We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel 3 star hotel in central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Altera Pars

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Altera Pars
Ranked #106 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good hotel 3 star hotel in central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This hotel just off the Neumarkt in Cologne is a clean, well appointed three star hotel that serves a good breakfast. I had a double room (41) over four nights for single occupancy including breakfast at 65 euro per night. The room was simply but comfortably furnished. The bed was comfortable and the linens were of good quality. The bathroom had a shower but no bath. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of cold stuff as well as bacon and eggs. The Armenian family who run the hotel were exceptionally friendly. The Neumarkt is near and equidistant to most of the places you will want to go to in Cologne. The shopping areas are right there and the Dom and old town are about a fifteen minute walk. The one drawback with this hotel is that there is no lift, so if you are not sound of wind and limb the fourth floor is definitely not for you. Overall it is a simple, clean, well run hotel in a central location that gives good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    20
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
22
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

My friends and I had 3 rooms at this hotel last weekend for 4 nights and I was very pleasantly surprised by what we got for our money. Our main criteria were location and 'budget-ish' price and this looked to be a very good compromise. As such, I was expecting small rooms and dated decor for the price, but what a surprise, the bedrooms and bathrooms were all very nicely decorated and very clean.

On arrival our room only had one set of towels and the bed was made up for one person (we'd booked 2 doubles and a single). I asked Sarwen, the very friendly chap on reception, to sort it whilst we went out for a meal and it was without fuss.

The location is also excellent, on a quiet side street just off Neumarkt, which is a major transport interchange and the site of probably the biggest Christmas market in Cologne. It's also 2 mins to the shopping District and 15 mins for the train station and Cathedral. There are lost of bars and clubs 10 mins the other on the ring too, which was partly what we came for too.

The breakfast was pretty good too, hot food and not just the usual German stale lunch box affair.

All in all we couldn't have asked for more from a well located budget hotel with very helpful staff. I have stayed in much worse 4 star hotels!!

Regarding the previous (rubbish) review, I would say that the emails I got when making a reservation were a little curt, but I feel this is perhaps more to do with how Germans interact by email. The only thing this hotel could do better would be too have an online booking system that takes credit/debit cards, but don't let that put you off. The single room was pretty small too, but it didn't bother my friend.

I don't normally write reviews unless they're very good or bad, this place was truly excellent for what we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grufti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

obnoxious unhelpful rude staff when making booking
very snappy staff and unprofessional responses to my intial inquiries
Judging by the way they handle their telecomunnications I would not even consider this hotel ever again as there are so much more better branded , better located hotels in this lovely city
Be warned!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travebkaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

I stayed at the Altera Pars for 10 days in October 2008. Although this hotel is gay owned, it’s not a gay place. It’s ideally located, very close to public transportation and shopping, yet reasonably quiet. For 79 € including a good buffet breakfast, I had a room of about 13 sqm (140 sqft) plus 3 sqm bathroom on the 5th floor – no lift. A sign in the staircase says the lift is broken but it is quite obvious that there has never been a lift – I don’t know why they put it there. I visited the rooms on the lower floors, they are bigger and come for 95 to 220 €, depending on season and local events. The rooms provide all the usual facilities, minibar, TV, Wi-Fi, hairdryer, safety box etc. Everything is very clean. Late check-out was billed 10 € per hour. The manager seems a little grumpy at the beginning but he’s perfectly good-natured and runs this place well. I think it’s a good deal in Cologne.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, general value
  • Disliked — No lift... although it was probably good for my health!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank garmic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

I was in Koln during the low season so the price was great. Did not have a reservation, just walked in and asked for a room. The staff was friendly (gay owned I believe). The room was great, comfy bed, very spacious, nice furniture, great lighting, tasteful decor and excellent marble bathroom. The hotel had a restaurant on site, looked a bit odd so I did not try it, but the location of the hotel is 1 minute away from shopping, restaurants and public transport is a few steps away.

  • Liked — The room was fantastic!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Quique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Hotel Marsil
Hotel Marsil
#145 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
City Hotel Koln
City Hotel Koln
#204 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stadthotel am Roemerturm
Stadthotel am Roemerturm
#87 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Glockengasse
Hotel Glockengasse
#103 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
#71 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Lasthaus am Ring
Hotel Lasthaus am Ring
#124 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altera Pars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altera Pars

Property: Hotel Altera Pars
Address: Thieboldsgasse 133-135, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altera Pars 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Altera Pars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing