We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, great atmosphere, great food.”
Review of 4 Cani

4 Cani
Ranked #456 of 2,413 Restaurants in Cologne
Price range: US$7 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Altstadt-Nord
Description: Mood Food with the special ,,Cani Touch" A delicious range of Italian, Asian and Pacific dishes. Pasta, pizza, wok, fresh fruits, salads, fancy desserts. A fresh cuisine, ,,just in time" prepared for you. This is the ,,CANI FOOD". Fresh For You! A fresh and tasteful cuisine - this is the Cani philosophy. Everything you order is freshly prepared for you - just in time. Along with it have Italian coffee specialities, fruity or dry wines, Peroni, a chilled Italian premium beer, and refreshing drinks. You can have a fast breakfast with freshly baked focaccia, small snacks, light dishes, sweet, spicy or classically Italian, everything freshly prepared for you with the special ,,Cani touch". Welcome to the Cani World.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, great atmosphere, great food.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

4Cani, is a regular choice for us now, love the food, especially the Thai chicken salad, salmone lime, udon wok noodles and the
Tomatini feta. It's definitely worth waiting for a table to become free outside at busy times because it's a great place to enjoy a little people watching. Looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Hub_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    58
    32
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice place to visit with friends. It is probably too busy and loud for a date night, however. Good food. Friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Menu looks delicious but food was less than average”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

After a morning of shopping my husband and I wanted to try 4 Cani for lunch as we had coffee here before and it was very good quality coffee. But unfortunately the pizza was soggy, and the salad was very gritty like it hadn't been washed enough. I sent back my salad to get a different salad with salmon but was still not impressed as there was so much dressing and the salmon was fried. The menu didn't state it was fried on the so that was a bummer as I was getting a salad to eat something a little healthy. So it kind of defeated the purpose! Service was actually pretty fast for European standards and the waitress was very helpful when I returned my first dish. But it wasn't what we were expecting with how great the menu sounded. I would say skip it and try somewhere else or maybe just stick with a pasta dish as it seems they may specialize more in that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great people watching location, nice food”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

4 Cani always seems to be busy. It's in a good location and has a nice vibe about it.
The food is pretty good, but the service extremely slow...
Safe bet for decent food and atmosphere whatever the occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicew25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice fusion food”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Since some reviewers seem to have a problem with the food at the "4 Cani" I decided to add my comment too. We had two dishes of the Italian-Thai fusion food and we loved it. Very nice the meat in red curry sauce with spaghetti or the chicken with noodles or rice.
I was rather late in the evening in a cold November night and so there were only a few people in the restaurant. It was nice sitting in the corner and watching the various Italian landmarks on the walls. No way to "see and be seen" and not at all hip. But – ambiance is a matter of taste.
Very friendly service.
Prices just adequate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 4 Cani also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to 4 Cani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing