right next to the Cologne Cathedral and dozens of other historic sites and tourist attractions. If you're looking for an authentic German meal, don't go to any of the tourist pubs in the main square, there's a genuine German beer hall that's over 750 years old and it's a 2 minute walk from this hotel! It's called the Schreckenskammer and it's a must-see.

The rooms are nice and come with what you'd expect, the service and the restaurant downstairs is also surprisingly good. Would definitely recommend to anyone unless you have ludicrously high standards.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter where your room is, there's not much to see and it's not too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel was horrible, the room was 80 degrees F, no air conditioning (A/C). We booked the room that had a "city view" which was a major road right next to the window (only a walk way separated the street from the window). Having traveled in Europe, I am used to no A/C, the problem here is if you open the windows, there is no security to your room, anyone could hop right in, second people liked to sit outside the window and smoke, and there was the noise, loud traffic at all hours, including the police station around the corner. We were so hot we tried to deal with the smoke smell and keep the windows open that night only to be startled by a siren right outside the window at 1am. Please keep in mind this was in May, I can't imagine how bad it will be in the summer! The hotel smelled of smoke all throughout. The carpet in the room as so dirty I would not walk or let my kids walk on it barefoot. There were stains of some unknown liquid on one side of the bed. The staff didn't seem interested in helping customers in any fashion.

After a horrible night we were looking forward to the breakfast that was offered. I was afraid to eat some of the food as it looked like it was not its first go around on the layout. However hunger won out and I tried a fired egg, it was cold and hard. the salad was wilted and the cheese melted. We ended up waiting until lunch to eat!

This is by far the worst hotel i have ever stayed at. It advertises itself as a nice place to stay with nice photos (they have to be Photoshopped!) The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location, it was a quick walk to the Cathedral and many restaurants. However, this was not worth the trade off. When I return to Cologne, I will be finding another hotel!

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, do not book the "city view" room. The city view is a first floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfmoon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I visited the German city at Easter time with my boyfriend and Star Am Dom seemed to be the ideal hotel for us to stay, at least this is what I believed by seeing the pictures on the internet. The price was far higher than other hotels for the same dates but we hoped that it would be worth it. Not really though.

The room was far smaller than what we expected, the bed was not a "king bed" as stated on the website- there were two single beds instead- and there was no wifi in the room. Breakfast buffet was ok and cleanliness was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirene88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location is good as is situated just 10 walking minutes from the Cathedral.
We booked a Twin Room on the Third Floor. The decoration was absolutly minimalisim with Ikea beds and furnutures. Unfortunately we were situated facing the noisy main road. Dispite the double window, the noisy was horrendus during pick hours (7-9 am). Literally, the room was situated over a motorway. However, our friends staying in a room facing the rear side and they had a very quite nights and a very good view.
We tried to change the room but unfortunately there were no twins rooms available on the rear side as it was fully booked. However we can assure that the staff was helpful, fiendly and they were looking after of changing our room in case of any cancellation.
The full English Breakfast was not really "full" as there were not bacon o sasusages. Just fried eggs and full Continental Breakfast. But delecious anyway.
Price, not very economical but not ver expensive either. Good days off in general.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidClarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel and it's services was very different from the description on the website as well as incorrect information regarding it's distance from the fairground. Bellow is a list of the issues that I faced during my stay.

* The receptionist who seemed to be the only staff at the hotel was always drunk and unable to assist me properly with the issues that I complained about.
* The safe in the room did not work
* The sink tap did not work properly
* The room had a unclean stench and aroma
* The room was not serviced (made-up) even once during my entire stay
* The bathroom was not clean
* The heater did not work
* The WiFi did not work
* The Messe Fairground was exactly 2.9 Km away which is very different from what is described on the website
* When I addressed the issues to the staff at the hotel he simply replied, "This is not my problem. call hotels.com "

I did try to cancel my booking in the first morning, however I was told that I would still have to pay for my entire booking.

The conditions at this hotel were totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: you'd be better off sleeping in a cardboard box on the street than staying at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Don't expect high class.
However, everything taken into consideration, you get good value for money. Great location. The rooms are decent, and the service is really good.
Staff is super nice, and extra charges that you'd expect are being offered for free. Again: Great service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#48 of 261 in Cologne
676 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#72 of 261 in Cologne
180 reviews
Central Hotel am Dom
#211 of 261 in Cologne
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Brandenburger Hof
Brandenburger Hof
#73 of 261 in Cologne
203 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Drei Koenige
Hotel Drei Koenige
#164 of 261 in Cologne
114 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#106 of 261 in Cologne
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star am Dom

Property: Star am Dom
Address: Ursulastr. 4-8 | or Marzellen Strasse 58-60, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star am Dom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Im Herzen von Köln finden Sie unser exklusives 3 Sterne Hotel Superior Star am Dom, das nur wenige Schritte vom Hauptbahnhof entfernt ist. Entdecken Sie die beachtliche Vielfalt unserer Zimmer.Das Star am Dom gehört zu den modernsten Kölner Hotels seiner Kategorie. Es verfügt über 40 geräumige Zimmer mit Domblick in über 20 Zimmern.Mit seinem eleganten Interieur (Designer Möbel kombiniert mit warmen Farben und internationalem Style) und der modernen komfortablen Ausstattung (Bäder mit Fußbodenheizung / 32 Zoll LCD / safe). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Star am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Am Dom Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing