We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff little dated but cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Ranked #123 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location and staff little dated but cheap”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Just finished my 2 night stay here in a superior double with a beautiful view over the Rhein. Room furnishing were old and dated and bathroom was just functional. As there was a major conference on this was the only hotel available. However the location made up for those slight negatives. Right on the river in the old town. I didn't have breakfast but someone else told me it was excellent. Staff were very friendly and even remembered your name which is rare nowadays. Would definitely stay there again but as cologne (Koln) has many great hotels I would try somewhere else if they had availability.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilescmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    54
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
7
31
54
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AMRITSAR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a very good located Hotel in the city of cologne at the river Rhine with excellent Breakfast. The location over looking River was excellent. Being in the centre , it was noisy at night. Walking distance just 10 minutes to Railway Station . Amazing view of River Rhine from our Hotel room. We would sit on in our room and just watch people enjoying their beer and snacks in the promenade with plenty of good restaurants. I do not think that one can find a better location for a hotel like this with this price in Cologne . It is only 7 mts. to famous DOM and all the attractions of this city is in walking distance of this Hotel. Finally I found this hotel fantastic and one should book this with confidence.

Room Tip: Always take a room facing the RHINE RIVER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RANVIRAmritsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Had booked this hotel and requested per email clarity regarding on-suite facilities Mr Martin Borys repied that our booking did not cover a on-suite facility and to have this he quoted a three night offer ingnoring that my booking was for 4 nights. He then had the cheek to say should I not be able to afford the higher rate then I should cancell. Well I have cancelled and booked into the Hilton.

Have only rated booking experience as I did not stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This hotel is located around 5 minutes away from the main station & my stay was comfortable. However, the room was quite small . In fact, the bed was so small that a 6 feeter would not even fit in. The room had a locker & you need 50 cents to operate it every time.

The breakfast was small but sufficient. The location of the hotel on the bank of the river is awesome. In the evening the place would be packed with tourists & locals out for a drink & dinner. It can also get noisier at night if you are looking to retire ealy to bed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

If you're looking for luxury then you're in the wrong place, if you want a cheap place to stay in the heart of what Köln has to offer, then look no further, slap bang in the middle of a load of great breweries, great restaurants, on the river and 2-3 minute walk from the Dom.

The hotel to be fair is in need of a massive modernisation programme but if you just want a roof, a hot shower and a continental breakfast, Robert is your fathers brother.

It was very clean, very German and very good value considering what we paid in Dusseldorf.

This hotel has no lifts!

Enjoy guys, we'd used this again!

Room Tip: We had room 34, front facing with two Juliette balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
327 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

A simple but a good hotel, situated at the Rhine river, only a 7 minute walk from the railway station Köln Hbf. Excellend breakfast buffet in a wonderful breakfast room with view on the river. The reception is open 24 hours a day. I had a single room which was not big but very comfortable (small desk, central heating, flatscreen tv, own bathroom with a tiny wahing bassin). Seems to be the oldest hotel in Köln at the Rhine river. Only inconvenience can be the noise of passers-by, but they cannot do anything about this of course.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgianWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Hayk
Hotel Hayk
#121 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen
#66 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
#179 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Drei Kronen
#63 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Gir Keller
Gir Keller
#152 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhein Hotel St.Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhein Hotel St.Martin

Property: Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Address: Frankenwerft 31/33, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhein Hotel St.Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rhein Hotel St.Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing