We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money it was great”
Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Arrived late and the receptionist was great. Secure parking easy to find and leads straight to reception. Lovely bar area, good choice at breakfast. Rooms were very adequate and you even got slippers and bathrobe. Room was clean and very comfortable. probably a bit dated but to be honest was so tired I did not notice. Would stay again. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Esplanade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

Not the best, not bad. Worst ever fitness facilities. Has sauna. room quite small, not super clean, a bit dated.
Location is alright. Probably would not recommend as I'm sure there would be a better place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bean_ari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Overall this is a good hotel. Close to the city center, clean, and modern. A bit overpriced for what you get. There are several better hotels in Dortmund to a cheaper price. Take a look at them first, before you book here. But all in all we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank NorwegianTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Suspect this hotel is in the process of going through a facelift... The reception and restaurant feel new, modern and stylish. The rooms were perhaps also modern and stylish in the 1970s but not in 2008. They are not shabby but just not at all up to date (except the flatscreen TV). Carpets are a bit worn. The bathrooms are various shades of brown and beige with the occasional floral detail. Got the picture? Breakfast is quite good, especially the heavy German bread.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dr-dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and there isn't a single thing I would change about it. This family owned and operated hotel is absolutely wonderful! The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are big and bright and very clean, and the restaurant is awesome! Next time we're in Germany, we will return to Dormund just so we can stay at this hotel again. I highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SJRM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank GuKaIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatjaKortmann, Inhaber at Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#5 of 54 in Dortmund
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
0.6 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Address: Burgwall 3, 44135 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Akzent Hotel Esplanade)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range: £90 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately run hotel with 83 rooms, which is only 5 minutes from the German Football Museum and only 10 minutes on foot from the railway station. Our strength is that we have two different room categories.   Our first class rooms are all furnished as double rooms and have a minimum size of 23 sqm. These have been completely re-installed in 2007 and are characterized by a very high level of comfort such as, for example, Air conditioning, coffee and tea making facilities, LCD TV and a large desk.   Our standard single rooms are about 16 square meters and equipped with LCD TV, 1x1 meter mattress and mini bar. The new bathrooms in all standard rooms are positive. In summer 2017 the standard rooms were renovated and equipped with air conditioning. A chic industrial design with many extras will surprise the guest.   Furthermore we have a small wellness area with Finnish sauna and fitness room as well as 4 meeting rooms, which have direct access to our Mediterranean courtyard. Our advantage is that the guests have free Internet and can park on one of our 36 parking spaces for 9,00 Euro per day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Dortmund
Dortmund Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing