We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One toilet for four rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Ranked #118 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
lolololol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One toilet for four rooms”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

One toilet for four rooms!!! I raised my mark only because it's very gay friendly. Other from that, all numbers all numbers are very cold, all furniture is fifty years old. Walls made from toilet paper and on evenings it's possible to see a queue into the toilet. By the way, wi-if costs 5 euro a day for every device you own. No power plugs near beds.
But it's nice to start walking along Rhine's shore to Dom and to Cologne center.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank olololololololololol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    55
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
7
33
54
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Excellent location right on the riverside with great views over the river (from our room anyway).
We stayed 6 nights, the staff are friendly and welcoming and there was no problem leaving our luggage until the room was ready (we arrived at 9am). There is some noise at night from the bar underneath but that is to be expected given the location, the window blocked it out nicely and it wasn't too hot with the window shut so no problem there. After reading other reviews we expected the rooms to be dated, which they were, but they were perfectly serviceable and clean. Breakfast was very good. You can get 10% discount vouchers for food and drink in the attached pub/restaurant which we found to be some of the best food in the area, which is great as there must be 100 places to eat within a 10 minute walk! Would definitely return in future

Room Tip: Try to ask for a river view on the third floor. The view is the best in town and there's less b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the Rhein Hotel St. Martin in August 2013.
The location is great for sightseeing, and the cost is low compared to other large cities.
Expect a little noise from either the railroad bridge or the back alley, that faces a beer museum (basically just a bar with a large selection of beer...).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesper1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Just finished my 2 night stay here in a superior double with a beautiful view over the Rhein. Room furnishing were old and dated and bathroom was just functional. As there was a major conference on this was the only hotel available. However the location made up for those slight negatives. Right on the river in the old town. I didn't have breakfast but someone else told me it was excellent. Staff were very friendly and even remembered your name which is rare nowadays. Would definitely stay there again but as cologne (Koln) has many great hotels I would try somewhere else if they had availability.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilescmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMRITSAR
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a very good located Hotel in the city of cologne at the river Rhine with excellent Breakfast. The location over looking River was excellent. Being in the centre , it was noisy at night. Walking distance just 10 minutes to Railway Station . Amazing view of River Rhine from our Hotel room. We would sit on in our room and just watch people enjoying their beer and snacks in the promenade with plenty of good restaurants. I do not think that one can find a better location for a hotel like this with this price in Cologne . It is only 7 mts. to famous DOM and all the attractions of this city is in walking distance of this Hotel. Finally I found this hotel fantastic and one should book this with confidence.

Room Tip: Always take a room facing the RHINE RIVER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RANVIRAmritsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Had booked this hotel and requested per email clarity regarding on-suite facilities Mr Martin Borys repied that our booking did not cover a on-suite facility and to have this he quoted a three night offer ingnoring that my booking was for 4 nights. He then had the cheek to say should I not be able to afford the higher rate then I should cancell. Well I have cancelled and booked into the Hilton.

Have only rated booking experience as I did not stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This hotel is located around 5 minutes away from the main station & my stay was comfortable. However, the room was quite small . In fact, the bed was so small that a 6 feeter would not even fit in. The room had a locker & you need 50 cents to operate it every time.

The breakfast was small but sufficient. The location of the hotel on the bank of the river is awesome. In the evening the place would be packed with tourists & locals out for a drink & dinner. It can also get noisier at night if you are looking to retire ealy to bed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Hayk
Hotel Hayk
#117 of 261 in Cologne
98 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen
Das Kleine Stapelhauschen
#68 of 261 in Cologne
173 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
Altstadthotel Lowenbrau
#173 of 261 in Cologne
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Roemerhafen
Hotel Roemerhafen
#169 of 261 in Cologne
31 reviews
Hotel Drei Kronen
#64 of 261 in Cologne
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhein Hotel St.Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhein Hotel St.Martin

Property: Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Address: Frankenwerft 31/33, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhein Hotel St.Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rhein Hotel St.Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing