We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel well located”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel well located for wandering around Dortmund. Reasonably priced, well appointed and clean robins with good staff. It's difficult to find fault with this little hotel . Located near to a couple of good coffee shops for breakfast and near to plenty if bars and and restaurants without being on top of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazytoad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    183
    75
    17
    15
See reviews for
43
95
66
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Mercure Hotel Dortmund City for 2 nights in August 2013, as a Bank Holilday getaway. The room was very reasonably priced and, comparatively, did not disappoint. It was basic, but comfortable, clean, easy to find and in a perfect location. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackier333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kornwestheim
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The room (which was of reasonalbe size) had very comfortable beds and a well-equipped bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. The location is very convenient for the city centre and station. The only slight quibbles are that the rooms and reception can only be reached by two lifts, so there was sometimes a queue to get in and out of the place. Also, there was a steady stream of noisy people passing by in the night, so (depending on which side of the building one is) it is advisiable to close the window,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vi_OletKWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for business and it is conveniently located, but lacks amenities one expects from a hotel. First, they do not have their own parking garage- you need to use the public garage around the corner. If you come in late to the garage, you need to use an intercom to request the hotel opens the gate for you. The most important inconvenience is they DO NOT have a safe in the room. The water pressure is non existent and hot water even worse. I would get up at 0700 and turn on the water to hot full over. The water would be hot for a minute then go, at best, lukewarm. The water pressure would drop off after a minute. I could not believe I was staying in a modern hotel. I was on the top floor- do not know if that had anything to do with it. I skipped the breakfast- way too expensive for what they offer. Easier to eat at a local café. You need to access the hotel via an elevator, which is almost the slowest elevator ever made. The desk clerks were nice so that is a plus. They do not replace the complementary toiletries if you use them- so go easy on them. I would prefer the NH hotel across the street. I had stayed there and feel it is way better, plus they have their own parking garage- but tight for large cars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Typical Mercure hotel, clean comfortable rooms. Location is good also as it is very close the the Main Train Station and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dortmund.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

i have stayed here a couple of times whilst on business in Dortmund. The hotel is right next to the Kampstrasse u-bahn, and very handy for the city centre.
However, to get to it you get in a choice of two small, very slow, lifts at the entrance to a shopping centre. Check-in is fine and the reception staff always friendly and polite, but if you feel like a beer before heading out the bar area is soulless, and is really a collection of chairs next to reception.
The breakfast was perfeclty acceptable, with the usual array of cold meats, cheeses, fruit etc, plus a small hot selection of the typical sausage, (solid) scambled egg, etc.

However, the bedrooms - i have stayed in two rooms, on different floors so i am sure it is not a coincidence. The thermostat seems to be purely for decoration, and the room temperature is about 23-24 degrees. This is too hot for comfort for me. The only option is to open the window, which means the room is noisy as both times i have been facing the main street.

The bedrooms themselves are functional - clean and modern, although not particularly big However, as i am only usually in it for about 7 hours i don't really mind.

In summary, if you want a hotel right in the city centre, and like to be really warm at night, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing on the courtyard, not the street. But even then there is a bar below you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellyfish_Electric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.8 mi away
Stay City Design Hotels Dortmund
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
0.2 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#7 of 54 in Dortmund
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
1.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Dortmund City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Dortmund City

Property: Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
Address: Kampstr. 35-37, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Dortmund City 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Mercure Dortmund City has 82 rooms and is located in the centre of the city. The modern hotel offers WLAN, a cosy bar and a meeting room for up to 45 people. It is a 5 minute walk to the main train station, museums, the concert hall and many other attractions. Convenient public transport takes you to Westfalenhalle events hall and Westfalenstadion stadium. The hotel is an ideal base for business and tourist activities in and around Dortmund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Dortmund City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dortmund City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing