We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!! UNBELIEVABLE.....LOVE THIS HOTEL!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf
Ranked #7 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW!! UNBELIEVABLE.....LOVE THIS HOTEL!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

If you are EVER traveling to Dusseldorf for business or pleasure...I recommend you stay here!! The hotel first of all is beautiful.....the rooms are unbelievable....contemporary, stylish and so large!! My husband and i had an amazing time, in fact we want to go back and spend the weekend there. The other thing there that is IMPECCABLE is the SERVICE!!! As soon as we walked in they took our name and within 5 minutes had our key ready.....very nice, pleasant and so very friendly....and they ALL spoke English. When we had to reach some places that the directions were not clear, they printed maps for us and showed us how to get there!! KUDOS TO THIS HOTEL!!! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!! THANKS VAN DER VALK, DUSSELDORF!!

Room Tip: Book online @ hotels.de for great prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WynelleCowdery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    240
    40
    21
    3
See reviews for
96
201
25
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 6-7 times now and I keep going back. The hotel is only 10min to the airport by car and 2min from the motorway exit so if like me you're looking to get in late and away early it's the perfect location.

The rooms and general decor are very modern and clean. I love the power shower in the bathroom. On my most recent stay I discovered the free sauna/steam-room on the top floor which is great for relaxing.

On the negative side the restaurant service is a little random. Most of the time it's prompt and attentive but when crowded it can be frustrating slow. The breakfast buffet is better than most hotels I've stayed at in Germany but I don't like the machine-expresso coffee. If you're looking to get into Dusseldorf it's a bit of a hike (20min by car).

Room Tip: Gym upstairs has a great countryside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Was here for a client meeting. The outside of the hotel is unspectacular but inside it is modern and very stylishly designed. The service is attentive, efficient and polite. Any request made during the meetings was answered immediately. The rooms were spacious, bright and spotlessly cleaned.

The hotel is very convenient to the airport but it is at least 10-15 minutes from the main areas of the city. The soccer stadium is close by.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stratplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great place to stay, spacious room and bathroom with bath tub and shower.... Main room has wall to wall glass on two sides.... Limited bus service to the city centre, have to hire a taxi to reach the train station / airport or the city centre, my package did not include breakfast hence had to pay 16 euros for a breakfast...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selvakumar1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Van der Valk Airporthotel Dusseldorf in April 2012 when we went for a short weekend shopping vacation in Dusseldorf.

The location was about 10-15mins by car from the city center and the area surrounding the hotel was quiet and unassuming. There wasn't much traffic to and from the city center and that is a great plus point. Parking within the hotel is free and there is ample parking space in a covered garage in the back.

The interior of the hotel is modern and sleek and everything looked amazingly maintained. I particularly liked the cozy feel of the lobby and the lift lobby each level of the hotel had a little 'Dutch' touch to it that made it special.

We had a problem upon checking into the room as the pipe under the sink was broken and the toilet has not been cleaned. We called the reception a few times and finally got a room change after they sent the plumber and he confirmed that the pipe was not repairable immediately.

The room and en-suite bath was spacious, clean and well maintained. Loved the jacuzzi function in the bathtub! And the spa and relaxation area in the hotel was excellent with spacious and clean steam, sauna and solarium rooms. There were even small foot bath areas that reminded me of spas in Asia. The spa itself is reason enough for a revisit to this hotel!

Some of the hotel staff were all friendly, helpful and professionally courteous. One staff even apologized to us when we had to sidestep a pool of orange juice on the lobby floor! There was good breakfast spread too.

The only thing that was a little negative was that the staff on duty for the breakfast buffet were not as friendly or courteous as the reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

If I have to summarize my stay at Van der Valk hotel, I would name it "spoiled".

Great designer hotel with spacious extremely well maintained rooms, a more than decent fitness area for a hotel, very friendly and helpful personnel.

If anything to improve, maybe the dinner carte diversity, but very little place for improvement on breakfast.

During morning rush hour the only two elevators may be a little hassle, specially if you stay at lower floors,

For those planning to use the place as starting point for Duesseldorf city tours, access might be limited only to taxi or car.

All in one, a place I would anytime return with pleasure

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My family of four (two kids, ages 5 and 3) stayed at the Van der Valk Airporthotel Dusseldorf in July 2012, and we had a lovely visit! The hotel is fairly unassuming from the exterior, but once inside, you are greeted with a modern, sleek, yet warm environment - complete with gas fireplaces in the lobby. The staff were friendly and welcoming upon arrival, and continued to be so throughout our stay.

We opted to spend a little extra for the junior suite in order to accommodate our family, and it was money well spent. The suite was enormous - by far the largest hotel room I've ever had in Europe. The master bed was comfortable, and all the furniture was modern and sleek. Our children slept on the pull-out sofa, and while I didn't find it comfortable and wouldn't recommend it for adults, our kids had no problem with it. The bathroom was modern, with a separate glass-walled shower and bath, and included bathrobes, slippers, and toiletries. A previous reviewer commented that the bathroom was too dark - I didn't find that to be the case at all, but did notice that it took a minute or two for the lights to reach full brightness (as is the case with many lights in Germany - including in my home!). The views from the floor-to-ceiling windows are beautiful, and the suite comes with a complementary mini-bar box. The staff were gracious enough to put the mini-bar box items in the refrigerator prior to our stay, so we had cold drinks waiting for us on arrival - so thoughtful!

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the hotel, which I highly recommend. Normally, my family ventures out for breakfast, but for simplicity's sake we stayed in, and I am so glad we did. The food was delicious, with a wide variety of meats, breads, cheeses, yogurts, and cereals, as well as an omelet station and a deluxe coffee machine. The smoked salmon was a favorite of mine - well worth the 16.50 euro! Children under 4 are free, and older children are half-price, but the front desk attendant did not charge us for our 5 year old, which I appreciated! We opted to have dinner in the Altstadt, so I can't comment on the bar or the dinner service at the restaurant. However, all of the facilities were modern and clean, and I would expect the cuisine to be more than adequate.

The location of the hotel is ideal for travelers, and I believe they have a park-and-fly rate for those who are flying out of Dusseldorf airport and need long-term parking. The Altstadt and other tourist areas are about a 15-minute drive, so this hotel is good choice for tourists with a car.

The Van der Valk Airporthotel in Dusseldorf is a true luxury hotel, at an affordable price. I am already planning a visit back to the area so I can stay there again!

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite - it's worth the (little) additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
#16 of 238 in Dusseldorf
1,280 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lindner Hotel Airport
#35 of 238 in Dusseldorf
654 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 238 in Dusseldorf
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf

Property: Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf
Address: Am Huelserhof 57, 40472 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing