We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Culinary Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bado La Poele D or - CLOSED

Bado La Poele D or
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Altstadt-Nord
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Culinary Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Visiting La Poêle d'Or was an absolute perfection to our 4-person trip to Rhine Valley cities. Service was superb, even when our mixed group was too agitated to start lunch in best possible mood. Everything which was served gave impression of perfection both in taste and in (sometimes playful) appearance. My brother and mother found veal as main course to be their best veal ever while I enjoyed hugely my guinea fowl. And of all the several extras: soup with quail egg was simply the No 1 soup of my life. From the beginning of our lunch to the very best end I must confess that overall quality of this restaurant is closer to 2-star ones than to the other 1-star ones which I have visited.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaakko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Yes, the prices are high. Yes, the portions are small. This is a wonderful little restaurant featuring absolutely wonderful haut cuisine, where high prices and small portions are the norm. The service is excellent, the selection is quite limited but very well done, and if those small dishes don't satisfy your appetite, make your last course the cheese selection. The cheese cart the wheel out is enormous, with an outstanding selection to choose from. I highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MKevinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is a real hidden gem and I didn't find any problem with the street, it's perfectly fine and runs just parallel to the main street. The staff are really friendly & professional, the restaurant and the menu may not be large but the decor is well thought out and the dishes are seasonal, creative & of a very high standard, far better than any other restaurant I have visisted so far in Cologne! The wine list is also very well though out, the German house Chardonnay was really nice! I think they recently won a Michelin star which further demonstrates the quality of cuisine.

If you have any requests or dietary requirements the team, from the front of house manager to the chef will do their best to accommodate your needs and make a real effort to make sure you enjoy your experience.

I'm looking forward to visiting this restaurant again on my next visit to Cologne and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4seasonsin1day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
305 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“La Poêle d'or (one* Michelin)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Small but lovely restaurant in the centre of Cologne. Just five minutes walk from Hauptbahnhof and Dom in the Komödienstrasse.
Prices are reasonable, thoud € 9.50 for a bottle of water and € 10,- for a single glass of wine is a bit too nusch I think. Lots of amuses in between. Almos too many. The chef de cuisine seems to be a showmaster. Tast/flavoures: excellent. Food, we had coquilles as primus and deer as main course were fantastic. Total bill: € 175 whih is really a good price for a lovely evening. Good, friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harry_puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb, refined, elegant dining.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Allow me to dispel some misconceptions about the area. The restaurant is situated on a quiet tree lined street in a good area of Cologne, 5 minutes walk from the main railway station If the visitor cares to look up and wander along the street they will be impressed by some stunning architecture.
The restaurant received three stars in the German food guide Feinschmeker. It hasn't been awarded a Michelin star as yet, but maybe that's a blessing because the food, wine and ambience, although not cheap offers the visitor a most enjoyable value for money experience.
A choice of a la carte or traditional menu are available. We chose the five course menu at 79 euros. Our taste buds were aroused by the amuse-bouche . The first was an oyster doused with a grapefruit granita - refreshing and delicious that really made us feel the intent of purpose in creating delicious food. The next offering: small cylinders of marinated fish, beef and foie gras were intensely delicious.
The first course, a salad of veal head with foie gras was intensely delicious. I can 't recall tasting a better foie gras dish.
The second course of langoustine and lobster on duck aspic with wild herbs was beautifully constructed and sumptuous.
The third course of Lamb and sea bass were delicious.
We then moved on to the cheese board: all were made from raw milk and with authentic flavors.
Finally, with our senses and stomachs content and bloated, we moved into the mango desert. Perhaps that was a dish too many for us as we didn't quite appreciate it.
The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. The sommelier was excellent and directed us through the evening. We tried some fabulous German reds.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sonomujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bado La Poele D or also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing