We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel for a Stay in Dortmund”
Review of The Grey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grey Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Grey Hotel. Location is great, right near the station and town centre. We asked for a high floor, quiet room, and the hotel gave us that. The room was simply decorated, light and bright, corner room, opening windows, spacious bathroom with everything working well. Bedding was clean and comfortable. Room was equipped with minifridge and coffee making. Free wifi was included in the very reasonable rate. We also indulged by having breakfast each morning. The breakfast room is large and bright, beautifully designed/decorated, and the breakfast is wonderful..plenty of fresh choices, including eggs (hot and cold). And the lady who looked after breakfast for 2 of our 3 mornings was so lovely!!

If we had to point out a downside, the elevator is very slow...but that is very minor. We used the stairs mostly, and the elevator is useful for the luggage of course.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area...all rooms would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jnjcoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Dortmund. The room was clean and functional and the buffet breakfast the following morning was great.

The only one constructive comment I can make is about WiFi. It worked fine in the reception area but not in the room!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Comet4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It's all been said. Very nice, clean hotel, minimalistic, literally two minutes from the station, very close to the shops and bars. Looks new. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good with lots of choice and the room was spacious with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and mini bar, spacious bathroom with walk-in shower - loads of room. My room was at the back so no noise from the street. I would stay there again, within my price range and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Presumably rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter than at the front where there is some traffic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Perfect location. Very friendly staff. Nice buffet. Very big and clean rooms. Its not very quiet but its okey for a bussines trip or shopping. The central street is around 50 metres nearby the hotel and its cosy to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeselaNikolova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Myself and two other girls stayed in Dortmund for 3 nights. The hotel was absolutely fantastic. A two minute walk from Dortmund Hauptbahnof, and also minutes from the main shopping area, bars and clubs. If you are staying for the Christmas market then again, a great location.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, took our bags when we were too early to check in, and looked after them on the last day until we were ready to go to the airport. All spoke fantastic English.
We had a suite due to there being 3 of us, the main room had a huge bed, and we also had another room with a single bed, there was a computer in the main room.
Great bathroom and shower. All very clean and well looked after.
10/10 - thanks very much, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed in the Grey Hotel on Sat 21 Dec, very close to the main station and a 7 minute walk to the Christmas Markets and the main shopping area. Room was OK, got a great night's sleep and the shower in the bathroom was efficient. The reception staff were very polite and friendly , they helped me with obtaining tickets for the football. The breakfast was great, just what I needed and the wifi is free. Will be coming back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfcmark100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have stayed in this little hotel for two nights in November 2013. The hotel is very well located, not only it walking distance to the train station it is also very close to the city center. The hotel is quite small, but the rooms have a very decent size and arevery confortable. Sometimes I heard some noise coming from the street (nothing serious) but in overall it is very quite and calm.
The breakfast is not a massive one, but you will not leave feeling hungry.
The staff was very friendly and would defenitely recommend this hotel for a short stay in Dortmund.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EUAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#4 of 54 in Dortmund
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
stays design Hotel Dortmund
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
1.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey Hotel

Address: Schmiedingstr. 11 - 13, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range: £70 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Grey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing