We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostal around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“best hostal around”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wonderful Hostal. Very helpful people at the desk. This Hostal has 500 beds. It is more like a Hotel. The breakfast is wonderful but cafeteria style. Plenty of coffee, tea and hot chocalate and fresh baked rolls every morning.
The evening meals are expensive and not worth eating. You can eat anywhere and get a much better tasting meal.
We had a double room over looking the Rhine and the Dom which was lighted at night. The building has seven floors and try to get one on the 7th floor so you can see Cologne and the Rhine. I have stayed there before, The train station is across the street

Room Tip: 7th floor facing the river Rhine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duepplestrasse5-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    49
    33
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
6
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Don't be put off by my title.
This is a youth hostel mainly but caters for traveling business people and families.
It was a bit of a surprise when I arrived, I didn't book it, my manager did.
We were attending a trade fair just around the corner so it was a perfect location at a reasonable rate. There are local restaurants and bars within easy walking distance which was just as well because there was no menu just one set meal for evening dinner. Breakfast was extremely basic but fresh bread, cheese and cut meats. I was transported back to my school days as I had to stand in line with hoards of kids and teenagers. With tray in hand I moved down the line, collected my knife and fork and moved on. The place was extremely clean but very basic rooms. You will need to take soap, shampoo etc as the tiny bottles they provide only last one shower and you have to pay for more. Internet wifi is only available in the lobby area at 1.50 euro for 60 mins. its difficult to work in the lobby with kids running around or you have to sit next to one of those annoying teenagers who has head phones on but you can hear everything. But to give some credit to the kids, they were well mannered and very quiet at night but I was on the top floor!
Its just a short walk over the bridge to the cathedral and shops if you get the time and like that sort of thing. The journey from the airport cost around 30 euros.. Now having said all that we will be attending the same trade show next year and would be happy to stop there again

Room Tip: aim for the top floor just incase there's any kids around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancsBusytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great location near Koln Messe and railway station. City centre (Cathedral) ~15 mins walk across bridge. Rooms clean. This is more budget hotel than hostel. Just recommend if you arrived for day or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deividukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for carnival weekend. Good location, only 15-20 mins walk to old town across rail bridge. Hotels in Cologne are pretty expensive in comparison. Rooms are basic with bunk beds, so if location and cost are your main drivers I'd pick this.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Schnatmeyer, Leiter Front Office at Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear DutchJoe,

thank you very much for your comment. We highly appreciate, you have taken the time to share your experiences. It is always a pleasure reading reading a guests comment recommending to choose us.

We do hope to see you back again at some stage in the near future.

Best regards,
Nicolai Schnatmeyer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I arrived late at night (11.30 pm). Could not see the hostel and was groping in the dark.
The hostel need to have a illuminating signage so that people coming from Koln-Deutz station can see it from a distance.

Had a quick check-in. The rooms are very basic and simple. The shower and toilet do not have soap or towels so do ask for it.
The breakfast is good considering its a hostel. The reception and kitchen staff were 'Very polite' which increases the comfort level.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hostel is more like a budget hotel to me. It is a very cold-looking building with a very sterile atmosphere. It is not social like hostels should be.
However the rooms were good (I had a double room on the 7th floor with views over the river and of the Cathedral), very clean, nice showers and comfortable beds.
The location is not bad, only a walk across the bridge takes you directly into the city.
Nothing wrong with this hostel, just nothing outstanding either. Was slightly expensive considering no free wi-fi (instead crappy communal pay as you go computers for internet) or great breakfasts.

Room Tip: If you don't like spoilt bratty 10-16 year old British school children, avoid in December, ha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The DJH Deutz is great for travelers on a budget for a city trip to Cologne, as it is short walk of 15 min by the Hohenzollern Bridge to the cathedral or by the Deutz bridge to Heumarkt. For concerts or events in the Cologne Arena (Lanxessarena) the location is superb. The equipment is modern for a hostel, the breakfast delicious (only up to 9 clock). Overall, a clear recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#51 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Hotel Stadtpalais
#34 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz

Property: Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz
Address: Siegesstr. 5, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing