We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Market Experience”
Review of Hotel Ludwig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ludwig
Ranked #93 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked late and couldn't get into our first choice but this small 3star hotel was a good find and we would recommend it. It is a short 5 min walk from Koln train station which is itself only 4 stations from the airport. The hotel is very well situated for a short walk through the station for Cologne Cathedral, the opera house, the concert hall, pick up for bus tours and easy access to the Christmas Markets. It is also close to the main shopping areas and the river. Plenty of places to eat nearby. There is also a taxi rank opposite the hotel which was handy. The staff are friendly and helpful (especially the waitress at breakfast). The breakfast was varied and kept well stocked up. All facilities were clean. The only reason we didn't give it five stars was that despite asking twice for someone to fix the radiator in the bathroom, nothing was done and the bathroom was particularly cold given the time of year. However, it was good value for money.

Room Tip: We were in Room 316 which was adequate but there are better rooms with larger showers. Our room over...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ludwig
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We arrived last minute and where greeted very friendly. There is 24 hour reception and very fat Internet compared to other hotels in the city and region.
We got room 408 with an impressive southern balcony to sit and enjoy the sunshine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is our third trip to Hotel Ludwig and we are always pleased with the accommodations and especially with the pleasant and courteous staff. The rooms are very efficient and comfortable and the beds provide for a good night's rest after a hard day of sight seeing and traveling. The breakfast is as the hotel, not ostentatious, and very good for a weary traveler. All the guests we encountered seemed to enjoy the service as well. I am sure out next trip to Germany will include a stay at Hotel Ludwig.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JaqueJaqueAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice hotel, very good position. If you did not come for GamesCom and booked it too late, I guess you can have a better rate (than 150Eur which we paid for double room per day, which is way too much for it). For a 3 star hotel, I have no complaints. Well almost... :). Rooms are clean and OK. Bathroom also. However, if the weather forecast shows hot weather, you will not like airconditioning (none present, if you do not count "Fakir" fan as one). I stayed in room 108, and would not recommend it if you care about room view (see pictures).
Breakfast is also very satisfactory with all necessary present. Quantities might not be sufficient at all times, but if you wait for couple of mins. all are refiled.
Stuff is indeed friendly, and always ready to help.
Hotel has no bar/restaurant, an no lounge. Mini bar is not in the room but at the reception.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrankiBrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This friendly family hotel is within easy walking distance from the railway station (where you'd end up taking the S-Bahn from the airport, too). It is an old building, but perfectly clean and "unsmelly". Service (24 hrs!) very forthcoming. As other visitors rightly remarked, there is no real bar, but a suitably large selection of bottles drinks in a large fridge by the reception, so you could choose your drink and take it to your room or have it in the perfectly comfy lounge.
Young people might find the ambiance a bit old-fashioned, but the price is unbeatable for a "real" hotel, and Cologne's livelier attractions are all within walking distance ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagTheBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were looking for a centraly located hotel close to shopping and sightseeing and this one has it all, we stayed in room 401 on the fourth floor which was very clean not very big but just fine for our 4 day stay, a nice balcony was very pleasant to sit outside and enjoy the good weather! the only thing i missed was a small refrigerator to keep our drinks cool! There's no carparking directly at this property but they rent space in an underground garage about 500 meters away! Driving in is very easy but driving out is another thing because of the very steep entry, i personnally sweated to drive out of this garage but i succeeded thank God! There is no restaurant at this hotel but there are a lot of good adresses around, the breakfastbuffet is....wonderful, everything is available...alle kinds of German bread(what i liked a lot!), cereals, boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon, lots of different cheese, meat, jam, fresch fruit and yoghurts,i wished i had such a tasty buffet at home served by the very nice lady who did there very best to suit everyone,Thank you for an excellent 4 day stay, you were all very good!

Room Tip: The 4 floor rooms have balconies and airco = very important because the rooms warm up very quickly!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in the Ludwig in May 2012 while attending an exhibition in Dusseldorf for 3 days. The idea was to avoid the expensive hotels there while only being a 30-minute (free) train-ride away.

The hotel is almost opposite the Marriot and 2 minutes walk from the main railway station in Cologne and not much further from the old city and the river-side, so very conveniently and centrally situated but nevertheless quiet.

My companion and I had single rooms on the 4th floor which were quite small but had all the necessary facilities for a business visit. They were clean and well maintained and had an efficient air conditioning / heating unit and satellite TV. Perhaps if the windows were opened a little more often the initial staleness would not be felt when first entering the room but that is a minor problem.

Free wi-fi was one of the reasons we chose this hotel and when we complained that it was not working in our rooms on the 4th floor it was repaired by the time we returned the following day. Similarly when I found a problem with the cold water tap in the basin in my room, I returned to the hotel that evening to find that all my belongings had been carefully moved by the staff to another room where everything was OK.

Breakfast was buffet style and not very exciting but it was enough for us before we set out each morning. The staff were very helpful and most pleasant in our dealings with them.

I am rarely in that area and when I am it is always on business so I would consider staying there again. On the other hand if I were on holiday with my wife I would prefer a higher class of hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms on the higher floors are nicest
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terryliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#97 of 261 in Cologne
165 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#167 of 261 in Cologne
110 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#72 of 261 in Cologne
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Brandenburger Hof
Brandenburger Hof
#77 of 261 in Cologne
204 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#73 of 261 in Cologne
192 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Buchholz Downtown Hotel
Buchholz Downtown Hotel
#78 of 261 in Cologne
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludwig

Address: Brandenburger Str. 22, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £83 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ludwig 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our privately-run traditional hotel is well-known for its individual service, its contemporary convenience, its hospitality and its pleasant atmosphere. The excellent location at the popular "Kunibertsviertel", just a stone's throw away from the main station, the Cathedral of Cologne and the famous historic old town makes the Hotel Ludwig an ideal starting point for Your Cologne visit. Our highly esteemed regular guests include corporate clients, business guests and many leisure travellers. Top Location, high class facilities, highest quality and individual service at reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ludwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing