We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Faith”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Duesseldorf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Duesseldorf
Ranked #13 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Faith”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Melia Dusseldorf is a fine hotel. All the services and amenities are worthy.
But....My experience with the reservations and desk was nadir. My parent company recieved a discounted room rate for booking a large number of rooms. At every phase of communication with Melia staff, I reminded them of my inclusion in this discounted rate. From reservation to check in on day of arrival, I made this clear and was never questioned.
Yet, at time of check-out, they presented not only a full room charge, but they informed me I had stayed in a "premium" room; I was never informed of this involuntary upgrade.
The end result was a Euro 115 per night increase on the agreed upon rate.

I have handed the matter over to American Express to resolve.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schluechtermann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you liked the hotel, as well as the services and amenities.
We hereby would like to apologize for the disagreement regarding your room rate.
We would very much like to follow up on this matter and would appreciate if you could get in contact with us.

With kind regards,

Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Duesseldorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    346
    98
    26
    22
See reviews for
54
270
47
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

If you are looking for a value for money business stay then the Melia fits the bill. It is an uninspiring hotel with relatively small but functional rooms the bar and general ambience of the place is ok but nothing special. You may have to pay a little more but the Hilton, Intercontinental or if you don't mind the price the Hyatt are worth considering as an alternative.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Nothing spectacular. Room was small, no english TV other than financial channels, had to ask very nicely for a Nespresso Machine for my room. Then had to ask 3 times for coffee for the machine. Good sauna, good location, subway around the corner, pleasant staff, but all in all, just average. Hotel lacks personality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siam-Orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Our family of 3 adults and one child stayed one night in mid Dec to visit the Christmas markets. The location was really handy for us: next to Hofgarten park with a good playground for our little one, quiet area, a 5-10 min walk through the park to the city centre (Christmas markets, brew houses and shopping). Room service was fast and the food was good. Staff were friendly and helpful - as one would expect. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I paid extra for the wifi, but that was only slightly better than the free one. I love hotel breakfasts, but I couldn't bring myself to dish out €100 for the four of us to have breakfast. We took a short walk and found Bazaar Cafe on Heinrich-Heine-Allee - excellent!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank k_in_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed overnight on a business trip; upon check-in the desk agent complained that our assistant didn't give our names up front. (Their phone number goes to a call center and the person did not request names for a group booking). Unsure how complaining to a guest would resolve such an issue but regardless...The room itself was lovely with a nice view, but I was forced to get up earlier than expected (around 8:30am) due to a scared looking maid knocking on my door and insisting that the room needed to be cleaned. Went up to breakfast where there was absolutely no service, only some petulant looking ladies who appeared bothered when I dared to ask for the location of the milk. However, the breakfast itself was quite good. Will I stay there again? Unsure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorks
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, even when we booked in late. We had gone to see the Christmas markets, The main reason for choosing this hotel was the location, around a 10 minute walk from the Altstadt, reasonably close to the main railway station, less than 10 euro taxi fare. The hotel was what I expected from one in the Melia group although I thought the breakfast was expensive, for this reason we did not take up this option, choosing to find a cafe instead. The bed was a bit on the hard side. All in all a reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorksTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is a great hotel. The rooms are clean and updated and has a very modern edge to it.
One of the best things about this hotel was the breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet style, however it was delicious, lots of different foods to choose from and they even had Kumbucha tea - I told you it was modern! The other great thing about this hotel was the location. It is situated directly next to the 'Hofgarten', the oldest public park in Germany. A quick nice walk through the park and you are in the heart of the altstadt or Old Town. there are some terrific bars and restaurants in old town as well as some great breweries.
The staff was friendly and attentive, a bit rigid at times, but for the most part friendly and welcoming.
One negative was the downstairs / lobby bar. It was never really open when it was open it was sporadic. It posted that it would be open at 4 but it rarely was then it wouldn't be open at all. Instead they told you to sit in the restaurant for service, however that didn't have the same relaxing atmosphere.
Over all this was a great place and I very much look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaronMIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 236 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Duesseldorf

Property: Melia Duesseldorf
Address: Inselstr. 2, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#20 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#21 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Duesseldorf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing