We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Reviewed 12 December 2010

If you're looking for a simple hotel that's a good value and in a convenient location, this is a great choice. Room was clean, but furnishings (dark wood) look a bit dated. It's very close to the shopping area and an easy 5 minute walk to the train station. My single room was small, but had space to leave my suitcase on the floor and closet and shelves to store my clothes. There was a small desk with free wireless access in the room. There were also several computers in the lobby for guests to use. The hotel serves a very nice breakfast buffet -- selection of cereals, rolls, meats, cheese, spreads, juice, tea...even eggs and sausages.

A previous reviewer complained that the lobby and rooms smelled of smoke. I am sensitive to that and was a bit concerned, but I had no such problems. The lobby was small, but clean -- with a no smoking sign and no ashtray in sight. My room was also a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor. I didn't smell a single cigarette during my 2-night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2010

My work was in Essen and I stayed in Dortmund and the hotel offers excellent access to the DB for travel to Essen as well as the international airport of Düsseldorf.

The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and made a wonderful arrangement for me for a business meeting.

It was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurvin_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The hotel is very centrally located just by the rail station.The room was rather small and the furniture seemed to be from the sixties.Otherwise it was OK,friendly staff and very good breakfast.The price was very reasonable.For that price I didn't expect anything luxurious.All in all I enjoyed my stay there

Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
Thank Kjelloslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The hotel itself is located very close to the main train station (Hauptbanhof) and can be easily reached on foot (less than 5 mins walking).
It is quite old hotel with relatively small rooms. I got a room on second floor, bedroom was like 10 sqr meter, and bathroom had the same size!
Pros: very good location, the city center can be reached on foot, by 5 mins walking at the direction behind the hotel. Very friendly staff, most of them can speak average english. Breakfast was very good, fresh and tasty and was served until late (10 am and 11 on sundays). Free wireless internet also available at all rooms
Cons: small rooms, and the fact that this is a smoker-friendly hotel, and all areas, rooms included smell. A bit overpriced also.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

booked through deutsche bahn webpage.
Staff are extremely friendly and helpful; very good breakfast, easy reach to station; Despite everything looking a bit dated - very pleasant stay for one night in very clean room. Highly recommendable

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marlfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

My flight landed late at night at Dortmund Airport and all trains i could take were already gone. This hotel was my saviour - it is situated only a few hundred meters away from Dortmund's main train station and thus also within a few of Dortmund's sights and easily walkable. I came late and left very early, but in both instances the staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was not too small (i had a double room for the price of a single), the bathroom facilities were clean, and breakfast was good as well. All in all a good hotel for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie_eu_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Konigshof in Dortmund during our trip to the Christmas Markets in November '05. The hotel is in a great location - just a few minutes walk from the main shopping areas and the markets themselves. Our room was a good size, clean and warm. Breakfast was included in our rate and set us up each morning for the day ahead. The staff were friendly, excellent English-speakers and kindly tolerated our faltering attempts to speak German. One tip - book parking in the hotel's garage in advance as space is limited.
As for Dortmund itself it's a great city and the snowfall gave it a real Christmas feel. If you like your bratwurst & gluhwein then this is the time & place for you ! - just expect to go on a pre-Christmas diet when you return home !!

1  Thank Travelling_Ryders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#4 of 56 in Dortmund
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
0.3 mi away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#8 of 56 in Dortmund
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
stays design Hotel Dortmund
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
1.4 mi away
Dorint An den Westfalenhallen Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: Koenigswall 4-6, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range: £60 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 metres from Dortmund Train Station, this 3-star hotel is located at the beginning of the main pedestrian area. It offers modern rooms with flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and full buffet breakfasts.The Hotel Konigshof garni has individually furnished rooms with soundproofed windows, minibar, and laptop safe. A hairdryer and cosmetic mirror can be found in each bathroom.Packed lunches and coffee-to-go are provided for guests checking out before 06:00. A wide range of restaurants and bars are less than a 10-minuteThe Hotel Konigshof's reception is open 24 hours a day. Guests are allowed to use the internet terminal in the lobby for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Dortmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing