We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wrong charge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I booked two rooms for two nights through Booking.com. They requested a credit card number which was meant to be as guarantee only and not as pre-payment or deposit and this was written in the booking confirmation. We had the unpleasant surprise to find out that, despite the written confirmation "no prepayment, no deposit" our credit card was charged at the moment of the booking, some 10 days before arrival!
We contacted Booking.com and they explained that one of the employees of the hotel made a mistake with our reservation and took it for a "non refundable-prepaid" one. I wonder how these "mistakes" can happen in a world of automatized, computer-driven systems?
In the end, the hotel offered to refund the money on the credit card that was charged, which is only half a solution as then we would be compelled either to travel to Dortmund again and pay cash, or send a bank transfer.
I am sorry to have to say that I consider this hotel unreliable.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank valentina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear valentina c,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience due to the issues regarding your reservation. However, I am glad that this matter was addressed in a timely manner. Your review will be used to improve our service and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here before, and always liked the rooms, the breakfast, and the good restaurant next door. However with the last stay I booked a "Room with internet", and prepaid for it. At check in I was told, that I still have to pay 15 EURO for the internet, because the cheaper prepaid rate does not include the internet charge. "Room with Internet" only means, that there is a connection... sorry, but that is deluding the customer

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Urs H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to read you like our rooms and breakfast. However, I apologize for the issues you encountered and internet policy you experienced which was less than satisfactory. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. Your comments have been documented and this allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Pleasant hotel with modern furnishings, comfortable rooms, a cultural staff. Positioned in a quiet place. Very tasty breakfast (croissants, cheese, cold cuts, salads, juices, milk, coffee ...). For the price offered was excellent, especially for business travel.
Dortmund as the city is very nice, quiet and full of greenery. It is worth visiting.

Room Tip: Maybe on 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We were in Dortmund for the Borussia Dortmund match on 25th Jan 13. They won!!
Lovely comfortable hotel on the outskirts of town near to the Airport (15euros in a taxi) Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms and an added bonus of free continental breakfast served from 6.30am. Helpful staff who let us check in at 10.30am because our room was vacant. Our son had a fold out sofa bed which looked really uncomfortable but was in fact very comfortable!
It takes about 10 minutes to get into town on the metro (Statsbahn) - hauptfriedhof station/line U47 is 2 minutes walk from the hotel - Get on on the stadtmitte side and get off at Kamp Strasse for the city centre shops or change at stadtgarden/ getting on to the U45 for Westfahallen and the Stadium (Signal Iduna Park).
When you come back head to Aplerbeck. The underground works on the honour system. You buy a ticket at the machine 2.50e for adults 1.50e for kids for a single journey (however far you travel) or you can get an all day ticket. You need to authorise your ticket at the little machine next to the big ticket machine.
The stadium takes about 25 minutes from the hotel with a change at stadtgarden.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtkinsMJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is exactly what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The check-in was quick and easy with very courteous, helpful and knowledgable staff. The room was clean and comfortable.
The hotel lacks a restaurant for evening meals, but there is a good restaurant 100yds away.
Breakfast was good, not teriffic, just good. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is maybe not the place to stay when on a city trip in Dortmund, but it is definitely the place to sty between flights. Close to the airport (less than 10 min by taxi), friendly and multilingual staff, excellent customer service attitude.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, no matter which you take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jukka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stopped here on our way to Prague from Calais. The room was clean, bright and airy, if a little cramped with 2 extra beds for the children. The service at reception was excellent, and the breakfast was great - wide selection and choice.
There is a tram stop about 3 mins walk away, with trams direct into the center of Dortmund.

Overall, we were impressed - it was just what we needed to break up our long journey

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hectorshouse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.4 mi away
stays design Hotel Dortmund
3.2 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#2 of 56 in Dortmund
122 reviews
3.6 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dorint An den Westfalenhallen Dortmund
2.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dortmund

Address: Moskauer Str. 1, 44269 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range: £59 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dortmund 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Getting to the modern Holiday Inn Express Dortmund is a breeze. We're just 7.5km from Dortmund International Airport and close to the B1 for access to Dortmund city centre. Linger over a generous complimentary buffet breakfast in our vibrant great room and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the airy lobby. Host your event in one of Holiday Inn Express Dortmund's 2 meeting rooms and feel free to make use of our 24-hour self-service Business Centre. Conveniently located within Stadtkrone Ost business park, we're just steps from major companies like IBM, Adesso and 6.5km from Westfalenhallen Trade Fair. The A1 and A44 motorways are within 3km and we have ample parking on site. It's a minute's walk to Hauptfriedhof station, from where U-Bahn trains speed you to Dortmund City Centre in just 20 minutes. Visit lake-dotted Westfalenpark and pause for refreshment in a cozy Old Town brewpub. Discover Dortmund's passion for football at a Bundesliga match in the famous Westfalenstadion, 5km from the hotel. Meet and mingle over drinks on Moonlight Bar's leafy terrace at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund. Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is happy to recommend local restaurants or order takeaway food for you to enjoy in your comfortable guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund Hotel Dortmund
Holiday Inn Dortmund
Dortmund Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing