We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable beds and good location”
Review of Melia Duesseldorf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Duesseldorf
Ranked #13 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesloch, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds and good location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel has a very good location. We could walk to many tourist attractions, it is right next to the park, and the S-bahn and U-bahn are about a block away from the hotel. The hotel parking is expensive (in my view). However there is street parking that is free with no time limit in the evenings (before 0900 and after 1700 weekdays).

The food in the restaurant is very good, the services is nice, and the price is reasonable.

We were three people in the room and they added a fold-out bed. It was a bit difficult to move around, but otherwise comfortable. The beds have a good selection of pillows. The bathroom is very large.

The mini-bar was well stocked with chocolate's and chips as well as drinks. The hotel has sauna/spa area, but we did not have time to try it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GJM202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    353
    100
    27
    22
See reviews for
55
275
48
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Melia for 3 nights and had an excellent visit. We arrived early Saturday a.m. from a very long flight from Los Angeles and were very warmly greeted by two wonderful staff at check in. Our room wasn't quite ready (actual check in was mid afternoon), so they readily stowed our luggage and we went exploring. We ended up with an wonderful room on the 10th floor with a great view of the river and tower. The room was quite small however, very functional and well appointed (all hotel rooms in Europe seem to be very small so we were not disappointed or surprised). Our room came with breakfast and it was the best. So many food options and you could never go hungry. We had dinner at the hotel and it has a limited dinner and lunch menu (therefore only 4 out of 5 stars for our rating) so we only dined there once. The hotel is located very near light rail and a subway station and is a very easy walk to the river and old town. We definitely recommend the Melia and would stay there in a heartbeat when returning to Dusseldorf. All staff there were excellent. ..especially Vanessa.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pare10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location. Walking distance to Old Town and the KO area, and the walk is through a beautiful park. Close to a great beer hall, too, Fuchschen Alt. You can choose your type of pillow!! Staff very helpful. This hotel lacks nothing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for two nights at the Melia and had a great time.
The room was very nice and clean and the bed was so comfortable.
The location is great, within walking distance of the main town and during our stay Germany were playing in a World Cup game so that created a great atmosphere in the bars.
I would have to agree with previous reviews that €28 for a breakfast is expensive. The hotel bar is good for a quick drink. Reception were friendly and efficient. We will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

As I work for pharmaceutical company, based in North Rhein, I often visit Duesseldorf and Cologne.
This is one of the best hotels I was in Duesseldorf.
It is quite new, and the location is extremely good. It is situated close to Old Town and Rhein, and right next to hotel there is a very nice park (with a rabbits in it), that you can use for morning exercise. Especially, if you lead a group, it is very easy to reach town center very quickly. Everything is close: Königsallee, where you will find many shopping centers, Alt Stadt, where you can find any fun you want, or just to walk by Rhine side, as long as you can.
Food is very good, there is Swedish table for breakfast and dinner, with lot of variety food, exceptional quality.
All in all one of the best staying in Duesseldorf.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Predrag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed two nights here in July and managed to get a good rate.The hotel is very clean and modern and located just opposite the Hofgarten which is only about a 10 minute brisk walk to the Altstadt along the Rhine. I can't comment on the food or bar as we did not eat here. My only minor negative is that I felt that the hotel was more geared up for the business traveller and as a result was slightly impersonal. The charges for WiFi at €15 and parking for €25 seemed a bit steep. The staff was very polite and helpful, if I was able to get a good deal on the room rate I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingademon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Excellent location just a few blocks from North Old Town and the promenade. Across the street from the city park which is in bad shape due to a storm. Comfortable room, very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 237 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Duesseldorf

Property: Melia Duesseldorf
Address: Inselstr. 2, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#20 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#21 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Duesseldorf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing