We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Frueh am Dom

Frueh am Dom
Ranked #33 of 2,367 Restaurants in Cologne
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Altstadt-Nord
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location, good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Situated in the shadow of the Dom, Früh is a great place to soak in German brauhaus culture. It's crowded and noisy and fun. We shared a table with a father and son from Austria. We had a great conversation and enjoyed the conviviality of the people and the setting. If you want fine dining or intimacy, go somewhere else. If you want a bustling German brauhaus, it's worth a lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    919
    332
    100
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great place - with a surprising service glitch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Food was great, location is great, atmosphere is great, place was packed with people.
Loved everything about it, up until I had an argument with the waiter at the end which ruined the evening somewhat.
Here's what happened: I asked the waiter for water. He brought me a bottle of sparkling water - when I realised that I called him again and said that I would like to have still water, and he ended up charging me for both! I argued with him that he brought the wrong one, and he argued back that I should have specified.. Was quite awkward.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank borsincka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Traditional Food, average experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Früh is one of those places that you go based on it's reputation and tradition. Reality is that there are much better places to eat traditional german food. Normally it is very crowded so it is difficult to get a table and when you get one, service is poor and slow (however they are fast serving Beer). Food is ok (nothing great), and of course, the recommendation is to drink Beer! Everything is well priced. It is almost in front of the Cathedral (Dom).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beto_Rios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Real food at sensible prices near cathedral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Looks a bit like a bar from the front but goes back a long way with lots of tables. Waiter service. Good selection of "German" food (lots of meat and carbs) with the most expensive item on the menu about 20 Euros. The locals seem to go in for a meal and drink and are out again in 3/4 hour. The menu has an English translation (of a kind). This is not fine dining but if you want good food at realistic prices then it's a good place to go.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pkpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good, well located and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Easy to find as it is opposite the cathedral.

The place is huge.
There were people waiting outside, we first thought we had to queue. However, we then saw people getting in and realised the people were just having a drink at the entrance.
So basically, you just get in, check which room have some seats and then ask the waiter dealing with the room if you can seat there.

The food is quite cheap and quite good. The potato dumpling was a bit on the heavy side. However, I guess the food is quite authentic taking into account the number of locals in the restaurant. I found the service very good and the waiter very nice
.
Of course, don't go there for a quiet romantic dinner.
The place is rather noisy .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iclss40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frueh am Dom also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Frueh am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing