We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Ranked #126 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This hotel is located around 5 minutes away from the main station & my stay was comfortable. However, the room was quite small . In fact, the bed was so small that a 6 feeter would not even fit in. The room had a locker & you need 50 cents to operate it every time.

The breakfast was small but sufficient. The location of the hotel on the bank of the river is awesome. In the evening the place would be packed with tourists & locals out for a drink & dinner. It can also get noisier at night if you are looking to retire ealy to bed.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank MaxDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 November 2012

If you're looking for luxury then you're in the wrong place, if you want a cheap place to stay in the heart of what Köln has to offer, then look no further, slap bang in the middle of a load of great breweries, great restaurants, on the river and 2-3 minute walk from the Dom.

The hotel to be fair is in need of a massive modernisation programme but if you just want a roof, a hot shower and a continental breakfast, Robert is your fathers brother.

It was very clean, very German and very good value considering what we paid in Dusseldorf.

This hotel has no lifts!

Enjoy guys, we'd used this again!

Room Tip: We had room 34, front facing with two Juliette balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

A simple but a good hotel, situated at the Rhine river, only a 7 minute walk from the railway station Köln Hbf. Excellend breakfast buffet in a wonderful breakfast room with view on the river. The reception is open 24 hours a day. I had a single room which was not big but very comfortable (small desk, central heating, flatscreen tv, own bathroom with a tiny wahing bassin). Seems to be the oldest hotel in Köln at the Rhine river. Only inconvenience can be the noise of passers-by, but they cannot do anything about this of course.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelgianWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week in september and had a brillant time! we booked for two nights and then asked to extend our stay for a further five nights and the hotel were fab about it. We were upgraded to a better room but at the same price and was very impressed. rooms are basic but for the money thats understandable!

The breakfast is included and we found it was good to fill you up with a large selection of breads cheeses hams etc.

the staff are friendly, there was a lovely lady on breakfast who always knew what we wanted to drink with breakfast and a lovely guy on reception who was so helpful.
the hotel itself is in the complete centre surronded by bars/restaurants and the river.

We would 1000000% recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to cologne.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have the best view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aabb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in one of the guest rooms with shared bathrooms.

Although the hotel is centrally located no one in town knows the street it's on (I speak German), so make sure YOU know where it is before you arrive.

The hotel itself is beautifully located next to the Rhine river the surrounding area is buzzing with restaurants. The general impression of the staff was not a warm one but matter of fact. The most ridiculous part of the entire stay was having to pay for the WiFi, this is a real inconvenience and if you depend on it the price per hotel night gets hiked up further. What made matters worse was that after about an hour of internet use the connection started slowing down to a trickle. Now had this been back in 2002 it would have been understandable but hardly in 2012. However this seems to be a common trick in hotels in Germany and Austria.

My room had a nice view, hot water in its shower, a functioning TV with a semi functioning remote control and was spotlessly clean. There was just one problem.
The shared bathroom REEKED(!!) of some kind of bathroom spray that was so strong it made you gag. This odour made its way into the hallways and what is worse partially into some of the rooms, including mine. The next day I could feel the smell haunting me and I'm pretty sure it had stuck to my clothes. The last night I slept with the window open as a consequence, which made the room very cold as this was in early to mid October.

As I understood it they had some form of machine that kept omitting more spray into the bathroom area, if the purpose of the spray is to cover up an even worse stench then that stench must truly be unimaginably horrid. I hope they fix it because until they do I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Because of the whole funky toilet smell in the entire part of my hotel I would not stay here again.

Did not try the breakfast even though it was included. Which is a bonus because prices were quite cheap for being Germany.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I was shocked at how close this hotel is to both the train station (a 10-15 minute walk) and the Rhine River (right outside the front door!). My room was in the back, so I had a view of Gross St. Martin Church, which is beautifully lit up at night.
But the price you pay for the location is in decibels, not dollars. The streets all around the hotel are lined with restaurants with outdoor seating, and in the evening the din is deafening--and on the weekend it's naturally even worse. Maybe it's a bit better in winter when you want your windows closed anyway, but in the summer you don't have that option, since there's no a/c! Of course, if you intend to join the party yourself, drinking German beer until 2 AM or so, this will be a non-issue for you.
Otherwise, the hotel is very simple, which explains the low prices. Room was clean but the rug was old, the bed was small, the shower-curtain was a bit flimsy. Rooms have a private bath and sink, but the shared toilet is in the outer hall, which isn't terribly convenient.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included) is in the restaurant downstairs and is VERY substantial: cereal, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, and lots of great bread. Hotel patrons get a discount on other meals in the same restaurant, but I never tried it out.
In short, if you're going to spend your days touring Cologne, and not hanging around the hotel, it's a great value. Just be prepared for the noise and don't expect a lot of luxury!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare45Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
#157 of 263 in Cologne
111 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Gir Keller
Gir Keller
#166 of 263 in Cologne
20 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#54 of 263 in Cologne
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Lint Hotel Koln
Lint Hotel Koln
#74 of 263 in Cologne
96 reviews
Hotel Weber
#100 of 263 in Cologne
116 reviews
Centro Hotel Kommerz
#84 of 263 in Cologne
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhein Hotel St.Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhein Hotel St.Martin

Address: Frankenwerft 31/33, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £48 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhein Hotel St.Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rhein Hotel St.Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing