We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A&O Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A&O Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Hostel is well located but we got lost, a little German lady, who doesn't speak english, helped us. Such a nice lady. Any how, the host is a good option of host in Dusseldorf whit a good cost-benefit. The staff is kind and the place is clean. The breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPerdiga0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    136
    80
    23
    19
See reviews for
38
53
65
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I got a bit lost trying to find the hotel from central station. Not easy to find and ended up taking a taxi there. I arrived in my room and the bed was not made. They didn't even give the linen. However, the staffs in the receptionist were always nice and helpful. Got the city map and the tram map. Got free wifi in the room. However, sleep at night is a bit disturbed from the noise from the street. Overall, good accommodation for such reasonable price in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loraharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras, Greece
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed there for 7 nights, along with my brother. What we had to face was:

1) A piece of glass on the floor. Fortunately we did not get injured.
2) An oily stamp above 1 of the beds, probably from oily hair. (Photo attached)
3) A bed that never got repaired, forcing me to literally sleep on the floor for 7! nights. Some planks fell, never put back in the correct place (check the attached photo), thus they did not provide any support to the mattress.
4) A price increment to 230 Euros per night, due to the Interpack exhibition.
5) Not a single way to contact the reception from the room.
6) Dirt & dust. Everywhere. I uploaded another photo of a room's corner, showing "balls of dirt". We found the same kind of dirt underneath the faulty bed, a small table, etc.
7) Horrible cleaning services. As a test, during the 2nd night, we threw a couple of small plasters on the floor. They were still there when we left, along with the rest of the trash.
8) Horrible reception services. 20 mins of waiting time was the minimum, even for a bottle of cola, or in order to order one of the "famous" "plastic" pizzas they were heating and serving you.
9) Screaming teenagers running around the hotel all day and night.
10) Staff that seemed to be bored of even answering a simple question.

The only good part of staying to this hotel, as soon as you are fully vaccinated and you don't care about dirt, is that it is close to the train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I paid more here than for my hostel in Frankfurt and yet what a difference. The staff here are not so friendly and the rooms are quite shabby and lacking in cleanliness. I was surprised to find out i had to pay an extra 3 euros to have sheets for my bed also. It may say on the website i'm not sure but i was still shocked.

Location is okay, 15 min walk from central station. Not a good atmosphere either, no body socialises here so dont expect to meet people if you are a solo traveller.

Disappointed really.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

These days, a&o hotel offers the free wifi. Business travelers like me welcome this.
Always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 서균 김
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

If you visit the A&O remember it is a 2 star hostel in a city centre. It simply is a decent place to rest your head.

Four of us stayed in a family room and I was impressed that there was a TV, shower gel and individual lights for each bunk. Communal areas were clean and a 24hr bar means you're never short of an altbier.

Cheap and cheerful. Don't go if you're looking for boutique stylings, go if you're looking for a cheap bed to sleep off a hangover in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank feldy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a good stay, rooms are nice and clean, bathroom as well. Good location, 10 minutes to the city centre and same to the railwaystation. Tramstop in front of the ho(s)tel.
Breakfast is basic but good for the price you pay. The guy that checked us in was helpfull.
But don't think you gonna have a good night sleep because we woke up about 3 times in the night. First time at 3 am, another time at 4 and around 5 anoyher time. Drunk guests are coming home and they are really loud. We had a room at the side of the street so a lot of noice because this drunk people are drinking on the street in front of the hostel. First time abouy 30 minutes.
There is 24 hour reception but for some reason they don't ask people to keep quit.
I spoke to the reception manager in the morning and she didn't even put the effort to listen to my complaint. Can't help it was the answer.

Room Tip: If you want to have a good night sleep, don't choose a hoste in the city centre of a big ciity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adavidanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#20 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#40 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Ibis Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
#28 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
Address: Corneliusstr. 9, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A&O Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and Ebookers so you can book your A&O Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing