We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, and Great Little Hotel!”
Review of Famosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Famosa Hotel
Ranked #87 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Value, and Great Little Hotel!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a great little hotel, lodged somewhere between boutique and typically old style German. It's not quite at the high end of boutique hotels, but due to the layout of the building, I don't think it ever could be. On the plus side, the hotel is a 5 minute stroll from the main train station, has free hi speed wifi in every room (good to see the owners are ahead of many of their counter parts in this area!), is immaculately clean, has comfortable beds, and is very well decorated. I also received a very warm welcome from the gentleman on reception, who was very eager to help with my cases.

Whilst I have to say there are some minor room for improvements, overall, I'd have no problem recommending this place. The location itself isn't very plush, but with only a five minute walk to the train station, a €6 cab ride to the Altstadt, or €12 to the messe it is fine.

With regards to the noisey rooms some reviewers mentioned, I specifically requested a room at the rear of the hotel which I got. It was beautifully quiet!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    64
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
26
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Stayed here for one night on a multi centre trip through Germany and Holland. Got a little lost finding the hotel, but that was down to a faulty sat nav. Despite arriving at 1:30am the hotel staff were fantastic in showing us the car park and getting us checked in quickly.

Room was of a fantastic quality, really clean and modern. The free WiFi was great and worked a treat on my phone. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and lovely an spacious too.

Breakfast room was quiet and the staff put together a table so the 5 of us could sit together. Was a bit lacking in choice, but still a nice breakfast.

Would stay here again if in the Dusseldorf area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Large and light rooms, peaceful staff and a cozy breakfast room on the ground floor

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed for only 1 night on a stop-over in Dusseldorf based on the reviews here. Everything positive stated in previous reviews are spot on; the service was very good and the hotel and rooms were spotless. It looks like the hotel was recently decorated too. They provide free water in the room fridge but if you want a hot drink they will bring up a kettle etc. There is a supermarket a few doors down and plenty of restaurants nearby. We had room 15 which seems to be the only one with a door out onto a roof space. We took the advice of previous reviewers and asked for a room at the back and it was quite peaceful. There is free wi-fi also.
Its about 10 mins walk from the station but we got a taxi for 5.5 euro. However we walked into the city centre which took about 15 mins to the Ko and another 15 mins to the Rhine and Old Town but we are slow walkers. The Old Town was really interesting and we found a lovely fish restaurant (I think it was called the fish house only in german of course) and they have an english menu if you ask. However our waiter spoke fluent english and was very helpful- they will serve more or less whatever you want and I had something not on the menu. You can look at all their fish inside also.
Just a quick tip about transport: there are 2 types of trains RE/RB and ICE. The ICE is an intercity train which costs a lot of money. Most places are served by the RE or RB network which is much cheaper but make sure you get the right ticket for right train, and then get on the right type of train. The automated ticket machines are easy to use with an english menu but be careful because some tickets are for zones and for 2 hours use only- these need to be validated in a special punch machine but cover you for all bus and train journeys and are good value. If you speak a bit of German you will be OK but we dont speak a word and were lucky to have family to advise us. The trains are very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The Famosa Hotel is located on a busy boulevard (Kolner Strasse) among ethnic restaurants, mom-and-pop grocery stores and hairdressers not far from the main train station. My room was clean with a spotless bathroom. My room faced the street and consequently I found if very difficult to sleep late into the night due to the noise from cars whizzing by at high speed below. I highly recommend asking for a room facing the back of the hotel when making a booking here.

The proprietor was friendly and welcoming enough and the highlight of my stay here was the well-prepared variety of breakfast in the dining room situated in the back of the hotel. I would only recommend this place as a default if you cannot find any other accommodations in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This hotel may not look much from outside but the staff are all very friendly. Shame my room was at the front of the hotel because it faced a very busy street and was very noisy. Free wi-fi was a bonus. Booked the hotel as most of my usual Dusseldorf hotels were full because of a conference in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My sister and I stayed in this hotel for one night in december. We went to Dusseldorf for a concert in Phollipshalle so we decided to stay in a hotel.

The positive
The positive was that the hotel is situated 10 minutes walking from the central railway station, near the public transport system (trams and busses,( just 15 minutes from Philipshalle by tram+metro).
The rooms were very reasonably priced. Everything was very clean. We stayed together in one room and paid 60 euros for one night together with breakfast. The breakfast was good, with variety of fruits, yoghurts, sausages.
Next door to the hotel there is a good (i think thais) restaurant.

Negative
For some people the negative point could be the lift - there is no lift on the ground floor, so you should go a long way upstairs to the first floor to go to the lift. There is not much space in the room, just anough for two single beds and a wardrobe. Also the beds were too soft to our liking, so we woke up with a little pain in the back.

Famosa is a small, and cozy hotel, with a friendly personel. But we had also some troubles there, For examle i couldn't take a shower in the morning because there was a problem with electricity. The lights suddenly went down and there was only cold water... this was very unpleasant...
Funny thing happend during the breakfast: we got a cold coffee served, so we asked personell to change it, but instead the lady insisted it was hot AND even MADE ME to tase the coffee from a teaspoon...i found it very bizar, but at the and she made a hot coffe for us, though without saying a sorry... When we checked out we saw the same lady at the reception :)))) I think she just had a bad day and we just got unlucky with electricity that day.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazltov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#58 of 237 in Dusseldorf
199 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
CVJM Hotel
CVJM Hotel
#70 of 237 in Dusseldorf
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Rubin
Hotel Rubin
#101 of 237 in Dusseldorf
42 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#65 of 237 in Dusseldorf
77 reviews
Residenz Duesseldorf Hotel
#132 of 237 in Dusseldorf
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Famosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Famosa Hotel

Property: Famosa Hotel
Address: Kolnerstr. 30, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Famosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Famosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing